CollectionDX Network

VF-25G Michael Custom

Comments

36 comments posted
I'll be short and to the

I'll be short and to the point: the Messiah is a Valkyrie-wanna-be, not a successor. And I'm not talking about this toy here either. It looks interesting (I wouldn't want one), but it's just not the same...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 May, 2009 - 01:04
Taste is VERY subjective Eva

No Eva, the Messiah design is fine. A true and proper successor to the original design in my opinion. You're right it's not the same, it's better in every way to the original. The toy however is not.

Why must you take the time to post in every Mac F review how you don't like any of the designs? Do I post to every Sentai Zord review that I think they look like crap (which I do?)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 5 May, 2009 - 01:17
No, but you definitely

No, but you definitely should, there is nothing worse than a reviewer that doesn't say ALL that he thinks. If I review a TF on my site and think it's a piece of crap, then I write it. Sponsored review or not, you're here to show people what are they paying for. And that does indeed cover warning them about some bad ideas for shopping too.

I'm not a fan of 25 too, from it looks it should be usesless in atmospheric combat and like VF-2ss, its obviously made mainly for space. But there is something in this design I honetsly don't like. Like the wing kibble in Battroid mode and almost defenseless cockpit in this mode. The only thing that I like is how it's able to transform with the armour on.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 5 May, 2009 - 06:45
"...Sponsored review or not,

"...Sponsored review or not, you're here to show people what are they paying for. And that does indeed cover warning them about some bad ideas for shopping too..."

That's true, that's true. While I rarely get feedback on my reviewing style, I am surprised to see little comment on the majority of stuff I review regarding the item itself. Comments on the content, as much as how I review items, is just as important; it lets me take the temperature of CDX and collectors in general.

That being said, I did not bash the toy being reviewed above since I do not want one, and bashing something I do not want is negative publicity in the eyes of others who do not regularly post comments. I merely bashed the overall original materials that it was based on.
Example "A": I love the Transforming Fury Megazord Set from 2008, but wasn't thrilled with the mecha designs from Japan that they were based on (which is why I didn't waste my money on importing the DX versions).

. . .

Regarding the VF-2SS, it is less about how atmospheric-capable it is, and more about how kick-ass it looks & functions compared to all the other Valkyries (and the Messiah) out there beyond the original VF-1s and the VF-11 & VF-17. The VF-2SS is just my personal favorite out of all of these. Don't hate me for my choices.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 May, 2009 - 11:21
"...You're right it's not

"...You're right it's not the same, it's better in every way to the original..."

Agree to disagree.

"...Why must you take the time to post in every Mac F review how you don't like any of the designs?..."

That's not fair to say- I don't post negatively in every non-VF-1 review.

. . .

"...Do I post to every Sentai Zord review that I think they look like crap (which I do?)..."

Maybe you should...! =)

It lets others know that we're all not just a bunch of "Super Sentai" fans here on CDX. Who knows- perhaps someone from those companies is watching here; I know Angolz watches all the Macross stuff.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 May, 2009 - 11:40
Oh god, will you shut the

Oh god, will you shut the hell up? Y'know I was getting annoyed at that yutz nekrodave for this whiney, tiresome, counterproductive crap, but I've realized you're even worse! Are either of you guys ever not at your keyboards, itching like rats to be the first to comment on EVERY article that gets posted? Nobody cares to hear you bitch about Macross Frontier or the Messiah for the umpteenth time. Just because Bandai makes a crappy Messiah figure doesn't mean we need you to chime in with a basically unrelated nerd-spew. And this isn't a Macross fan-boy thing either; all this Macross crap just seems to be a lightning rod (at least on this site) for the kind of lame garbage that turns my stomach anymore.
I (briefly) enjoyed reading and posting comments on this site until I started to notice (and quickly got fed up with) what seems to be a growing trend of pointless nerd-angst that has less to do with toys/figures/models/collectibles/etc (y'know the basic purpose of this site), and more to do with people's opinions of the various source materials for the toys and stuff, including whatever obnoxious little axes they have to grind with said source materials. How about keeping the incessantly negative comments to TOYS you don't like? I'm about done bothering with the comments sections on this site. It's a shame because I genuinly like this site (rare for me) and I dig what a lot of the poeple on this site do. I'm just glad I don't seem to be the only one who notices this b.s.

