CollectionDX Network

DX Tensou Gattai Gosei Great

Comments

34 comments posted
I know how you feel. I use

I know how you feel. I use to be HUGE into Sentai/PR and have nostalgia for the older stuff but the last sentai robot that impressed me was MagiKing/Titan Megazord (and that was what, 2005). I've grown tired of the overly simplistic nature the toys have been having the later half of this decade and the over reliance of swapping gimmicks (like you, I felt Gaoranger
did it cool and fresh) for decent articulation and semi originality. MAybe it's time for Super Sentai to end or at least take a much needed break.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 4 August, 2010 - 06:43
Now that I think about it, I

Now that I think about it, I have to agree that "MagiRanger" (yes, 2005) was the last mecha line I really, really liked.

I don't know that Super Sentai needs a break, just the staff at PLEX (who design the look of EVERYTHING on-screen and made for toys) need a serious wake-up call that they're slipping.
Now, if I had an e-mail address for PLEX, I'd let them know what I think...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 02:48
Maybe Bandai can just start

Maybe Bandai can just start rebooting old series. That's pretty much all Hasbro does with transformers. I can see the appeal of this robot. It actually has a decent combination with Gosei Ground, but everything else seems poorly engineered money grab. Magiking was also an awesome toy; so much innovation and play value. When you have this much interchangeability and parts, you sacrifice style and things start looking like Mugenbine after generations of inbreeding. I mean, what the hell are these? http://ooebihara.sakura.ne.jp/toys/sentai/sinken/mougyu/mougyu126.jpg My eye can't discriminate a humanoid shape. Bandai should just make a continuing 10 year series where if you collect all the robots, they all combine into a life-sized cluster robot that you can wear as a suit.

Oh, and the wings do rotate behind him, don't they? And it should set you at ease that the final form is just two main robots combined. All the other headers and ancillary robots just go away. Buy and review Gosei Ground. I like looking at it.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 4 August, 2010 - 07:52
I can't remember which ones,

I can't remember which ones, but two of the Super Sentai Series in the early 80s actually used in-canon crossovers between each other, even though one was not an actual sequel.
I still say there's a sequel waiting in "GaoRanger" that would allow them to bring out some more of the Hundred Beasts. If they re-released the Gao Lion and Gao Alligator with proper modifications, they could totally add backpacks like Gao Peacock and Gao Manta to the combos.

I could be wrong, but wasn't Microman known for swapping parts of robots?

I am reviewing DX Gosei Ground. And to make sure I highlight Ground Gosei Great properly, I've picked-up the Skick Brothers Set for laughs (because all the other Brother sets make me rofl).
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 03:05
Love it or leave it!

2 collecting gimmicks is a sound business decision. If we can't get your money one way we'll get it another! Bandai makes these toys to make money! Kids these days, for the most part, don't pay attention to the past, so they'll never miss the lack of articulation or detail or playability. It's instant gratification at its best! As for your review, I found it very narrow in scope. You have failed to see how the different headders make GoseiGreat look different every time. Yes standing alone GG isn't that exciting but, once you get the gimmicks going it's fun to experiment and see what you get. The idea is to be creative and add your own twist to it. Here is a link to my flicker page showing different combos with the various headders. http://www.flickr.com/photos/finalfusion/sets/72157616246934929/ These photos are not even 1/3 of what I've been able to do with this toy! But, what do I know I LOVED the Mugenbine toy line and thought Magiking was a static piece of junk! Oh well to each his own. As long as Bandai is making money Super Sentai is far from being over!

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 4 August, 2010 - 09:31
Despite the saturation of

Despite the saturation of the last 7 years, I think limb-/armor-swapping is still a viable gimmick for Super Sentai. BUT NOT SWAPPING HEADS. If the Gosei Machines had been better defined, I might be able to accept putting the Phoneix Headder on Gosei Tiger's body, but not right now.

Wha- you thought MagiKing was junk...!?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 03:08
Double gimmicks is a bad, bad idea.

I agree with ya Eva, two collection gimmicks is too much.

It's a bad business decision simply 'cus parents everywhere only have THAT much money, so if you have two gimmicks, there'll be a time when children will have to pick one over the other (as the parents' money ran out), so in the end, they actually wasted time, effort and money to make "two sets of toys" when kids will only be able to get one.

If instead they spent more money on the design of this thing, then maybe it would've looked decent and they could also snatch toy collectors, which I'm actually pretty amazed they still seem to believe to be nonexistant...Transformers do it and are awesome, why can't Sentai bots do it too??

