CollectionDX Network

Mazinkaiser (2010 Re-issue)

Comments

24 comments posted
The Max Factory Mazinkaiser

The Max Factory Mazinkaiser fires the fists?! I don't remember mine being able to do so. But then again, I have the first version that Max factory put out years ago. How is the firing mechanism? Can you post some pics of it? Thanks!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 15 March, 2010 - 20:15
Yup, it fires the fists,

Yup, it fires the fists, comes with extra arms with firing mechanism. Not too powerful, but it does it. I'll try to post a pic tomorrow. You can see the parts I am talking about on the display base.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 15 March, 2010 - 20:22
Oh man! That's cool!!! Now

Oh man! That's cool!!! Now I'm going to have to dig out mine from the huge pile of boxed mechas inside my closet to see if it came with the same firing mechanism. That should teach me to pay more attention to the accessories...

Thanks!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 15 March, 2010 - 20:38
So Max Gokin releases tend

So Max Gokin releases tend to be once a year with Dragonar being the latest?

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 15 March, 2010 - 20:30
It does seem that way if you

It does seem that way if you exclude the re-release of Mazinkaiser. Yes the latest is Dragonar. Josh will have a review up for that shortly.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 15 March, 2010 - 20:34
only issue

I got mine and issue I had was the horns, the plastic bag to hold the robot made them round in, and you can straighten them out, but they still look flimsy compared to the aoshima versions horns. Was your like that? I notice the tips looked a little crooked? Just irritated me, seemed like poor materials and packaging on that part. the face looked a little scrunched on yours and mine...i wonder if the original release the horns were plastic not rubbery? I saw this item on e bay for 400 dollars and was so excited to get the reissue version and price...but alas...wanting was better than getting...similar to the ALL PLASTIC Dragonar.
Thanks for the review, probably wish I had had it before i bought it, I like the asohima version better...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 15 March, 2010 - 20:43
To be 100% honest, I like

To be 100% honest, I like the Aoshima better too!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 15 March, 2010 - 21:48
?

do you have same issue with horns being flimsy rounded at tips? looks a little still round in pics, mine when I opened look like ( )

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 15 March, 2010 - 22:31
No not really, they both

No not really, they both seem pretty straight to me.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 15 March, 2010 - 23:20
Wow, I always thought

Wow, I always thought Mazinkaiser origins came from that old graphic novel made by Go Nagai in the late 1980s...Didn't realise it was such a new addition to the mazinger universe. Learn something new everyday ;)

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 15 March, 2010 - 20:44
Actually...

It seems some of mazinkaisers design elements came from some of the random mazinger manga from the 80's and 90's

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/4f/MazinSaga_1_(1999)(Dynamic_Italia).jpg :D

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 16 March, 2010 - 02:12
i LOVE the OP to the

i LOVE the OP to the Mazinkaser OVA.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 15 March, 2010 - 21:11
Pretty neat, but I'm not

Pretty neat, but I'm not sure if the price is for me. If it was about half of what it's going for, I would pick up. Good review though. :)b

Dre2Dee2's picture
Posted by Dre2Dee2 on 15 March, 2010 - 21:22
I might pass

I might pass on this one namely because even though it has parts to make it look like the OVA (two of the chest crests and a pair of kaiser blades) this design is based on Super Robot Wars F Final. The Kaiser Scrander the head and the Pilder along with a bunch of minor detail are all based on F Finals design I might be nit-picking but I perfer the OVA look. And I thought the fixed in place version of the chest crest was supposed to have the kaiser blade part removable? the one without the gold peice is the F final chest.

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 16 March, 2010 - 01:25
I am just a wee bit curious,

I am just a wee bit curious, please do not take any offense. I have to ask, did you read the review entirely? I only ask because alot of the points you are making and the question you are asking can be found in the review, in one place or another.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 16 March, 2010 - 01:42
sorry

err nevermind sorry

Anyway I was just complaining about the design since it seems to me that its kinda pointless to include OVA parts on the game version and yeah I scrolled down too fast and missed the first few lines so I missed the whole "this is the SRW version" bit sorry XD and my question was if the fixed crest had the hilt part of the kaiser blade is removable since the one without the part is the SRW crest

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 16 March, 2010 - 02:23
I've got both the Aoshima

I've got both the Aoshima and MF Mazinkaisers and love them both but for different reasons. I love the Aoshima one for it's sheer size and weight and the "simpler" design seems more in keeping as a natural evolution of the Mazingers than the MF one which is a huge design leap from Great Mazinger than Great Mazinger is to Mazinger Z. On the other hand the MF one seems a better size fit for the SOC's versions of Great Mazinger and Mazinger and I love the design details, also judged by itself it's a beautiful figure.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 16 March, 2010 - 15:51
So Shiny!

Great review, and comparison Dan. I've always been interested in MaxFactory's stuff, and your pics really, really bring out how lustorous, and glossy /chrome-y this thing is. The little details are top notch.

So far, the Aoshima 1st version was the first to fall into my lap through a friends trade pile, and I like it, but I'm certainly still thinking about getting this Max gokin. Thanks.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 16 March, 2010 - 19:45
Fantastic toy , I wish max

Fantastic toy , I wish max factory included an ova version Head , since overall the figure is not that different, and since they did include the chest piece in both version , the head would have been a perfect addition to the set

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 16 March, 2010 - 22:24
Compared to the Aoshima

Compared to the Aoshima Mazinkaiser, the Max Factory version looks like a female version of Mazinkaiser. Sort of like the SOC GX-09 Mineva X looks in relation to the SOC GX-01R. It's weird...

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 16 March, 2010 - 22:54
For some reason...

I'm hearing that MG Mazinkaiser is a female version everywhere lol

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 16 March, 2010 - 23:28
Great Review!

I've been eyeing this piece of Gokin for a while. Seeing all versions of M' together looks really
impressive and a great study of design evolution. I'm thinking this review pushed me into the "buy" frame of mind.
Thanks for the great review! keep'em coming.

Send Lawyers Guns and Money...

Astroman's picture
Posted by Astroman on 21 March, 2010 - 23:43
nice review

very cool review.. i prefer the Aoshima version better, but nevertheless they're almost the same in terms of details paint apps and all that... already bought one though, hehe... great review as always..

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 22 March, 2010 - 14:05
About the little cover on the waist

I have a question about the little silver cover on the waist. Has anyone found it falls off a bit too easily? Once mine came off once, it seemed to not want to stay on at all afterward. Anybody else notice this? I mean, honestly, it could be glued in place, since there is no missile to plug in there.

elliotbaltazar's picture
Posted by elliotbaltazar on 25 July, 2010 - 22:49
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net