Diyenn78's picture
Posted by Diyenn78 on 5 May, 2009 - 08:41
You go on about

You go on about counter-productive posts and then do nothing but rail on people and backseat moderate in a wall of text.

Eva has certain issues that explain his actions, those that have been on the site for a while know this and tune him out.

As for the peanut gallery on this site, it's really no different than any other one, and quite a bit better than some I've been to (Macrossworld). Comments are there for this reason, to add your opinion to the subject. While many are fine, it's unreasonable to not expect a few comments that are questionable.

tldr, chill.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 5 May, 2009 - 10:51
Re: You go on about

"...Eva has certain issues that explain his actions, those that have been on the site for a while know this and tune him out..."

:/

I'm trying to decide if that's an insult or you defending me...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 May, 2009 - 11:31
I noticed recently on The

I noticed recently on The Enthusiast Reboot review most of the comments were about the cartoon itself less the toy that he's reviewing. I kinda felt bad for him after all the work it takes to set up your lighting, take the toy out of the package, scan instructions, take pictures, upload and resize pictures, upload to CDX, write and edit a review and most the comments were about the cartoon itself and not the toy!

I rarely go on other CDX writers reviews and negatively add my point of view as it disrespectful to all the work that is put into the review. Honestly I completely dislike the art design of the Super Sentai toys you review Eva. they are just too gaudy for my tastes but to log on and say each week how I dislike them really serves no purpose because I'm aware that there is a huge fan base for the toys you review and that is the audience you are writing for not me.

All the Atom reviews I have read seem to be very fair. To be honest again I really don't like the art design of all these new Valkyries they all look the same to me but I'll be the first to admit I haven't seen the anime yet and I don't have a emotional connection with the subject. Before I saw Cowboy Bebop I was very what-ever about the Swordfish until I saw the anime. Afterwards I flipped out when I saw that Bandai made a model kit of the swordfish.

At $200 this figure should be nit-picked a bit. Bandai isn't a fly by night company. One really likes or dislikes anything Bandai manufactures we should learn to write to them directly about the issues along with these reviews.

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 May, 2009 - 17:14
"I rarely go on other CDX

"I rarely go on other CDX writers reviews and negatively add my point of view as it disrespectful to all the work that is put into the review. Honestly I completely dislike the art design of the Super Sentai toys you review Eva. they are just too gaudy for my tastes but to log on and say each week how I dislike them really serves no purpose because I'm aware that there is a huge fan base for the toys you review and that is the audience you are writing for not me."

Very nicely put. I think that very succinctly sums it up.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 5 May, 2009 - 17:43
Kawamori ditched the VF-1 almost immediately

The only VF that's looked like the VF-1 was the VF-0, and even that looked more like YF-19 parts grafted onto a VF-1 skeleton. Indeed, if you look at it, the VF-1 is the abberation!

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 5 May, 2009 - 10:53
Re: Kawamori ditched the VF-1 almost immediately

Thank you! I couldn't agree more!

And, oh BTW, if it didn't transform, I like the VF-25's Fighter mode as a stand-alone.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 May, 2009 - 11:33
I like the VF-25 Gerwalk best

VF-25 Gerwalk is, I think, the best-looking mode. I'd actually be interested in a high-articulation VF-25 Gerwalk toy! And, like you, I think that the Fighter mode looks really good. I've never been all that excited by the Battloid mode, though; it looks too spindly and lanky and fragile-looking.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 5 May, 2009 - 12:49
Armor

The only loose armor on mine are the leg air intake covers, the rest is solid when attached. I couldn't believe how bad they are.

