CollectionDX Network

VF-25S Armored Messiah Ozma Custom

Comments

11 comments posted
too bad

I was holding out for this release after I cancelled my pre-order for the "naked" Ozma of the initial release. Now it appears it's little more than some extra plastic on a still flawed toy.

I enjoy the new show, but with Bandai failing at something they really should be excelling at, I don't plan on getting any of the high-end toys.

I'm all over the Tamashii Q-Rau though.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 27 August, 2009 - 12:38
Reason why Bandai didn't do a good job...

I think it is because its not gundam their main cash cow.
They just put a spacer for the head instead of redesigning? That's just lazy and cheap.
Makes me want to wait for yamato to acquire the license and then buy one.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 27 August, 2009 - 14:53
Its about design...

I've always been on the fence when it comes to the VF-25. The VF-25 is just so much more delicate and intricate compared to its predecessors, and I can never seem to find the balance of it; like the design was focused more on making it a believeable aircraft than it is a mecha. I liked Macross F, but the designs never sat well with me. The reviews of the Bandai toys based on them confirm much of my fears from the translation from digital/paper designs to plastics, its not about Bandai being lazy because its "not a gundam."

I've looked at the model kits and they don't look too bad, but its just the price of them that sets them far out of reach. Then again its a Valkyrie, which instantly increases the price whether it be a model kit or a fully built shelf display.
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 28 August, 2009 - 07:47
All I can say

This toy is sharp I love the design, nice color scheme, smooth lines, cool typography "SMS0001". Many missiles! Nice and to the point review.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 27 August, 2009 - 18:34
I just want to add that the

I just want to add that the 001 on the toy's shoulder has chipped off. Bummer.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 27 August, 2009 - 20:01
Dude...

Dude no way... Return him.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 27 August, 2009 - 21:29
Image Fight FTW. You know

Image Fight FTW. You know there was a gashapon a couple years ago?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 27 August, 2009 - 21:25
Believe it or not, despite

Believe it or not, despite the nerd fight in the Luca Valk thread, I actually love the scrolling shooter game allusions here, Andrew. I've always been a fan of those designs (and also the Mobile Armors in Gundam), so the armored fighter looks really cool to me.

The other modes, I can leave... And it's too bad the toy seems pretty meh.

As I said on TBDX, I'd love it if someone made 1/100 non-transformable sets of figures of these. Like, imagine a box containing a set of 3: 1/100 poseable battroid, GERWALK, and fighter. Non-removable armor...only the gunpod would come off. They could make a naked, armored, and APS-25 version for each. Fairly inexpensive. Rugged. Simple.

Revoltechs, maybe? Or Yamato's GNU-Dou (if they were able to secure the license).

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 28 August, 2009 - 11:57
As sexy as it is

As sexy as it is prohibitively expensive.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 8 July, 2010 - 04:57
I'm not sure if anyone will still follow this thread...but need

help on something.

Thought Atom's review was fair, I really liked the VF-25S' design and was lucky enough to secure one that is unopened, brand-spanking-new, mint-in-box...whatever we call it nowadays.

I was totally satisfied with it as of course Atom's review set my expectations at a mid level. Until I noticed one of the landing gear hatches on the front end of my Valk (on the nose) had one of the thin "hinges" that secure it to the underside cracked.

I paid a premium for an unopened specimen so I felt my heart sink...

In any case I was wondering, is there any way to secure a replacement part from Bandai, has anyone tried this? I mean, I love the toy, it's exactly what I expected except for this apparent QC issue.

Or if not, has anyone tried "fixing" QC issues on their toys themselves? I am thinking, since the "hinge" didn't crack all the way through, I might be able to cut the corner of a credit card to the same shape and slip it between the two hinges with a dab of super glue. Of course securing a replacement part is my priority.

Damn, I am not really disappointed but I just kinda feel helpless. Don't want to let go of the toy as it's my favorite Valk design and I had spent months tracking down an unopened one.

By the way, nice review Atom. Hope anyone can help.

Boodles828's picture
Posted by Boodles828 on 31 May, 2011 - 21:11
Crap. Made a mistake.

Sorry, been reading too many reviews, got the authors mixed up.

VF5SS for this one--thanks for the review dude. :D

Atom for the other Valks he reviewed. :D

Boodles828's picture
Posted by Boodles828 on 31 May, 2011 - 21:17
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net