CollectionDX Network

Regult Tactical Battlepod

Comments

23 comments posted
I ended up with 2 instead of

I ended up with 2 instead of 3, but they're in my BBTS Pile O' Loot for now... glad to see they turned out well tho, and I'm realllly looking forward to mine.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 2 March, 2010 - 09:46
Color me cranky

Got mine today. Even though it's pictured on all of the literature with bending knees, and even the back of the box itself, the knees don't bend.

Really Toynami?

Really?

SushiSpook's picture
Posted by SushiSpook on 2 March, 2010 - 18:36
I know some people might

I know some people might have a problem with that but after owning the Arii with bendable knees and what I have read about the Revoltech Regult, they tends to fall over at the knee joint. It will never have that problem over the years of the joints getting loose and making the figure fall. I think that was a good choice.

They were very strict about keeping a $25.00 price point with this figure and in opinion keeps with the spirit of soft vinyl toys of limited or simple articulation.

The Regult pictured in the promo material was the prototype.

Cheers!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 2 March, 2010 - 18:38
Yeah, non-bending knees was

Yeah, non-bending knees was clearly the right call... this is a Macross toy that will never break. Sadly, that's worth alot.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 2 March, 2010 - 19:11
Eh, I have to politely

Eh, I have to politely disagree with you on your wording: "clearly the right call". I wanted more articulation, and I didn't get it. It's a matter of preference over one or the other. :)

SushiSpook's picture
Posted by SushiSpook on 2 March, 2010 - 20:15
Non-bending knees is a good

Non-bending knees is a good thing, for reasons mentioned. Leaving a picture of one with bending knees on the box itself? Bad marketing, and misleading. But I'd rather have a still-standing regult than a fallen-over one any day.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 2 March, 2010 - 19:58
Agreed that it's the

Agreed that it's the prototype - but leaving the picture on the box showing articulated knees is alot like those Ally Bank commercials with the "Even kids know it's dishonest" bit.

I can understand coloring, and slight size/proportion discrepancy, but bending knees is a pretty significant omission between prototype and production, and I can't help but cast a dirty look in Toynami's direction for this.

SushiSpook's picture
Posted by SushiSpook on 2 March, 2010 - 20:14
Email me offline

Where you planning to display it in the crouching position? Most people I've seen display their Regult in standing position, its not like you would be able to display it with one leg in the air as the figure would fall over. To me I would prefer the moveable toe so when its in flight mode you can bend the toe back. But then you start adding all thing that everybody wants ( More panel lines, more joints, weatherd, detailed cockpit, "my valkyrie can't fit in it", etc.) this would end up being an $80.00 item that people would complain is too much for such a small item. Some things are going to suffer but in this case in my opinion it was an improvement.

One thing I wasn't looking forward to when I bought it was those leg joints. Just looking at them in the picture. It looked like those joints were going to be flimsy and split or break or be made of cheap material to keep the cost of the item down. So i was thrilled when the Regult came in the mail and they were not there. I thought it was a huge improvement and glad they went that direction.

I think you make a valid and excellent point about joints because it wasn't as advertised. We seem to differ on that point but I understand where you are coming from and its a point well taken.

Email me offline if you are really disappointed with it as I would be more than happy to buy it from you.

Cheers!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 2 March, 2010 - 23:42
Usually

Usually I would agree with you SushiSpook that a company should deliver on the features it boasts in the press and the packaging. And I am usually the 1st to get on Toynami about it's usual problems (QC, Paint apps, "limited edition" sizes, etc.)

But having owned a nice buildup of the Arii kit, which *has* the articulation you're talking about, it is actually *better* it doesn't have it. I had to glue my knee joints in after a few years on the shelf, it looked like it was bowing to my Valkyries. It sucked because I paid someone a nice chunk of change to build it for me. And I would shutter to think how deformed this toy would look after Toynami's QC got to it...

Also, it's a soft vinyl... I don't necessarily need a super-articulated vinyl of this robot, I just want it to look cool on the shelf and hold a pose.

I wonder if this will be a legitimate "limited edition" of 2000 or like the MP Valks and statues where they make many more available at a discount a year later. Just sounds like courting the art vinyl crowd if you ask me.

Disappointed now that I didn't pre-order this, I actually skipped it *because* of those joints and my previous experience with the Arii kit.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 4 March, 2010 - 10:06
This toy has nothing to do

This toy has nothing to do with 'art vinyl'. Vinyl is simply a cheap material to make a toy from. This figure has much more in common with the Ultra Astra in Josh's Haiku review.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 4 March, 2010 - 10:26
if

if you re-read the sentence, it says:

"Just sounds like courting the art vinyl crowd if you ask me."

