CollectionDX Network

VF-1A Valkyrie (Max TV Type)

Comments

15 comments posted
Video Review?

Is there a video review in the works for this baby blue?

I would love to see it in action on HD.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 24 November, 2009 - 20:01
No Vid

Sorry, not at this time. Having some technical issues that outweigh the time it would take to put it together. Sorry, maybe more videos next year.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 24 November, 2009 - 20:31
Understood

I understand Atom. Take all the time you need to get things situated w/ your equipment. I can wait for next year. I like suprises. For the time being, I'll go back to watch your previous vid reviews. I wish to note that the 1/60th VF-1A Super Strike Valk vid-review will always be my favorite b/c it comes with an addenum on how-to-transform & a special commentary.

An honorable mention from my thanksgiving heart.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 24 November, 2009 - 23:15
Beautiful, and done justice

Beautiful, and done justice by the photographs. Would you ever consider applying the decals? I like its simplicity, but can't help but wonder what the extra detail would do.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 24 November, 2009 - 20:29
Stickers

Probably not. I'm fine with the tampo printed details but for those they may want more, there are TONS of "no step" and warning labels to add should you choose.

Personally I'm fine with the stark white myself. :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 25 November, 2009 - 12:42
Quality Control

Hey, Atom, your reviews of the Perfect Trance convinced me to pick up the 1/60 Scale Hikaru VF-1S with Super and Strike Parts about a year ago, and I was disappointed in the quality control with my particular valk. The seam along the right hip wasn't set flush, so there's a gap in the plastic, which when you go to pop out the hip from fighter/GERWALK mode into Battroid mode, the entire hip splits wide open along the seam until the piece pops out. It also doesn't allow the intake cover to sit properly, but that's a minor complaint. It has yet to snap or anything, but it does give me cause for concern. I thought this was just a single, one-time defect. So I bought another Perfect Trance, the Hikaru VF-1A because it was on sale and I wanted another Valkyrie that I could play with without worrying about breaking. Well, my VF-1A comes in the mail, and lo and behold, it has a gap in the seam on the right hip, and this time when going to transform it from fighter to Battroid mode, the little piece of plastic on the back of the hip that locks into the bottom of the fighter shave itself off. While in the long run, it'll probably be more beneficial because I won't have to put so much pressure on the split hip when I'm transforming it, I'm just curious if any of your Valkyries had this "right hip" problem. Two in a row for me makes me think there's something going on.

I'm not sure how to link images quite yet, but in my collection, first picture I tried my best to illustrate what I mean.

Anyway, the review itself was good and I was surprised that they used a whole new headsculpt for the TV Version of the VF-1A. I wouldn't just figured they would've gotten rid of the gray piece from the Movie version and glued the transparent piece in, but they went the extra mile and gave it a whole new head. My only issue with the TV Version of Max's VF-1A is it's so plain on top. It's all white with no detail. Not even a stripe on the wings. I was always more of a fan of his DYRL colors, but that's just me.

GojiraYoda's picture
Posted by GojiraYoda on 25 November, 2009 - 12:07
Odd.

Thanks for reading. :)

Out of the 5 Yamato Valkyries I have gotten, I have never seen this splitting in the intakes before. As a matter of fact it's the first time I am hearing about this. I don't know what to say. Maybe Andrew (the other Macross nerd) can speak to this?

Sorry man, looks like bad luck. :(

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 25 November, 2009 - 12:39
Thanks for the update

Yeah, it is weird. I'm wondering if it has anything to do with the Hikaru DYRL molds in general because again both of them are Hikaru models. Plus I received my Valks from two different stores, so I figured it must be a known defect at least. Then I remembered that you did the reviews for both the VF-1A and VF-1S Supers, so I suppose that's not the problem. I mean, besides that little hiccup in the intake seam, it's a flawless toy. Well, okay, semi-flawless. I wish the hip bar stayed in tighter while in Battroid mode, but that's only an issue because I display my VF-1S with open wings. But if I didn't like the toy so much I wouldn't have bought two. Just disappointed that both of them had the same problem.

GojiraYoda's picture
Posted by GojiraYoda on 25 November, 2009 - 13:28
You got me.

You got me.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 25 November, 2009 - 23:17
I edited your comment to

I edited your comment to include the picture that I think you were trying to link to. To include images in a comment, use this code: [img src="url to image"], but replace the [] symbols with <>.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 25 November, 2009 - 15:12
Very nice

I have to say that the A looks particularly good in the Max style paint job and makes me tempted to buy one although I already have a Yamato 1/48 DYRL Hikaru style A.

What someone really needs to is offer/make a 1/60 Zentraedi uniform to put on this Valk. I'd love to have this Valk and display it with a Zentraedi uniform on it, I think it would be a pretty cool touch and be the perfect finishing touch. They also need to offer a 1/60 Macross TV style queadlan rau so you can recreate their famous first fight.

Riceball's picture
Posted by Riceball on 25 November, 2009 - 16:38
First Yamato Valkyrie

This was my first ever Yamato Valkyrie and I love it. It really is an amazing figure.

I recently found out they made a 1/60 VF-1J in Miriya colors and I think I'm going to make that my next Valkyrie. However that means my Max and Miriya won't properly match. Which means I'll have to get the matching VF-1J in Max colors. Ugh. Damn you Yamato.

Slayer1583's picture
Posted by Slayer1583 on 28 November, 2009 - 17:57
First but not the last...

Welcome to toy collecting hell my friend. The toys are real nice here. :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 2 December, 2009 - 03:26
different head than the DYRL version

looks like Yamato uses a different head here than the ones in DYRL Max or Hikaru VF-1A. The cannon is much longer, I think.

slee915's picture
Posted by slee915 on 31 December, 2009 - 03:40
Not quite the first...

Hey guys, I'm coming to this review several months late. Fantastic writeup and pictures! This has always been my favorite paint scheme. Now only if Yamato would produce a TV version of Milia's Q-Rau...

I have one bit of info to add, though. This actually isn't the first official TV Max produced. It is the first transforming version, but Toynami put out a limited edition set of 1000 Macross Superposeables in 2002 that included Max's VF-1A in this TV paint scheme. (Also Kakizaki's brown VF-1A.)

magicsp00n's picture
Posted by magicsp00n on 21 March, 2010 - 17:45
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net