Also, as a small footnote, if you have the time and energy for it, search around for the MiniPla version of Gosei Great, that one actually looks decent as it has actually nice poseability and is much more proportionate.

GreatMazinKaiserZ's picture
Posted by GreatMazinKaiserZ on 9 August, 2010 - 21:36
Gosei Great is that bad?

Well, is it really that bad? Yeah, I know it is quite the obvious reason that this year, Super Sentai has gone to a road further than previous years, introducing 2 collecting gimmicks at once. But, if you see clearly the cards don't do much. They can just release as much RED RANGER cards as they want and most of them speak "Akaki no Senshi" aka Red Warrior in the Tensouder. The main point here is to get the Headders.

I agree to one point about the Headder gimmicks, the auxiliary Headders are really eating money. They are TOO overly simple and small and to my opinion just lacks the complexity in playing with them. If you have one, you'll know what I mean. I have all up till Mystic Runner so I can say all the small aux sets are cheating money.

I was shocked that this year's final combi does not involve a cluterfeck. I thought we're bound to have clusterfecks after the demand rise in GoOnger and Shinkenger mecha toys when they had that gimmick. Maybe the actual sales results were not as good as we thought.

You guys have yet to get and see the Exotic Brother pieces. If you're a completist like me, you'll cry hard since there's not much gimmick with the Exotic Headders but they did appear in the show AND ONLY ONCE!

redracer2004's picture
Posted by redracer2004 on 4 August, 2010 - 10:18
I considered getting the

I considered getting the Mystic Runner set. ...Then I saw the combo with Gosei Great and Datas Hypher, and I felt the corneas of my eyes burning-up.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 03:11
Tacking on a bunch of heads

Tacking on a bunch of heads to this standing totem pole doesn't make him look any better or more unique. It's still just the same figure with a different hat or terrible ostrich catapult that is the bane of my existence. The second robot in the line is pretty atrocious and really discordant with the theme. Is he just in there to push the cards? I was saying before, the header theme would have been awesome if each head turned into a unique sentai figure like gosei ground/lion. I don't exactly understand the reviewer's frustration either. There have been plenty of zords that have only had 1 step transformations, like the triceratops from the original american line or 3/4 of Patarmor's limbs. If transformers can redeem itself from the horrible Beast Machines and RID lines, I'd say there's hope for super sentai. Still, I think kids deserve something more stimulating than being able to plug in different heads to different slots. Maybe going for a younger target audience? Magiking was awesome because each component had a unique appearance that didn't look like a dismembered limb and he had TWO combined modes. Bandai pushed the envelop with that. I don't think anybody who follows sentai gripes about the articulation; only having moving arms is standard.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 4 August, 2010 - 13:22
I agree with pretty much

I agree with pretty much everything you just said.

I wasn't thrilled with the blockiness of the DekaRanger Robo either, BTW, but the style and function(s) made up for that. Yes, there have been many one-step transforming mecha in the past, but they were interspersed across entire lines and series, not all coped-up in one toy at one time! (Ehh, DaiVoyager...)

The target audience for Super Sentai is much like that of PR- 4-8yrs- so I doubt aiming higher would help the matter. Bandai/PLEX just need to shift their priorities away from making sooooooo many separately-sold accessory mecha, which in-turn requires simplifying the combining mecha in order to compensate.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 00:12
I don't see anything wrong

I don't see anything wrong with this toy. Sure it's not the most impressive looking robot, and maybe the gimmick is a little bit silly, but I'm positive that if I was nine years old, I'd still think it was pretty darn cool and want the toy.

I think that maybe your expectation of Sentai toys are a bit too high. Let's keep in mind what the main age demographic of this line is: A younger group of children. These toys don't need to be the crazy super-articulated, highly detailed and gimmicked-up-the-wazoo robots that lines like SOC need to be. Having the toy be able to turn into that iconic robot of grand stature is enough to make a child squee in delight all in it's own.

Also, I'm really sick of people complaining about the DX Sentai toys lacking articulation. If you want articulation, go buy the candy toy versions.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 4 August, 2010 - 14:01
Dkun, I can sum up my

Dkun, I can sum up my feelings for Goseiger in three words: "Star Wars prequels". Everyone loved what had come before, and then steadily the crap hit the fan even though it was all official.