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 4 March, 2010 - 13:11
I know what you said, which

I know what you said, which is why I posted, because I don't think it's correct. It's not a blast at you, but the concept of toys being made of vinyl seems to have tainted the material (not medium, but the physical plastic) for so many people. 'Art vinyl people' have no more to do with this toy than the term 'art vinyl'... Like I said above, it's made of vinyl out of manufacturing necessity, and has nothing to do with 'designer vinyl'. We're actually having a discussion about this on ToyBoxDX right now... I think it'd be interesting if you came over there and offered your opinion for some more in depth discussion. :)

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 4 March, 2010 - 13:59
Hey

Hey thanks for refering me to that TBDX thread. I missed that one! Thanks so much.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 5 March, 2010 - 13:59
Saw pic's of this a wile

Saw pic's of this a wile ago, looks interesting and good to see they did a good job on it.

soundwaveca's picture
Posted by soundwaveca on 3 March, 2010 - 19:45
Hoping one comes my way

As soon as I saw this baby show up on BBTS's website, I knew I had to have it. I always wanted a decent toy of this design when I was a kid and this LOOKS like it's the closest thing to one that I've ever seen. So, now it's on my birthday list, and I'm hoping one will headed my way for my big 4-0 here. :)

fujikuro's picture
Posted by fujikuro on 4 March, 2010 - 14:49
Just got mine.

I got my Regult tonight and this thing is fabulous. Really happy with it. Hey whiners, stop whining. This is totally cool.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 9 March, 2010 - 06:45
Picked this up the other day

Picked this up the other day locally, for the price it's a pretty awesome piece, nice to have a in scale battlepod. Would highly recommend him if your looking for a more Destroids to fill out your Macross shelve.

soundwaveca's picture
Posted by soundwaveca on 25 March, 2010 - 10:55
TOYNAMI - ZENTRAEDI REGULT TACTICAL BATTLEPOD

At first I was reluctant to buy this, but after I read your review I got so excited that I wanted at least 10 to display them together to re-enact a memorable scene from MACROSS. I will also order the HEAVY ARTILLERY version and give my feedback when they arrive. Thanks for sharing.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 27 July, 2010 - 15:31
Not be picky here but...

Not mean to be picky here but... is it just me or is there something important missing with the Regult.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 27 July, 2010 - 16:20
No Complaints?

I'm glad that everyone who bought this are happy with the latest Regult Battlepod despite the fact that it has no functional cockpit & no Zentraedi Pilot to get it & hop it as well as fly it.

Those are 2 of the most important things this mecha's missing. That's disappointing for me but I'm a guy so can live with it. I'm glad you're pleased with it Modcineaste.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 10 August, 2010 - 00:52
Regult $25.00 Price point

The $25.00 Price point was very important to Toynami when they made these. Yes we can add all those features we all wanted but then it would be a $100 toy that people would be complaining that costs to much especially in this economy.

I applaud Toynami for making a reasonably priced figure that was needed that didn't kill ones pocketbook.

Thanks!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 13 August, 2010 - 12:20
TOYNAMI - ZENTRAEDI REGULT TACTICAL BATTLEPOD

I received my Regults (standard and heavy artillery versions)from the U.S.A. yesterday and I'm very happy with them. They are quite big and very impressive! Can't wait for the light artillery version and the Glaug!

As for the Zentraedi pilot/s, I happen to have two IMAI 1/100 ARMOURED SPACE SUIT plastic model kits still unassembled and now I have a more valid reason to start assembling and painting them. Yuppee!

And yes it was a very wise decision to omit the knee joint!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 12 August, 2010 - 16:54
Regult

Great purchase and glad you liked them! I still need the Heavy Artillery Version, I'll pick it up next month.

I have that Imai 1/100 Armored Space Suit kit as well, I actually bought it in the 1980's when I was a kid and have all the parts for it except for the gun. I just stripped off the paint a few months ago and I plan to do a build up and review it for CDX later in the year.

If I could get a scan of the box and the colored portion of the instruction ( parts layout and painting) I would appreciate it as I don't have them anymore and I can use them in the review. Email them to uplandmod@hotmail.com if you are able to.

Thanks!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 13 August, 2010 - 12:13
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net