It's taken 25 years to get a close to perfect VF-1 and while I agree with you on not good enough for the money, the only thing that I have a problem with is the lack of leg rotation just above the knee. I have a general dislike for GERWALK mode, so the fact the VF-25 doesn't really have one doesn't bother me.

Another trick for Base + GERWALK, is "Blu-Tack" on the stand to make sure it stays in place as it becomes very unstable once you start tweaking the pose. But long term I would be concerned about damaging the figures plastic, but will make photo shoots a lot easier! ;)

"The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this to be true." - James Branch Cabell 1926.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 5 May, 2009 - 06:47
Thanks Wizartar

Yeah Gerwalk mode is my biggest issue. If it had a proper range of motion and lack of rotations above the knees. I could let everything else slide if those had been done right. At least battroid and Fighter mode are good and solid.

Thanks for the tips with the blue-tack.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 5 May, 2009 - 12:20
Thanks for doing this

Thanks for doing this review. I wanted to read a review of this toy. I really like the designs for the VF-25 and I want to get one but $200 is a bit much for a toy that has these kinds of flaws (and I'm even that anal when it comes to toy flaws and details). Are you or someone going to review the RVF-25?

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 5 May, 2009 - 09:17
Pheydon is so helpful. I

Pheydon is so helpful. I should use mine more.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 May, 2009 - 10:42
Yes, that's a cute pic!

And I bet the O'Nell guys would be amused to see their $8 Pheyden being used to prop up a $200 VF toy...

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 5 May, 2009 - 12:55
Was gonna buy this...

Finally a review about the VF-25G. I've been eyeing the toy for weeks wonder if I should drop the $200 bills. Now I know it's a piece of sh!t not worth the price. Thanks for honest review. Buy the way it's on wonderful looking piece of junk a favorite MAC F design.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 5 May, 2009 - 12:48
I'd hardly call it

I'd hardly call it a piece of crap. It's a solid and good looking toy, and Atom's comments seem to be more based on a foundation of "it could be better" as opposed to how good (or bad) it actually is. And it isn't a bad toy by any stretch.

A bit fiddly with the fast packs, yes. Aesthetically designed differently from previous Valkyrie toys, yes. It also happens to be solid, playable, one of the easiest and trouble free transformable Valks since the 1/55's, while still looking damn good for those who are more into display pieces (which, given the way most Valks have been designed in the past, probably constitutes a majority of the vocal fanbase who are still around).

There are plenty of people who are very happy with the DX Valks. The unfortunate fact is that they aren't nearly as vocal, or as loud, as those who dislike it.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 5 May, 2009 - 14:43
I agree...

So it's not perfect but it is Bandai's first attempt at a Valk in how many years, plus no matter how large the company is the items they produce are not perfect and running changes is the standard in any industry which Bandai is doing. From most reviews I've read it seems the biggest complaint is the subpar Gerwalk mode, which for some is a big deal and for those like me could care less. As for the price, well that seems to be about the average for high quality "toys" these days so I doubt some kid would have this figure let alone take it to school to show his friends unless his dad was Donald trump or a NBA star, these are meant for adults. It's only a "toy" in name only but really it's a transformable display piece just like SOC's or Yamato Valks or whatever.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 5 May, 2009 - 16:05
200$

But for 170$ isn't the the quality bar should set very high? Maybe if it's a 70$ toy, not much complain coming, but for 170$? I'm thinking of buying a high end Macross toys, maybe I just went to Yamato instead Bandai.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 5 May, 2009 - 19:59
Like I've complained about

Like I've complained about before,(we) collectors accept too much crap for their money. We shouldn't just forgive the manufacturer because it's been a while since their last similar product, this is what they do, make toys. If they can't get it right after all these years, they never will, and should quit now. Unfortunately, sub-par toys have become the standard, because we buy them even when we know they suck.
And, whether $170, $70, or $7, you should expect a toy that doesn't crumble and fall apart when touched. The manufacturer should be held to a simple standard of making USABLE toys, I don't expect the world, just a toy that isn't broken out of the box and does what it is supposed to do. If Yamato has better quality, then don't waste time with this, or similar sub-par items.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 6 May, 2009 - 09:42
"If Yamato has better

"If Yamato has better quality, then don't waste time with this, or similar sub-par items."

