CollectionDX Network

VF-25S (Super Deformed)

Comments

20 comments posted
I don't care how many

I don't care how many people shoot it down- I've always liked the silly little design style known as Super-Deformed!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 May, 2009 - 16:16
SD

I do as well, but they have to have character, I've seen some bad ones!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 May, 2009 - 16:47
Re: SD

Oh, too true, too true. Additionally, the subject matter being covered also counts. Most Gundam-like figures work, but some can be in SD and it just sucks.

This online game I'm playing, Exteel, is a 3D giant robot third-person shooter, and they actually include an SD Mode. Even though it throws some of the shooting angles off and the mechanaughts' animation has to be faster to compensate, I love it, and absolutely rofl when other players yell at me for using it. And also, as we agree Mod, some of those mechanaught parts don't do too well in SD Mode, but it's the spirit that counts mostly. Bless NCsoft for that stroke of genius!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 May, 2009 - 19:14
...as proof of this, I own

...as proof of this, I own a BB generation SD Gundam Double-X (needs paint) and just got an SD Strike Gundam SWS (unbuilt). I also have an early-90s transforming VF-1S Focker Special that needs a little TLC to get it back up to spec.

'Twere it up to me, I'd have a ton more of 'em!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 May, 2009 - 19:16
The Touch- uh, Character

Not sure how well it fits the GERWALK design, as it's always looked a bit silly, being more a natural extention than a joke character.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 20 May, 2009 - 17:19
Yeah- the whole nose on

Yeah- the whole nose on this one needs to be chubbier for it to work out better. ;)

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 May, 2009 - 19:18
Dear Fellow Nerds

Please enough with the Macross already! I do love it like most but for real. Super Deformed blows... My 2 cents to the peanut gallery.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 20 May, 2009 - 20:01
Just for that...

I'm gonna dedicate the next super deformed review to you. ;)

In all seriousness, if you dislike it. DON'T READ IT!

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 20 May, 2009 - 20:28
Why Not

It's front page news how can I miss it. Tough cookies I like this site just as much as any collector and can add my own opinion. I've read a lot from other collectors with there not so positive feedbacks. You can't handle it too bad! That's why it's an open forum.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 20 May, 2009 - 20:54
Let me make this crystal clear...

My collection is not a democracy. You or any reader will not tell me what I can or can't cover. Suck it up buttercup and move along.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 20 May, 2009 - 21:11
Yo' back up...

It's not about what's being covered bye you Atom. You take it personally and that was not my intent... Maybe saying Super deformed blows was harsh, but that's an opinion and the intention wasn't to piss you or anyone off. It's more about the overplay of Macross lately. Hey maybe Josh will let me do a review and you can tear me a new [A-hole]. Actually, you did a nice review on Anime.CollectionDX about "Wild Flower (The Art of Shunya Yamashita Vol.2)" I thought you were right on with that review and even commented on it, it's nice to see a person, like yourself who likes Anime related art books and not just the toys they spit out, it's the process and talent behind the toy making that interests me. Buttercup so sweet. ;)

Larkin

[EDIT: adult language edited by EVA_Unit_4A]

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 20 May, 2009 - 21:52
In this case, let me state

In this case, let me state my OWN opinion.

SD [F-ing] rocks. I require all future reviews to be of Super Deformed figures. OBEY ME.

I suggest the ES Gokin line from Fewture and the SDX line from Bandai as sample subjects. That is all!

[EDIT: adult language edited by EVA_Unit_4A]

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 20 May, 2009 - 22:21
if you don't like a review,

if you don't like a review, then why even click on it?
and then post insulting comments?

no one is holding a gun to your head to read EVERY review, and it's childish and annoying to behave like there is.

I don't like Gundam, so I don't read any Gundam stuff, and I don't cry about how there's too much Gundam in every Gundam comments section.

I like the variety i get here. If i see something I don't like, then I don't click on it. Easy. I don't get my nerd pants all up in a bunch.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 21 May, 2009 - 00:46
You need to move on

I already gave the guy an apology then commented about a post he did that I really liked. It was my thought about the type of toy not his review. People put I don't like this or that here all the time. If your nerd pants aren't in a bunch then don't add your comments. Move on.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 21 May, 2009 - 04:31
I consider the matter

I consider the matter squashed. We're all on the same page.

As for SD, I can dig it, but I also like features. I was totally psyched when Bandai (America?) started releasing those super deformed articulated plastic completed figures of *genuine* UC-timeline mobile suits to coincide with their pushing of the "Superior Defender Gundam Force" cartoon a few years back. I picked up the RX-78GP02A Gundam "Physalis", and it kicks much ass.

The Fewture/Artstorm SD gokin coming out soon blow my mind, too.

As for this unarticulated SD VF-25S figure, I could like it...IF they released a MATCHING battroid and fighter mode along with it.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 21 May, 2009 - 11:27
Aww, cute!

I just wish I didn't have to buy fetish dolls to get one. 8(

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 21 May, 2009 - 17:48
Fetish Dolls?

Fetish Dolls? What the hell are you talking about. Where in my article does it say you must buy Fetish Dolls to get a SD Mecha? And what exactly do you think is a "fetish doll"? As far as I'm concerned I collect no such thing...

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 22 May, 2009 - 09:44
Hey Atom,

Hey Atom,

look...don't pay Larkin no mind. Do what your heart desires. I'm a big G1TF & Macross fan and I don't mind the heavy reviews. I'm not a big fan of Saint Seiya stuff and you do those a lot, so don't pay me no mind of my Saint Seiya nit-picking. I like your Saint Seiya reviews anyway.

Review your joy of the toys you desire as much as you like. I believe that's what this website is all about.

Is that correct?

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 22 May, 2009 - 12:33
"Different Macross" is always great.

SD, figures, kits, anything but more Bandai Valkyrie variations... IMHO

Now if Bandai wanted to make a one of those alien things a toy that would be most excellent. They won't however, because there really isn't that big a market for this stuff like there was the first time around.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 22 May, 2009 - 18:02
Me? I'm a sucker for SD

Me? I'm a sucker for SD mecha. Between SD Gundam and Super Robot Wars, I can't get enough of it. I think this valkyrie's adorable and I'd really like to get my hands on it.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 22 May, 2009 - 22:11
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net