If I though articulation was an issue, I would have converted to candy toys a long time ago. However, when they put together a POS like the Gosei Great for USD$87, and then don't add even a simple swiveling joint to the neck or single-axis elbows, then yes I have a problem with their motives. I understand the tradition of having limited articulation in all Super Sentai mecha toys and I accept that... but that's not specifically what I was complaining about in the review above.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 00:05
I never said you

I never said you specifically were one of those people. I was just bringing up a point.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 5 August, 2010 - 01:10
Oh, sorry. I thought you

Oh, sorry. I thought you were. ^^;

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 02:44
Excessive Merchandise-Oh, GATTAI!

Sentai designs have gone downhill for me as well. I’m not a fan of three-piece mecha (one part completely dominates the transformation, plus they’re not very complex) or the 12-piece fluster-cluck with fries.

My all-time favorite Sentai mech is Daizyujin/Mighty Morphin’ Megazord; not because I’m a MMPR fanboy but because it’s such an incredible design. If you didn’t look at its feet, you couldn’t tell it was made of prehistoric animals. The body is well-proportioned and the additional robots aren’t incredibly absurd—Dragonzord was the core of another Megazord itself (or a snazzy cape for a “great beast emperor”) and Titanus just hauled everyone’s asses around. Also, the mid-transformation Tank Mode was awesome.

King Brachion's picture
Posted by King Brachion on 4 August, 2010 - 22:27
"...Fluster-cluck with

"...Fluster-cluck with fries."

I LoL'd.

I completely agree- the Kyuukyoku Daizyujin and all its components is one of the most solid designs in Super Sentai; indeed one of the standards upon which I base all others.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 August, 2010 - 23:58
Oh, and in response...

...to what you said about disliking combining robots that are so simple you can figure them out without looking at the instructions:

I remember when I was a kid, before I actually got the Deluxe Megazord I had no earthly clue as to how the Mammoth/Mastodon transformed. I would watch the show and look at the toy and think, "Wait, the feet are on the back, but the "M" shoulder pads go here, but then how do the arms form?!"

When I finally got the damn thing I realized the Mastodon split down the middle and wrapped around the Tyrannosaur. (Damn, just typing that sentence reminded me how awesome the transformation scheme was!)

King Brachion's picture
Posted by King Brachion on 5 August, 2010 - 11:45
My parents tell a story

My parents tell a story about me as a kid that I just love hearing...

They got me an [Ewok] sit-and-spin for Christmas when I was really young (4-5yrs?). As my dad was getting flustered trying to assemble it and going through the instructions over-and-over, they looked up to see that I had put the whole thing together all by myself without glancing at the instructions once!

My higher-than-average visual-spacial orientation allows me to figure physical things out really easily, and is a natural talent. (I'm in the top 10% for my age-range in America.) Therefor, I revel in things like complex transformations and LEGOs. (Now if I could find a paying job like that...)
But for the first few years, certainly, I also looked at the instructions for PR toys. (I also saved all of 'em and changed some into coloring book pages...)

A few weeks ago, I got all four Dlx Megazords from "PRLsR" second hand, out-of-box with no instructions. While the Lightspeed and Supertrain Megazords were easy enough, the other two I couldn't simply watch the show to figure out some of their steps.
A few days before I got them, I got the Goseiger toys I'm reviewing now... so I was filled with joy at being able to THINK about transformations for a change when the PRLsR toys showed up! And I thought to myself, 'Man, how far we've come in 10 years'... hence the display of nine robos in my video above along with the Gosei Great.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 12:07
I've been collecting PR

I've been collecting PR Mecha for my kids since 1998, and we've got all but a handful of the US releases, with a couple Japanese thrown in as well. The line has seriously been going downhill, in my opinion, since around the time of Mystic Force (which was a good series, except for the horrible Manticore Megazord). Cross combinations are a real plus for me, but not necessarily the limb swapping. I honestly think the best series in this respect was Lightspeed Rescue. Each Megazord interacted with the others in some way that added to the play value. These toys are practically falling apart from play wear. On the other hand, I looked high and low getting all the Megazords from RPM, ended up paying exorbitant prices on Ebay, and I think my kids did the huge combination exactly one time. And now Goseiger has the goofy animal head stufff again, so soon after. I hope we get back to some more "realistic" vehicle based mecha soon (think SPD, In Space), or my own interest will die off as my kids grow older.

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 5 August, 2010 - 07:01
As far as articulation goes,

As far as articulation goes, as a kid I never got into transformers. I was always more interested in GI Joe's and Ninja Turtles and I think this was largely because it frustrated me that God Ginrai couldn't move his legs, turn his head, or move his arms at the shoulders. I understand that blocky immobile robots with presence is what sentai is all about, but I don't remember hearing a lot of complaints about daiboken's ability to bend his knees. That said, I also understand that with every piece of articulation, you make the robot less stable, which would make a lot of these combinations too floppy to work and too complex for their demographic, which IS still younger children. I mean if the ultimate combination from the previous line fell over, it could seriously disable a child.

