CollectionDX Network

VF-25F Alto Custom

Comments

14 comments posted
I've been praying with all

I've been praying with all my black little heart for Bandai to re-release this toy with the Armored parts (and stop mucking around with obnoxious little web-shop exclusives), and now I have to pray twice as hard for Bandai to fix the QC issues described here, though I somehow doubt they will feel inclined to do so. Maybe I should just start praying for Yamato's people to break into the Bandai offices one night and hijack the Macross Frontier license....

Diyenn78's picture
Posted by Diyenn78 on 20 April, 2009 - 11:54
I think the Alto custom

I think the Alto custom VF-25 fared better than the Ozma, which has a terrible neck joint and bendy head lasers. Oh and another point of complaint would have to be the extraneous mounting piece for the gunpod, which could have been a part of the weapon itself. Also it is true that Michel's VF-25 cannot mount the sniper rifle in fighter mode if you want to set it on its landing gear.

Ironically, the heaviest gokin filled VF-1 is still the old Yamato 1/60.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 20 April, 2009 - 13:33
When Michael's sniper rifle

When Michael's sniper rifle is mounted in Fighter mode you need to use the display stand included, the landing gear are too short. Even then you kind of just leave the rifle sitting there unattached from the VF-25 on the stand. That said IMO Michael's is the pick of the bunch with the FAST pack attached.

"The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this to be true." - James Branch Cabell 1926.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 21 April, 2009 - 07:21
I had gotten this for

I had gotten this for Christmas and was so disappointed with the described flaws, especially the print rubbing off (I mean, come on Bandai!!) , that I tried to return it where I had purchased it. They wouldn't give me a refund, but gave me a new one. I flipped it on ebay and got the awesome Toynami Cyclone instead. (No complaints on the Cyclone). Wow, I never thought I would pick a Toynami product over Bandai...

gaiking's picture
Posted by gaiking on 20 April, 2009 - 19:00
Neat. At least you didn't

Neat.
At least you didn't get the two-tone green luca rvf-25. I'm awiting for the armored ozma custom redesign to be released.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 20 April, 2009 - 21:53
Original Price 15,500?

I though the Original Price for this guy was 12,000 Yen why 15,500? I saw some shops up the price once it was sold out everywhere else. But I got mine for a little less then 12,000 because of pre-order.

"The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this to be true." - James Branch Cabell 1926.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 21 April, 2009 - 07:25
Tamashii web has the SRP at

Tamashii web has the SRP at 12,600 yen, so i've adjusted it to reflect that.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 21 April, 2009 - 09:38
Nice, in depth review. Is

Nice, in depth review. Is someone going to review the RVF-25 one?

The price doesn't reflect the quality here.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 21 April, 2009 - 11:48
Wait....what??

"Quality"?

It seemed to me that the general consensus both from the review and from the numerous comments was that this toy is fairly subpar.

For that kind of money, I'd expect more.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 21 April, 2009 - 13:55
thats what he meant - for

thats what he meant - for $120 you'd expect it to be better.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 21 April, 2009 - 14:54
Understood. Thanks for

Understood. Thanks for clearing that up. ...Vince takes enough of an ass-whooping online as it is, so comment withdrawn!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 21 April, 2009 - 16:51
What'll you say is better in

What'll you say is better in your opinion? The Ozma, or the Alto custom?

Decade010's picture
Posted by Decade010 on 21 April, 2009 - 18:26
variants

I like the idea of having different posters review variants of the same toy (I apologize in advance for the ignorance of calling two different Macross models "variants", but you know what I mean). I like getting a different point of view and photography style.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 22 April, 2009 - 21:54
I simply couldn't agree

I simply couldn't agree more! That's the best!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 23 April, 2009 - 08:16
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net