CollectionDX Network

Armored VF-1J

Comments

10 comments posted
Bad Ass. When do we get the

Bad Ass. When do we get the video review?

hal9000's picture
Posted by hal9000 on 6 April, 2010 - 15:23
YAMATO - Armored VF-1J

Beautiful! Great! Legendary! Congratulations Yamato and thanks for the review, Atom!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 6 April, 2010 - 16:41
A Step Up

This looks really nice. I own the old armor parts, and finally just put it on display (after a couple years boxed). While it looks good standing still, there's no way I could pose that bad-boy in the dynamic way you seem to be able to here. Also, all the missiles on the old one are seperate pieces, which is neat...for a minute, until you realize you'll NEVER take them out of their mountings. This looks like a killer set. Thanks for the review.

-----
"Hey, uh...let's volt in."

Gigamach's picture
Posted by Gigamach on 6 April, 2010 - 18:02
Dude, it's *Yamato*

"The problem with this is that the faux-shoulders are molded in color, in this case white, preventing the set from being "anime accurate" should you want to use the armor with other Valkyries of non-white base color."

Well, given Yamato's track record, that just means we'll see like six different repaint versions to cover all the possible color variations! (White, Blue, Red, Brown, Grey, and "unmarked" White.)

Although given the Japanese toy industry's new "screw you America" attitude, they might instead do shoulder-only sets as web-shop exclusives.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 6 April, 2010 - 18:07
nice..

i have the old version 1/48 but i think this smaller version is much steadier and solid. as always, has nice detail, accessories and paint apps. nice review chief.

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 7 April, 2010 - 02:59
Standalone Armor?

I'm wondering if they will have (or do have) a kit with just the armor parts? I just don't think I need so many VFs just to get a heavy armor.
-Stephen-

mumbles's picture
Posted by mumbles on 7 April, 2010 - 08:53
Standalone Armor?

A quick check of the Web shows that they do have a standalone armor. Yatta! (Should really check before I post.)
-Stephen-

mumbles's picture
Posted by mumbles on 7 April, 2010 - 08:57
From the article....

"Already own a VF-1J? You have some options. Yamato will be releasing just the armor set by itself soon. Yamato also made a web exclusive armor parts set that included firing missile clusters, allowing you to display the machine firing all of the missiles. Sadly, I didn't get that version and doubt I will be able to get my hands on one."

... yep, I wrote that in English... just checking.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 7 April, 2010 - 15:03
Sweet.

Sweet.

raiel's picture
Posted by raiel on 1 May, 2010 - 23:23
Weathered edition

Was there ever a weathered edition of this? Someone said there was one in which the VF-1J came with weathering on it.

1fingolfin's picture
Posted by 1fingolfin on 1 March, 2014 - 14:17
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net