CollectionDX Network

God Reideen

Comments

14 comments posted
I've actually seen the anime, so...

God Reideen was summoned using the twelve Zodiac Stones, and our heroes were scrambling to get them before the villains, the Chouma (Super Devils), could use them to control God Reideen itself. Of course, God Reideen needs a maiden of pure heart (aka a virgin) to allow one to control it. In the end, the leader of the Chouma gets wasted, the maiden herself takes over and her warped mind influenced the behavior of God Reideen from that point on. It even turned black during the final episode!

Not once did any of the ten lesser Reideen (Yeah, there was another team of five bishounen) ever take control of God Reideen. Maybe that was a taboo?

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 7 January, 2011 - 08:36
bird boys

I have most of those bird boy toys. I'll review a couple soon. Short review: they pretty much suck.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 7 January, 2011 - 09:12
It looks good, but his design

It looks good, but his design is obviously not made to move.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 7 January, 2011 - 14:53
Minimal movement

Correct. In the anime God Reideenn diddn't move much at all. It pretty much stood in one place and fired away from there. Other than that, it did a little bit of flying in space, but that was the extent of its movements. Oh, and it was a "Bad Guy" until the end...

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 7 January, 2011 - 20:57
rad design. and I for one

rad design. and good lord is that a '97 bandai GR? that thing is gorgeous
as I side note, I for one love '07 reideen.

jRex's picture
Posted by jRex on 8 January, 2011 - 01:32
I also love '07 REIDEEN >_>

Not only are your reviews great, but you obviously are a man of high taste. '07 REIDEEN isn't the greatest design, but if they came out with an SRC of it I'd buy it in a heartbeat (though I'd much rather have Saiga and Hoshikawa figma, but that's never gonna happen)

I do want this one, though; God Reideen is one of those mecha I thought I would never personally lay my hands on, but then SRC made all my dreams one true. I'll have to pick this one up.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 8 January, 2011 - 10:31
couldn't agree more about '07

couldn't agree more about '07 Reideen.
I love how the mecha was reinvented into that ancient golden machine all covered in runes and clockwork and crystals.
I'm ALL about that.
and the ultimate attack? that sword that was the size of the MOON? forget about it.
as a side note, do you know if any toys were produced of the '07 version? I did some snooping but found nothing.
I'd love to get my hands on one.

jRex's picture
Posted by jRex on 8 January, 2011 - 21:09
I also loved 07' Raideen! I

I also loved 07' Raideen!

I wonder also if there were any toys

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 20 November, 2013 - 07:39
I'm not going to complain

I'm not going to complain that you reviewed the toy without watching the show,since unlike others,I don't really think it's necassary to see the source material to evaluate a toy. In fact,it might be better if you didn't see the show first,because your review won't be tainted by your love of the character.

That said,I don't really think you should open the review by making fun of a show you've never seen. I've never seen it either,but I'll at least watch an episode before I start ragging on it. Since I've been on the site a couple years,I know you're one of the top American experts on robot toys,but if I was a new reader,I'd wonder how serious you were about anime related toys.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 8 January, 2011 - 11:18
Good point. Josh

Good point.

Josh

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 8 January, 2011 - 13:04
It's like I almost don't even

It's like I almost don't even care about the Reideen when Josh is the one doing the review. Just watching him and his perfect taste and keen eye is quite an honor. When experts of such high caliber, such poise are bestowed upon our collecting community, it's really quite an honor just to post here.

But.. Josh, really, how serious are you about anime toys?

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 8 January, 2011 - 15:17
How is he "making fun" of the anime? Really?

"I’ve never seen it, but I know it focuses on 5 yaoi-looking boy characters in bird suits who occasionally summon God Reideen. Seems flaky to me."

How is that making fun of the show? Really? All he said was it seemed flaky to him.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 8 January, 2011 - 16:43
Well I doubt he meant yaoi as

Well I doubt he meant yaoi as a compliment. ;)

It's not like I was offended or anything,I like Josh's reviews,I like the site. I just think it makes people look less credible when they say,"I've never seen it but...." If I didn't already know Josh (or at least online "know" him) I'd probably dismiss the review.

I only meant it as a constructive comment,I'm not trying to insult anyone.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 8 January, 2011 - 21:41
Purchased based on this review

Hey Josh,

I have never seen this version of the show, other than what I found on Youtube, but I picked this one up purely based on this review. Thanks!

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 19 April, 2012 - 17:33
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net