CollectionDX Network

Mazinger Z

Comments

32 comments posted
BURN IT UUUUUUP

Got this guy on release with Great and the Accessories pack: Man this thing is awesome. If you stick it on an Act 5 stage it's even cooler.

One of the legs on mine is a little looser than I would have liked which is a bit of a downer, but it's ultimately no big deal.

This new line is going to be fantastic.

DTU's picture
Posted by DTU on 18 November, 2010 - 03:34
Maziiiiiiiiiiiiiiin GO !!

I'm extremly glad to see this new line make it's debut on Collection DX. I pre-ordered mine and was as giddy as a school girl when i got it. The last few Mazinger Releases from the Soul of Chogokin Line were based on the shin Mazinger series, whereas this beauty is based on the classic Mazinger Z, there are some very small diffrences that only hard core fans will notice like the reshaping of the breast plate and the red paint surrounding Shin Mazinger's eyes. The fact that its not all made of metal is a small disadvantage that can be over looked by the wide range of posses that be achieved, its also understandable considering the rocket punch effect parts require the arms to be very light in order to work just right. Looking forward to reading the review of the accessories pack. Keep up the good work CDX.

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 18 November, 2010 - 03:49
Aphrodite

If Bandai releases a SRC Aphrodite w/ Mazinger as boxset, they would look much sexier. : 3

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 18 November, 2010 - 04:02
Seems like a sharp figure.

Seems like a sharp figure. Lots of great poses, but since it's a "mini" I was most hoping to see a size comparison pic. (Doesn't have to be against the SOC, since Atom doesn't own one.)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 18 November, 2010 - 13:38
Just for you Japester - Scale!
Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 November, 2010 - 16:46
I don't know who this

I don't know who this "Japster" character is--or WHY he rates his own photo request--but I asked first. So that picture is mine and mine alone! Nobody else look!!!

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 19 November, 2010 - 22:13
Fixed

:P

Sorry bout that.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 November, 2010 - 22:34
Heh. No biggie. Happens all

Heh. No biggie. Happens all the time. ;-)

I always ignored it, until people started pitching hissies because they thought it was racist/insulting (nevermind the fact that it wasn't my actual handle).

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 19 November, 2010 - 23:11
Correction on diecast content...

- Front part of chest
- Hip joints
- Lower legs

Same applies to the SRC Great Mazinger...

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 18 November, 2010 - 19:06
Chest?

Chest feels plastic on mine. You sure?

Yeah I know about the joints just didn't mention them in the text. In the video I did. Oh wait I didn't post the video... never mind. :)

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 18 November, 2010 - 19:51
Yeap, pretty sure... just did

Yeap, pretty sure... just did a temperature check; the diecast parts are very cold (lower legs, hip joints, upper torso)while the plastic parts are not.

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 18 November, 2010 - 21:44
Oh Wow

Look at that your right. Didn't notice with the breast plates in the way. Which I just realized come off.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 18 November, 2010 - 22:06
Rocket Punch?

Didn't preview photos of this set feature a launching Rocket Punch attachment? Is that part of this set?

magicsp00n's picture
Posted by magicsp00n on 19 November, 2010 - 11:44
I do wonder....

If folks actually read the words I write in a review.... as I explained I would be reviewing the Weapon Set in a different review, which will be up in a few hours.....

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 November, 2010 - 14:51
Come on, now

You didn't say the rocket punch was part of the weapon set, only the scrander and other "nifty pieces". How am I to know the rocket punch is nifty? I mistakenly thought it was rad or maybe totally boss.

magicsp00n's picture
Posted by magicsp00n on 19 November, 2010 - 17:54
LOL

Ok. That genuinely made me laugh out loud. Touche' :)

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 November, 2010 - 18:46
Rocket Punch!
Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 November, 2010 - 16:45
More size comparison pics

Metaltech Grendizer, Bandai SOC Boss Borot, and Bandai SRC Mazinger Z:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Bandai SRC Mazinger Z, Great Mazinger, and Metaltech Grendizer:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Bandai SOC Boss Borot, Yamato Hero Collection Great Mazinger, and SRC Mazinger Z:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 20 November, 2010 - 02:07
What's with the white limbs?

