CollectionDX Network

Crossbone Gundam X-3

Comments

14 comments posted
Cute toy, how do these

Cute toy, how do these Bandai figures compare to revoltechs? I'm not a fan of the revoltech joint system.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 2 September, 2010 - 00:22
Look, the East is Burning Red

Look, the East is Burning Red

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 2 September, 2010 - 11:00
No clicky revolver joints here, just very well done standard joi

This Crossbone Gundam looks like to be an excellent example of the line. I have the Turn x gundam, the Devilfish, and the GN-X III A-Laws Type Robot Spirits figures. All of them are excellent figures. The Devilfish is a steal at HLJ for 1350 yen right now.

thehappyknife's picture
Posted by thehappyknife on 2 September, 2010 - 11:28
photos

I like the composition of your photos here and posing of the figure, but some of your past reviews had much better lighting! (or they were better exposed - I'm not sure whether it's the lighting or the shutter speed that's making these photos kind of dull). I also think you may need to adjust the white balance on your camera, as you're getting a sort of colored tone to the white background that's common with digital cameras where the white balance isn't auto-calibrating right, or isn't properly set to match the lighting.

P.S. photo 15 is the most awesome pose.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 2 September, 2010 - 19:14
Yeah, I should probably

Yeah, I should probably explain the reason the quality of my pictures have gone from bad to worse. I used to have a small lighting set up with a nice strong Halogen lamp that I could use to get decent shots. However that lamp has since broken and that has made my lighting much more poor. In addition to that, the only camera that I have is also a Cell phone one. I'm definitely working on trying to fix it, because I wasn't very happy with the quality of these photos. We'll see though, I will make an improvement however, I assure you.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 3 September, 2010 - 06:47
These photos are actually

These photos are actually pretty sharp for a phone camera. What kind of phone is it? I have a Casio Exilim phone now, and granted, that model was particularly designed to be a decent camera, but surprisingly it actually has just about as much flexibility in terms of white balance and exposure compensation as the Nikon point & shoot that was my primary camera eight years ago :3

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 3 September, 2010 - 21:41
The phone I use is an LG Vu

The phone I use is an LG Vu from about two years ago. The camera's decent enough, but it doesn't respond very well to artificial light, I've found. I really do need to take my pictures with some natural light coming into my lighting area. Compare my WFC Prime review pictures to these ones. The Prime ones I took during the day, while these were taken at night.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 3 September, 2010 - 22:49
delicious sunlight

That goes for almost any digital camera. Unless you have decent photo lights, you're usually going to get a more vivid result with natural light than your regular lamps, even if it's indirect. It's definitely possible to take good, if not perfect, photos with just an open window and a clear table :3

You should also check out the white balance options in the camera settings... a quick Googling reveals that the Vu only has five preset white balance options, and one of them is probably just auto-detect, but if you're lucky, the fluorescent or incandescent option will compensate properly for your current lighting.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 7 September, 2010 - 17:24
There's a good reason that

There's a good reason that you never really managed to find out a whole lot about Crossbone Gundam, Dkun -- it only existed as a manga... and the manga has, to my knowledge, been officially translated or released outside of Japan.

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 3 September, 2010 - 01:36
never been released officially

never did only translated by fans must be mixed up with ecole du ciel which i want to be done as either an ova or at least at least an appearance in sd g generation series to prove that it;s cannon. more on the shoujou side of things and nice mecha designs altogether.

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 3 September, 2010 - 04:43
Only Downside

There's no core fighter--the GFF and MG kits have it, so I'm glad I got the Crossbone X-1. It's not a huge slight against this figure, but I love me some core fighters.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 3 September, 2010 - 11:55
The face, the four wings and

The face, the four wings and the field,
Evangelion anyone????

I do WANT this thing really much

Tabris's picture
Posted by Tabris on 3 September, 2010 - 19:23
huhhh?

Crossbone Gundam actually debuted before Evangelion, I believe. The "mouth" thing is based on the faceplate opening from Gundam F91, but, you know, a toothy jaw is just more hardcore.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 3 September, 2010 - 21:45
Hmm, okay... My bad, but

Hmm, okay...

My bad, but thanks for the help

Tabris's picture
Posted by Tabris on 5 September, 2010 - 07:52
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net