Except for one or two exceptions though, they DON'T. "crumble and fall apart when touched" has become the mantra for Yamato releases, from their Garlands, to the Macross Zero Valkyries, the YF-19, even their otherwise phenomenal V2.0 VF-1 has had a consistent failure in the shoulder joints that has only recently been rectified... meanwhile, those who bought the first release? Boned.

However, I do agree with you totally. We DO accept too much crap for our dollars. Unfortunately, we're at the mercy of these companies since there's very little overlap of product lines; if you want a VF-25, you have to get a Bandai. If you want a VF-1 or a VF-0, you go Yamato. Macross in particular seems to suffer from a quality breakdown coupled with a high price; it's only recently that Yamato have been able to overcome the quality issue, but at the same time the price has been climbing to compensate.

tl;dr - Being a Macross fan sucks.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 6 May, 2009 - 10:55
The lack of competing

The lack of competing products does make it tough if you really want a certain toy. But, if we're willing to shell out hundreds of dollars regardless of quality just because we LOVE the robot/anime/vehicle, then we have to be willing to accept the crap, because companies won't improve quality until the lack of it affects their sales. If I know it sucks, I don't buy it.
Macross does seem to 'get it' the worst. After all these years, you'd think they'd just copy what worked as closely as possible, re-paint, repeat. Even when they get it right, the same company's next product screws up again. The Transformers G-1 Jetfire was better than some veritechs I've seen recently.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 7 May, 2009 - 15:26
I bought a $200 GFFM Zeta

I bought a $200 GFFM Zeta Plus and that's more playable, well built, and has more going for it out of the box than the DX VF-25. Just wait until I review it.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 May, 2009 - 22:17
Wow....

Lots of anger over the various items brought up in the post.
The toy:
I do want one but its not high on my list to get. I'm waiting for the Ozma Custom Armored version. I agree that Bandai could done A LOT better, but it been how many years since they've made a TOY this complex (gundam models dont count to me)?. I do like that they gave you a stand and the fast packs instead of saying you need to pay an additional 20 or more usd or more for it. I like the paint scheme.I Also the fact that it a sniper unit!!! Seriously is there another macross series that has a sniper vf ?
Oh, and the gerwalk mode does suck. seeing as how one has to tweak it in order to get a good pose.

The series/ mechanical design:
IN the series it was developed on the colony which is in space.so one would think space combat would be higher on the list than atmospheric combat. It would n't make sense to m e to develop / design a fighter that excels in atmospheric combat and maneuvering then put it to use in space. But really just watch the series and form your own opinion

The various post:
I like this site i wish i had found it sooner. But if one wants critiscm:
There is a lot of macross stuff on here, but that whats being released and the hot item at the moment
I found it useless and a waste of time/ space for a video review about the MAcross DYRL Valkyrie Vf 1a Hikaru Ichijyo ver and Max Jenis ver. Considering they are the same toy the only difference being a paint variant and maybe a head sculpt. i think only one video to cover them both would have sufficed
I'm gonna stop now before this post gets way too long.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 5 May, 2009 - 23:10
"but it been how many years

"but it been how many years since they've made a TOY this complex"

They've been making Soul of Chogokin toys, DX Chogokin toys, and now stuff like the GFFM figures non-stop for the past ten years.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 6 May, 2009 - 07:56
what i meant was Valkyrie

what i meant was Valkyrie type going from a to b to c or some combination of that without having to break it down into separate pieces(im thinking getter robo, power ranger)

once again nice looking toy but i'll wait until bandai's qc gets better.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 6 May, 2009 - 15:10
Given that im not into

Given that im not into macross stuffs (but will get into it in the future ^_^;)but i think that it looked nice and beutifull thats all.

