CollectionDX Network

Gordian (Miyazawa Limited Ed.)

Comments

20 comments posted
When I first saw this

When I first saw this review, I initially thought it was a rip-off of Baikanfu.

I like the Normal ver. more.

Nice, in-depth review.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 March, 2010 - 21:17
Wow...

Wow...

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 27 March, 2010 - 10:42
I know

I know right!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 27 March, 2010 - 11:00
Not really my kind of robot,

Not really my kind of robot, but great review anyway^^

Tabris's picture
Posted by Tabris on 27 March, 2010 - 10:57
Yikes. This toy fills me

Yikes. This toy fills me with lust (I am not a proud man). I'm surprised at how little attention has been paid to this toy.

This is an exceptional review, chachi. The graphics and diagrams are next level. Good work.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 27 March, 2010 - 12:33
Godaikin re-release!

Chachi, fantastic review. Much essential info, made as concise as possible. I LOVED reading this.
I'm seriously getting swayed by this item.

This is as close as possible to an actual re-release of the old Godaikin/Popy DX set. Totally out of the park hit.
Here's why:
Compare your measurements to the vintage original. I was prompted to zing out the tape measure on the Godaikin, and the box is 18" x 13.5". The Garbin robot is 11 3/4" to top of head, or 12" to top of "ears/antennae". The styro tray is laid out very very close to original.
Awesome. Somebody's showing some love for the original.
I love the limited's extra attention to detail looking more like the original, in the face, body, and paint, but that standard "anime style" version is great too.

CMs could have easily gone the usual route and released this as a 6 1/2 - 8 1/2" tall figure, like a lot of their other great homage Gokins, but no, they went all out on this.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 27 March, 2010 - 13:52
Gardian/Baikanfu

Oh, and EVA, the Gordian, and Baikanfu, are from seperate shows, and the Gordian comes first.
Many consider Baikanfu as the obvious update/improvement.
Gordian has the chikka-bow-wow funk though, hands down.

Also, see Mason's old Godaikin Gardian review from 2005:
http://www.collectiondx.com/node/211

JoshB's SOC GX-39 for story comparison:
http://www.collectiondx.com/review/chogokin/baikanfu

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 27 March, 2010 - 14:13
That's crazy awesome.

That's crazy awesome.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 27 March, 2010 - 15:13
Sounds good, but he looks like a robot football player.

Sounds good, but he looks like a robot football player. I think I do prefer this version more. Every time I look at the face of the non-limited version I see this big goofy grin, like maybe he's drunk or something. I am glad that CM's did a good job on this guy though.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 27 March, 2010 - 15:17
i think its a great toy.

i think its a great toy. vintage old school feeling is definitely there. dont know much about Gordian but if i have the means, id surely get one. details and accessories are nicely done. nice review btw.

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 27 March, 2010 - 16:47
Thanks for the positive

Thanks for the positive comments guys, I tried my best at giving this guy a good a review as possible because he definitely is an overlooked robot. Whether it be for his looks, simpleness or obscurity. He was kind of an impulse buy for me at first but during the review and after, I really got to like this figure more and more. What strikes me is that for the first time in a long time I paid full price for a new release figure instead of waiting for price to fall and I don't regret it one bit.

The execution of this release was one that just captures you attention when pulling it out of the box, handling it and playing with it. I'm pretty jaded when it comes to new stuff, Ive seen a lot in my lifetime, so it was good to see something that just made me say wow. I cant quite put my finger on what that "something" is, but it got me good. I am not a Gordian fan whatsoever but I enjoyed this so much. I particularly loved that it had a retro feel to it. Its so toy like in many ways that you just have to love it.

If you arent a fan of the design or whatever, at least wait for a price drop and take a stab at one.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 27 March, 2010 - 18:20
Gordian (Miyazawa Limited Ed.)

This is the review I've been waiting for! I bought the Normal Version from HobbyLink Japan and I'm looking forward to buy the Limited Version too. The female pilot figure represents Saori Otaki, Daigo's sister who goes to her brother's rescue. She does this by piloting Protesser herself. As a result she suffers a lot of burns as Gordian was not intended for her but for her headstrong brother. By the way, Protesser IS a robot footballer. Excellent review chachi. Thanks for sharing.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 27 March, 2010 - 18:41
not a CM's fan But a big Fan of the review/reviewer

well,

not a big fan of CM's Brave Gokin stuff, usually either very little diecast, too complex (falls apart) or just too damn small. i have bought and sold (usually at a loss) everything by them. However, this item seems not to have those issues...
Anyway, great review, wonderful pictures, nice narrative format and the diecast graphics cool (only issue color in square did not seem to equal...can I assume it was the "glowy" parts that are diecast)
Anyhow Bravo,
anyone who makes me thing about buying a CM's product did a damn fine job...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 27 March, 2010 - 19:10
yes, its the glowy parts, I

yes, its the glowy parts, I kinda felt that was a bit confusing too so Ill dial it in a bit better next time.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 27 March, 2010 - 22:58
As a fan of diecast

As a fan of diecast toys, I really appreciate how you clearly address metal content in your reviews.

"Dinobots, destroy Devestator!"-Optimus Prime TFTM

Goldenage's picture
Posted by Goldenage on 27 March, 2010 - 21:32
Great review. This is one of

Great review. This is one of the few new toys that makes me regret not buying this stuff anymore.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 27 March, 2010 - 22:21
Miyazawa Limited Edition

I definitely prefer the limited edition sculpt. The retro style is perfect for this toy.

Here I am faced with a conundrum. While a price drop is almost a given for this toy, will there actually be any limited edition versions left for sale by the time that happens?

On a different note, who's this Miyazawa guy, anyways?

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 28 March, 2010 - 06:04
Japan>Russia>Japan

Just had to add a comment about the heritage, as many people rightly see the connection to Russian nesting dolls in this design.
But...the Russians got the inspiration back in the day from an early, simple Japanese toy, just called a "stacking doll", that was like 4 small cups, of increasing size, stacked on top of each other, with basic human face features. The Nesting dolls obviously took it to the next level of fully containing each piece.

So, the toy idea comes full circle Japanese.

...sorry, couldn't resist. There's a few history books on the toys at a shop near me, called, "The Nesting Doll Store". Not kidding.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 28 March, 2010 - 11:11
Great review! Really made me

Great review! Really made me want to also get this version... but right now, one is enough.

I did notice in the comments above that a lot of folks here keep refering to this version as the "Retro" version. However, this is not an accurate statement. This design of Gordian was an actual improvement to the "normal" version (first appearance) in the anime. Yes, this guy with the square mouth was in fact in the anime. The Gordian Popy/Bandai put out in the Godaikin line was taken from the last episodes, hence the huge similarity with this one.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 28 March, 2010 - 22:12
I only recently learned this

I only recently learned this existed ( after buying Baikanfu ). The next thing I found out was it costs $500 now :( A real pity because it is a great design. I like the way Baikanfu does it a bit better but I like the outer appearance of Gordian a little more. Great review.

odeean's picture
Posted by odeean on 20 November, 2012 - 09:12
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net