What's with the white limbs?

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 20 November, 2010 - 09:42
Total anime accuracy...

I'm a sucker for anime accuracy, so the white limbs are a must for me.

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 20 November, 2010 - 12:47
white limbs and stand

did you paint them white? I'm all for accuracy too but that kind of white seems a lil much, in any case as long as you like'em that's all that matters. Btw, can someone tell me what that stand is called? i saw pics of it early when they were showcasing the new line and assumed i would get it with my Mazinger Z, Great Mazinger or at least the accessories pack, but alas i couldn't find it, guess it must be sold separately, id really appreciate it if someone can tell what its called and where i could buy it from. Thanks

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 20 November, 2010 - 22:14
Yes, painted them myself...

Yes, I painted the figures myself... and it was hell! I also got rid of the burnt gold color used for the eyes and horns. I truly like the white. To me it looks excellent, way better than the dull silver. It makes the figures look like they just left the assembly line. I have no love for weathering or anything else that makes the figures look old and dirty.

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 21 November, 2010 - 04:08
Paints?

What paints did you use for it? and how'd you keep the finish so smooth. I'm considering doing it for my Shin Mazinger so I can have a Mazinkaiser Mainger...

blitzkriegomega's picture
Posted by blitzkriegomega on 18 March, 2013 - 21:13
I'll get a Maz! Nice review

I'll get a Maz! Nice review Atom, with many excellent classic action poses you got out of that figure. Good job!
Kicking myself for not picking these 1st releases up at the good prices at the Tamashi Nations/BlueFin booth at NYCC. It was the 1st place I'd seen them in person, and they looked great. Just like you said, a new take on the ST sized line.

One forum member a while back made the good point that someone could probably do well if they reboxed these into an American/European release of "Shogun Warriors" like Mattel did back when.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 20 November, 2010 - 08:49
Nice review Atom, I'm really

Nice review Atom, I'm really excited for this line and I hope a Getter 1 makes its way into the line soon. The lower price point is really appealing and hopefully it means I'll be able to pick one up soon.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 20 November, 2010 - 11:07
I bought this, the weapons set and Great Maz,

I've only opened Great Maz and I was underwhelmed. It feels like a very nice action figure, not anything in the realm of an SOC. I am hoping for great things from the promised/hinted at playsets. If they are grand this line will be worth it. If they aren't I'll likely never open that Mazinger or buy any more in the line.

Robokeith's picture
Posted by Robokeith on 20 November, 2010 - 17:52
not anything in the realm of an SOC

Well, that depends on the SOC... quality-wise the first 3 SRCs released do cartwheels around some SOCs (GX-41 Reideen comes to mind). What playsets are you refering too???

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 22 November, 2010 - 19:19
Nice pictures.

Nice pictures.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 23 November, 2010 - 18:46
When this line was announced they hinted at playsets

Take a look at the promo images. Looks like a photon energy lab, hanger and other stuff. At least that was my interpretation. I bought the mazingers only with the hope of those play sets.

Robokeith's picture
Posted by Robokeith on 24 November, 2010 - 11:21
You're

You're not alone in that. I hope to see a bunch of playsets for this line, it was a major point when they started announcing all the other figures in the series this summer, they kept pushing the playset/diorama concept. I have a feeling we'll see it before next fall.

I am a huge sucker for playsets- I wish Bandai or the fans-project groups would make more...

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 24 November, 2010 - 11:49
BANDAI: Super Robot Chogokin - MAZINGER Z

I bought MAZINGER Z, GREAT MAZINGER, the MAZINGER WEAPON SET and RAIDEEN and now I'm looking forward for MAZINGER WEAPON SET 2!

THANK YOU BANDAI!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 29 December, 2010 - 16:50
Keeping the Hover Pilder in?

Hey guys,

Sorry to bring up an old review.

I was wondering if anyone else has had trouble keeping the Hover Pilder in the head of Maz? Mine does not seem to actually want to insert.

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 5 June, 2012 - 14:11
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net