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 6 May, 2009 - 14:17
Have to chime in now that I

Have to chime in now that I FINALLY have a DX Chog. VF-25... I just got me reissue Alto from BBTS, and I have to say, I LOVE this toy! The lack of mid-thigh or knee swivel is a bit of a disappointment for posing, and I can see where the way the crotch locks and the hips interact isn't the greatest, but this toy is solid, tight, and fantastic looking. I unwrapped it, and was ready to be disappointed with things like needing special hands for transformation and needing a clip for the gunpod to mount, but the gunpod will actually mount in there solidly without the clip, and the other hands can be mashed into the shield compartment. Otherwise the toy transforms solidly and feels great to play with. I can see tho, how the addition of the armor with all its fidgety pieces could quickly turn this toy into a travesty, but the standalone Alto is phenomenal.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 6 May, 2009 - 14:48
It's about perspective

It's not like these figures explode if you look at them funny Bandai just missed a few of the details. Plus there's no point in bringing up the SOC line, just look at GX-01 compared to any recent SOC it's like night and day and it also took over ten years to get to the point where SOC's are arguable the standard of the industry. When you buy a toy like this, Bandai knows that for the most part these will be shelf pieces that owners will take down once in awhile and fiddle with. Does that mean that Bandai is then allowed to build a fragile POS, no, but this thing isn't fragile just fiddly which Bandai is actively trying to fix. In fact try and show me a brand new figure from a brand new line which is perfect from the get go or didn't have some kind of improvement done to it. That's like asking Mercedes or some car company to build the perfect car, some of these companies have been building cars for over a hundred years but it's impossible to do. Price is also relative, I agree for the average collector $150-200 is a lot of money but compared to $300 CM figures to $600+ SHE figures to $1000++ vintage figures $170 is quite reasonable, I'm not one of them but they are out there.

Look this toy is far from perfect but I think expectations were super high, just like MP Grimlock, some collectors were disappointed and some were perfectly happy with it. I just say give Bandai time, we all know that they can make first class toys and just like any toyline it's just constant evolutions and improvements that will get them there.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 6 May, 2009 - 15:49
This toy is perfect in 2 out

This toy is perfect in 2 out of 3 modes. The gerwalk mode is the ugliest and most disappointing part of the toy. However, not alot of people display the unit in gerwalk mode and alot more probably just shelf it in plane or robot mode.

How much is this figure? is $170 reasonable? no one can say for sure, as this is an individual thing. Some are willing to spend more and some are not reaonable. Take Vintage toys for example. Collectors think one day their collections would yeild double or triple returns for them. It works just like those baseball card collectors...

Battousai's picture
Posted by Battousai on 11 May, 2009 - 09:58
I'm actually displaying my

I'm actually displaying my Alto in Gerwalk mode right now... It would be nice if the knees and hips bent more, but right now my Messiah is on a flight stand doing some crazy Gerwalk moves and looks good to me. I must really just have a low standard for toys or something, because I am thoroughly enjoying my Messiah and cannot leave it alone.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 May, 2009 - 12:27
I've got this figure a few

I've got this figure a few weeks ago and to be honest i have a bit of a love-hate relationship with it. I love how the figure looks in battroid and fighter mode especially with the armor on but i'm very annoyed with the level of difficulty on putting the armor and getting some of them to stay on and the weird stiff looking gerwalk mode. But after putting the armor on, you wont be able to bend the knees on the battroid form which is a bit disappointing.

Another thing as wall, will collection dx be making a video on transformation between fighter to battroid? i cant seem to get the head and neck right (just like in the picture). Even after looking at the instructions over and over again. Thanks

Putra 224's picture
Posted by Putra 224 on 18 May, 2009 - 05:15
Probably not...

... but I may get around to it. I so disliked this line that I scrapped the HD video I had shot for the Alto release.

I know fellow Macross collector and occasional CDX reader, Wiztar has a nice set of transformation videos. I suspect that will help ya...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0Qxd_mpcF4

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 20 May, 2009 - 13:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net