CollectionDX Network

Mega Size RX-78-2 Gundam (Gunpla 30th Anniversary)

Comments

15 comments posted
That... is a LOT of Gundam

I reiterate: A LOT of Gundam. And it is magnificent. The part of me that admits what I am (A large American male with equally large hands) is utterly enthralled with the notion of a high-detail representation of Grand-Daddy Gundam that my clumsy paws aren't likely damage.

On the other hand... where would I put it? I suppose Masterpeice Prime could use the help against Armada Unicron...

Hmm.

Anyway, I don't think I need this puppy (I just got the One Year War Master grade of the RX-78-2) but time, and clearance sales, wouldn't have to work all that hard to change my mind!

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 26 March, 2010 - 12:35
No Room!

RX-78's never get old. I just have no room for this one, but I made room for its smaller cousins in 1/100 scale.

-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 26 March, 2010 - 13:05
Mega Size RX-78-2 Gundam (Gunpla 30th Anniversary)

I bought mine from HLJ too.

I bought this GUNDAM for a variety of reasons. First, it is an RX-78-2. Secondly, it is in 1/48 scale. Third, it uses the latest plastic model kit technology. Fourth, it is very big and very highly detailed. Fifth, it is very reasonably priced. Sixth it is a commemorative model and last but definitely not least it is a model of the 1/1 GUNDAM which was erected and displayed in Odaiba last year. So if I cannot have the 1/1 version, at least I can have this one. Thank you for sharing this review, Shogundan!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 26 March, 2010 - 14:12
In Glorious 1/48 scale!!!

I will be buying this Gundam, a nice beautifully executed large scale model kit for under $100.00 how could you not pass this up!?

Awesome!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 26 March, 2010 - 15:03
I am not a big gundam fan by

I am not a big gundam fan by any means, but I love the rx-78-2. After this review, I got the overwhelming urge to pick one up. Its been a while since I built a gundam. This should be the perfect piece to start again. I may even invest in an airbrush and make it my own personal masterpiece. Great photography Dan! LOVE the ground up shots.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 26 March, 2010 - 15:51
Great review!

Thanks for covering this model in depth. I saw only a tiny mention of it in the latest Model Graphix so I was delighted to read your review. Good job!

"Let [s]he who is without error ignite the first flame."

sleet01's picture
Posted by sleet01 on 26 March, 2010 - 16:32
How are the decals? Are they

How are the decals? Are they real decales, or those dry-transfer things, or heaven forbid stickers?? Biggest gripe I have with Bandai model kits is you never really know which you will get. :P

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 26 March, 2010 - 18:22
The decals are the water

The decals are the water slide type. I am old school and prefer the old stuff like water slide decals

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 26 March, 2010 - 19:13
Ah, thanks for clearing that

Ah, thanks for clearing that up. I prefer the water-slide type too. Just have come across some reviews on other modeling sites where this information isn't clearly.

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 27 March, 2010 - 20:33
Considering that the larger

Considering that the larger 1/24 Gundam is a whole lot pricier, I think this is a nice compromise for something a bit larger than the 1/100 and 1/60 versions. I think the simple construction keeps this feeling more like a toy than a complicated pricey model, which is an awesome draw-point for it.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 26 March, 2010 - 22:50
not really a fan of gundam

not really a fan of gundam and model kits.. i only own 1 gundam and its not even a model kit (gff metal composite) and 1 model kit which is the bronto zoids.. but with this toy's price and size, i think this one is a keeper.. nice review guys.

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 27 March, 2010 - 16:24
If I were ever to get an

If I were ever to get an RX-78 model (probably 1/144), I'd paint mine as the RX-78-3 "G3" version, which was muted gray and blue.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 March, 2010 - 18:42
Just when I thought I was out...

I had sworn that I was done with building Gundam models after my last PG kit, but I love the size of this thing and I'm a fan of the RX-78-2. It's nice that they're able to get nice detail on this one without so many dadgum pieces. Thanks a lot for the nice review; I'd been wondering if this one is worth the time. Looks like it could be a winner. I'd love to see one all painted and decaled up.

magicsp00n's picture
Posted by magicsp00n on 27 March, 2010 - 19:30
wow

another wow reason to grab one... appreciate the add'nal pix...

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 29 March, 2010 - 23:03
Dan, looks GREAT with the

Dan, looks GREAT with the paneling and the paint scuffs and rust etc. Would love to know how you did the blast effect on the shield. Guessing its a dry brush from the center out? Looks great, I'm ordering mine this weekend.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 29 March, 2010 - 23:12
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net