That first picture makes this figure look good. I mean, the dragon isn't too bad despite its jacked wings and lazy feet and the snake is actually pretty good overall. The reason I always keep an eye on sentai is because classically, the robot combinations have always been better than transformers. Like with the what, Ninja Storm line? Or the second season of MMPR. Where adding a robot completely altered the look of the original robot. This is why I love the Patarmor/Bike Robo combination. The articulation is why I no longer own it. I agree that a head that can turn, being able to extend the arms to have functional elbows and maybe having swiveling wrists just shouldn't be too much to ask.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 5 August, 2010 - 10:14
It's called the DekaRanger

It's called the DekaRanger Robo!!! The PatArmor forms the right arm of the DekaRanger Robo.

Clearly people are confusing it with Patlabors...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 11:24
Yeah, cut me some slack.

Yeah, cut me some slack. I've owned every main robot from Zyuranger to Gekiranger (minus Time and Ninja Storm), but I've never watched the shows and I bought the American versions whenever possible. So, I meant the SPD Megazord. Oh, and the Astro Megazord combination, also awesome. Down with accessory zords!

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 5 August, 2010 - 15:27
i think it's a love-hate thing

i loved this thing right here but hated shinken-oh to death and i thought the daiboukens were smart tributes to sentai mechas of old and showed them in the ways they moved from the plain vanilla to super daibouken to ultimated daibouken. and as for me i got to watch older shows before mmpr and as such bio robo, five robo and turbo robo. and i think the cluster kibble came from the late 80's and i think they are just doing some tradition done. this for me will want to get it as for the 2 sides of collecting it's simply a choice man you can do one without the other

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 5 August, 2010 - 22:21
Ever since I found out about

Ever since I found out about Super Sentai [in 2003], I've wanted many of the pre-PR era DX robos (including the DX Daidenjin that's going to be reviewed by someone else here soon).

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2010 - 23:40
behold the monstrousity !!!

behold the monstrousity !!! and there's still one more robot to show up and combine!!!

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 8 August, 2010 - 00:41
Here's the creepy part: just

Here's the creepy part: just like Gosei Knight (who transforms into the Groundion Headder), the Super Goseiger all have Headder connection holes on their backs now.

Oh $#!+...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 8 August, 2010 - 10:22
Is this what Super Sentai can offer after 35 years?

OK, that's it...I'm giving up on Super Sentai and Kamen Rider altogether...

--------------------------------
天誅...パワーアロー!(Tenchu...Power Arrow!)

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 8 August, 2010 - 20:42
Is this series not over yet?

Is this series not over yet? Are you saying the Goseiger are all going to transform into heads, too? I approve of that. There's also another robot that hasn't been revealed yet? This one and Gosei Ground isn't the ultimate combination?!

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 9 August, 2010 - 07:35
the "ultra" mech has been

the "ultra" mech has been shown already.
And yes, the super gosei have a headder hole in their backs, which makes me think of the really funny things to do with the toys (tensou gattai goseitrain!!)

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 9 August, 2010 - 11:10
"Tensou Sentai Goseiger"-

"Tensou Sentai Goseiger"- like all Super Sentai Series- will end in February 2011, to be followed the next weekend by the yet-to-be-named 35th Anniversary series.

I never assumed that Ground Gosei Great was the end of the line because it happened mid-year, meaning it is the midway point for the series, not the end of it.

Wonder Gosei Great (which I am NOT getting OR reviewing!) was announced last month, which coincides with the "Goseiger" theatrical film it will first appear in in summer 2010, but it will also appear at some point in the series as well.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 9 August, 2010 - 22:53
Yeah, that's where I

Yeah, that's where I would've stopped if I started with this series. Appreciate you taking the time reviewing these. If you just peg in regular Super Goseiger figures to the ports, that's pretty lame, too. The robots already look like they have a horrible contagious disease that causes random body parts to grow out of the wrong places.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 9 August, 2010 - 23:07
bad toy

after seeing your review i'm glad i didn't pick up gosei great

redblueranger621's picture
Posted by redblueranger621 on 22 January, 2011 - 13:19
I actually kinda like it

For my part, I like the overall look of it, and the return to animal/vehicle hybrids. I'm looking forward to picking up the "Gosei Great Megazord" (which I REALLY hope goes back to being called "Megaforce Megazord").

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 13 October, 2012 - 07:56
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net