CollectionDX Network

God Reideen


15 comments posted
I've actually seen the anime, so...

God Reideen was summoned using the twelve Zodiac Stones, and our heroes were scrambling to get them before the villains, the Chouma (Super Devils), could use them to control God Reideen itself. Of course, God Reideen needs a maiden of pure heart (aka a virgin) to allow one to control it. In the end, the leader of the Chouma gets wasted, the maiden herself takes over and her warped mind influenced the behavior of God Reideen from that point on. It even turned black during the final episode!

Not once did any of the ten lesser Reideen (Yeah, there was another team of five bishounen) ever take control of God Reideen. Maybe that was a taboo?

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 7 January, 2011 - 08:36
bird boys

I have most of those bird boy toys. I'll review a couple soon. Short review: they pretty much suck.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 7 January, 2011 - 09:12
Minimal movement

Correct. In the anime God Reideenn diddn't move much at all. It pretty much stood in one place and fired away from there. Other than that, it did a little bit of flying in space, but that was the extent of its movements. Oh, and it was a "Bad Guy" until the end...


The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 7 January, 2011 - 20:57
rad design. and I for one

rad design. and good lord is that a '97 bandai GR? that thing is gorgeous
as I side note, I for one love '07 reideen.

jRex's picture
Posted by jRex on 8 January, 2011 - 01:32
I also love '07 REIDEEN >_>

Not only are your reviews great, but you obviously are a man of high taste. '07 REIDEEN isn't the greatest design, but if they came out with an SRC of it I'd buy it in a heartbeat (though I'd much rather have Saiga and Hoshikawa figma, but that's never gonna happen)

I do want this one, though; God Reideen is one of those mecha I thought I would never personally lay my hands on, but then SRC made all my dreams one true. I'll have to pick this one up.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 8 January, 2011 - 10:31
couldn't agree more about '07

couldn't agree more about '07 Reideen.
I love how the mecha was reinvented into that ancient golden machine all covered in runes and clockwork and crystals.
I'm ALL about that.
and the ultimate attack? that sword that was the size of the MOON? forget about it.
as a side note, do you know if any toys were produced of the '07 version? I did some snooping but found nothing.
I'd love to get my hands on one.

jRex's picture
Posted by jRex on 8 January, 2011 - 21:09
I also loved 07' Raideen! I

I also loved 07' Raideen!

I wonder also if there were any toys

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 20 November, 2013 - 07:39
I'm not going to complain

I'm not going to complain that you reviewed the toy without watching the show,since unlike others,I don't really think it's necassary to see the source material to evaluate a toy. In fact,it might be better if you didn't see the show first,because your review won't be tainted by your love of the character.

That said,I don't really think you should open the review by making fun of a show you've never seen. I've never seen it either,but I'll at least watch an episode before I start ragging on it. Since I've been on the site a couple years,I know you're one of the top American experts on robot toys,but if I was a new reader,I'd wonder how serious you were about anime related toys.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 8 January, 2011 - 11:18
Good point. Josh

Good point.


JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 8 January, 2011 - 13:04
Well I doubt he meant yaoi as

Well I doubt he meant yaoi as a compliment. ;)

It's not like I was offended or anything,I like Josh's reviews,I like the site. I just think it makes people look less credible when they say,"I've never seen it but...." If I didn't already know Josh (or at least online "know" him) I'd probably dismiss the review.

I only meant it as a constructive comment,I'm not trying to insult anyone.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 8 January, 2011 - 21:41
Purchased based on this review

Hey Josh,

I have never seen this version of the show, other than what I found on Youtube, but I picked this one up purely based on this review. Thanks!

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 19 April, 2012 - 17:33
Ugh! Having just about

Ugh! Having just about completed my SRC collection, baring repaints and upcoming stuff, I feel I can say without fear that this is the absolute worst figure in the SRC line. Even Bandai can have an off day. Maybe they made it after a National three day tequila bender holiday? I don't know? But short answer, It looks more or less nice (in an overly silvery blue CGI'ish 90's sort of way), so long as it is standing in a solid neutral A pose. Don't worry much about that, because of how the Roided up hot mess is designed, that is likely the only pose you will ever actually get it in. the wings are a mess. The transformation is a mess. The arms and legs clash so badly with other parts of the robot that they can barely be moved. The hands fall off. constantly. Forget holding weapon. He can only hold is bow horizontally in front of him, shooting sideways. They put the metal ratchet joints in the idiotic transformation bird arms, instead of in the knees right next to them. So it can barely support its own weight. Every time you move one thing 2 more fall off. Unless you have a real fascination with horrible 90's robot reboot designs, skip this guy in your collecting until last. And even then hunt him down as cheap as possible. $20-30 is barely fair.

On the positive side it is a kind of pretty shade of metallic silver blue. Kind of like your grandfathers old buick from back in the day. A nice pretty silver blue statue. Just make sure there are no breezes passing by or parts will fall off. Although to be fair the big honking 90's feet mean it stands well, so long as the knees don't flop over.

faelon's picture
Posted by faelon on 26 June, 2016 - 23:04
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy