CollectionDX Network

Grendizer

Comments

23 comments posted
The stands should have

The stands should have always been clear!

I know I was one of the guys defending this figure's look,but between then and now I've seen some of the other revoltechs coming down the pike,and I think I'll just wait for them,since they're characters I'm more invested in. This is a cool figure,though!

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 26 February, 2010 - 23:42
No No No.

That thing is not Grendizer.

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 27 February, 2010 - 00:30
Revoltechs

To be honest, I never really liked action figures because of the visible joints. Revoltech takes my dislike to an extreme but......they are posable.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 27 February, 2010 - 09:45
Oh men I was waiting for

Oh men I was waiting for reviews since the official pics looked to good, and not as good as it made me belive but still awsome
What I really miss here is the spacer2 , it would have been an awsome set, since we are getting revoltechs like lavatein that have tons of accesorioes, it wouldn't hurt that much.
I'm a huge fan of grendizer and always wanted a little robot to play , revoltech going the classic way is awsome, now give us some jeeg and I'll be happy

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 27 February, 2010 - 00:45
Jeeg

Kaiyodo had issued a Jeeg together with Takara in the past so it will not be a problem to issue a larger one in the Revoltech line.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 27 February, 2010 - 09:38
Who else thinks there'll be

Who else thinks there'll be an add-on Spazer later?

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 27 February, 2010 - 01:03
Cool beans.

I've been thinking about ordering this guy. Still a bit on the fence, but it's nice to see a CDX review of him.

InfiniteHollywood.com

Newton Gimmick's picture
Posted by Newton Gimmick on 27 February, 2010 - 04:52
KAIYODO - REVOLTECH No. 085 - UFO Robot Grendizer

I received my Revoltech Grendizer from HobbyLink Japan five days ago but went to retreive it today. I still haven't opened the box yet but I found your review today (what a coincidence) and read it first.

Being a die-hard Grendizer fan, I would say that I'm delighted that Kaiyodo is finally issuing Revoltech action figures of classic robots.

However I am somewhat disappointed as Grendizer could have been made way better than this.

I sincerely hope we get an improved Grendizer plus Spazer. Maybe Yamato will also take up this challenge and issue a Grendizer in their GN-U DOU range of action models.

Finally, I am still of the opinion that only High Dream is taking Grendizer seriously as is shown by its recent releases.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 27 February, 2010 - 09:35
Ugly

This thing is damn ugly...Not my grendizer...

GOLDRAKE Avantiiiiiiiiii !!!

maltagokhin's picture
Posted by maltagokhin on 27 February, 2010 - 11:00
I'm almost afraid to offer

I'm almost afraid to offer my opinion now for fear that people will think I'm just being anti-crotch thrust or just an old grump again, but man, that has got to be the worst non-bootleg Grendizer I have ever seen in my whole life. Never mind how it does or does not pose, it's just plain ugly, as maltagokin said. What is up with Japan and their tiny heads?

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 27 February, 2010 - 11:46
What's with the football

What's with the football shoulders and no neck? Hideous.

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 27 February, 2010 - 18:56
Shoulder joints almost on

Shoulder joints almost on the neck are FUGGLY! Biceps are too short. Head is tiny. Other than that it looks good...

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 27 February, 2010 - 13:53
I laughed hard at the

I laughed hard at the "neutral pose" photo. Actually, there's quite a bit about this figure that makes me laugh...

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 27 February, 2010 - 16:40
I understand why they are

I understand why they are the way they are, but the extra 'hump' caused by the shoulder RT joints is turning me off a surprising amount. Everything else looks great, and the figure looks fantastic in poses that take advantage of those shoulders, but they are actually pretty goofy looking. Maybe I need a Metaltech...

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 27 February, 2010 - 17:03
I'm jumping on the bandwagon...

I like Revoltech figures, but I don't think that this figure looks good.

It seems to me that one of the bigger problems is that they copped out in the design; they didn't make the proportions crazy enough. Compare this to, say, the Revoltech Giant Robo.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 27 February, 2010 - 20:02
Revoltech for the price of two...

Revoltech, for the price of two & a half you can buy a SOC without the a crappy paint job and with diecast parts. Lets do a poll to keep or dismiss Revoltech toys? Seriously, I want to like Revoltech but I feel it's such a ripe off... I own Revoltech DieBuster & Gaiking but am not very impressed for the price, eventually there will be or already is a SOC toy for these.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 27 February, 2010 - 20:30
"for the price of two & a

"for the price of two & a half you can buy a SOC"

That's a big leap of logic there... you really can't fairly compare a cheap toy to an expensive one, and that's the point here. Revoltechs are designed for a certain customer... SOCs are designed for a very different customer. One side hating on the other doesn't accomplish anything, and yet it happens in EVERY Revoltech thread.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 27 February, 2010 - 22:14
Well...

I look at it as "I could buy two SOC or five Revoltech", and with five Revoltech I can make a neat battle scene, whereas with two SOC I can just have them kind of stand there.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 1 March, 2010 - 15:27
He has a small head to

He has a small head to indicate he's a giant robot,it's forced perspective.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 27 February, 2010 - 23:09
In my honest opinion,

In my honest opinion, sometimes I think that Grendizer, along with Tetsujin, Astro Boy and Mazinger has been abused too much by toy producers over the years. Actually the abuse is on collectors like me who can't resist buying anything which 'looks like' their favorite robot. But this is hideous... He looks like he slept badly and woke up with morning glory and a bad neck ache... And his wife's blabbering before sleeping made his head shrink... This must take the Oscar for the ugliest toy so far in 2010. I still can't believe Revoltech's worst offering is Grendizer himself, maybe the most aristocratic of Nagai Robots.

I am one huge Grendizer fanatic, like most southern europeans, and will probably end up getting it anyway, just for completeness sake... But then again I'll think i wasted my money after getting it... I understand its a cheap toy, but cheap for cheap i'd go for the Marmit/High Dream Mini Metal one if I was strapped for cash. The paint job on the mini metal is nice and the proportions are well balanced at least. And if you buy a big magnifying glass and have a bit of fantasy (or grass) left, you can almost make yourself believe you have the Daigokin...In all honesty, apart from the vintage stuff by popy, the only modern grendizers I think are worth buying are the ultra expensive Daigokin, the moderate SOC's and yes, the cheap Minimetal...But not this ugly poser...

BTW... hate the boogie nights poses...

GOLDRAKE Avantiiiiiiiiii !!!

maltagokhin's picture
Posted by maltagokhin on 28 February, 2010 - 17:03
Good!

I am so happy to hear all of you hating on this. I will now wait for the lack of orders = serious price drop. Then I'll get mine! THANKS!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 1 March, 2010 - 16:16
I think he looks pretty

I think he looks pretty good.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 1 March, 2010 - 16:52
He's fine.

I'm in the minority, here, that I quite like this guy. I always liked beefier versions of giant robots. I'd get this one.

The Castellan's picture
Posted by The Castellan on 12 January, 2014 - 19:38
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net