CollectionDX Network

Getter Go

Comments

16 comments posted
Love the sword, and the gun

Love the sword, and the gun gimmick is great.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 18 June, 2010 - 17:32
"Although created by Go

"Although created by Go Nagai and Ken Ishakawa, it has no connections to other Getter Robo stories."

That's not true at all.

Ken Ishikawa created Getter Robo and Getter Robo Go is a sequel to the Getter Robo manga. The time line is a little weird, but it even has Hayato, Ryoma, and old Getter villains in it.

The cartoon is completely unconnected though.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 18 June, 2010 - 17:49
It saddens me how

It saddens me how CollectionDX rarely research the toys they review and often get the use of accessories wrong ;_;

Anyways, in the Manga Go started with the 'normal' Head and used the sword and Handhenld gun. Early on Go gets trashed pretty badly and then gets repaired, this time sporting the "Demon" face and armed with the wrist mounted cannons instead of the handheld one.

Interestingly I'm fairly sure the rifle was a machine gun in the manga, yet here it looks more like a rifle. Oh well. I'm pretty keen to grab one of these either way.

DTU's picture
Posted by DTU on 18 June, 2010 - 18:26
Look at the volume of things

Look at the volume of things we cover. Do you think we have the time to watch or read each and every anime and manga out there for each character? While I would love to know each tiny detail of the backstories of every toy we cover, it's just not possible. My connection to Getter Go is the old Yutaka toys, which also lend no insight into the backstory.

Primarily I wanted to show you a cool looking toy. Getter Robo is a particularly onerous series to grab a hold of, with many re-tellings, re-imaginings, and it crosses a variety of media. Do we go by the TV series, Manga, or appearances in Games? I was under the impression Getter Go was out of Cannon, I stand corrected.

In regards to the accessories being wrong, well, like I said, I can't read the entire Manga to know the exact use of each one. But you, as a reader, can at least see all the accessories, see what they do, and judge if its the right toy for you. Then you can bring it home, and pose it in the most accurate way possible.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 18 June, 2010 - 18:53
Just do what Dan and Adam do

Just do what Dan and Adam do and pester me because I'm a huge nerd :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 18 June, 2010 - 19:00
Pester huh?

I pester you huh? OK...

_______________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Social Media Director - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 18 June, 2010 - 19:14
Yeah I understand that,

Yeah I understand that, granted it's fair enough. That's where these comments are handy I suppose, since then people can jump in and explain things about the figures.

DTU's picture
Posted by DTU on 18 June, 2010 - 19:25
Sure, he could have searched

Sure, he could have searched a little harder, but it's not the kind of thing one can just Google. If it was a major flaw about a Star Wars character it'd warrant a complaint, since there's one hell of a wiki devoted to it. Getter, not so much. Wikipedia doesn't have everything, you know. You can't really expect a guy to re-watch an entire show so he knows what each accessory is. And anyways, it's a review of the toy, not of the show.

Macross, Gunpla, Gunpla, Macross... Heck, let's go with both.

Val Varo's picture
Posted by Val Varo on 18 June, 2010 - 19:16
Considering that I could

Considering that I could spend all day in Times Square asking strangers if they knew what Getter Rono was without getting a yes,I'll forgive Josh's unfamiliarity with one of it's spinoffs. :(

It's a review of a toy,not cliff notes of a manga.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 18 June, 2010 - 20:39
Well, HAVE you?

Well, HAVE you spent all day in Times Square asking strangers if they knew what Getter Robo was? I really think SOMEONE should try this, just to make sure.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 21 June, 2010 - 14:45
It's probably also worth

It's probably also worth noting that the figure is based on the Manga character and not the anime one: you'll notice it's lacking the shoulder-mounted-spin-blade-things which the jumbo has. The Getter Robo Go anime had pretty well nothing to do with the manga, much like the original Getter Robo anime was a complete tonal shift from the manga it was based on.

The manga's a great read, I'd recommend it to everyone.

DTU's picture
Posted by DTU on 18 June, 2010 - 21:46
I actually had the first 5

I actually had the first 5 episodes fan-subbed and well the art style definetly didnt have that 70's super robot look. I know it was showing in the early 90's, but it just didnt have the same type of "getter robo" feel to it. I mean it was pretty typical in formula, but I guess you get so used to seeing Getter Robo and Getter G that when you see Getter Go the design just doesnt stand up to its older predecessors.

NEOGETTER's picture
Posted by NEOGETTER on 18 June, 2010 - 22:00
The arm parts always fall off mine too

Looks like it's a design flaw.

--
"All the dogs in this sector have turned into red monsters!...don't tell me that it's impossible!"

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 19 June, 2010 - 00:27
The manga for Getter Go

The manga for Getter Go (based on raw scans, not translated), is crazy awesome. Lots of detailed mecha and action that even if it's not in english, you can still get what's going on. I hear the anime version isn't good (I like the OP's though). We'll miss you Ken Ishakawa. ;_;

Still hoping for a Getter Ark revoltech. A rough proto was shown years ago but I guess like the Scopedogs they planned to do, it got cancelled.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 19 June, 2010 - 07:48
mangafox

mangafox has the translated one

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 22 June, 2010 - 02:16
yeah he's cool

i think this guy is cool and all but i personally dont like the green hands and the green pants!

its weirding me out man!

Cannonfodder4000's picture
Posted by Cannonfodder4000 on 22 June, 2010 - 01:59
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net