CollectionDX Network

Type-7 Brocken Labor (OVA Version)

Comments

16 comments posted
I do not understand how the

I do not understand how the company that made the Brave Gokin Ingrams can also make these. They must have two different design teams or something. The soft PVC detail and the mold lines are hideous.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 16 November, 2010 - 09:09
yikes

More like Broken Labor, amirite? Think of the resources that went into designing, manufacturing, delivering this thing to market. They had to know it sucked. Like Ben says, It seems like there's a huge disconnect between CM's consistently terrific gokin, and their consistently awful non-gokin product.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 16 November, 2010 - 09:11
I feel your pain...

I'm still recovering from the horrors of MAS GaoGaiGo same problems as the brocken with the added fun of JOINTS BREAKING ALTOGETHER right out of box

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 16 November, 2010 - 10:15
OH MY GOD!!

what a mess of toy, you did well showing this terrible figure, I would never buy somthing like that, if you waste your money, definetly you sacrifice yourself for us!!.

GERCROW's picture
Posted by GERCROW on 16 November, 2010 - 13:34
make good zord fodder

anyway i could get this off you?

jzorn's picture
Posted by jzorn on 16 November, 2010 - 14:21
Bah, nothing worse in toy

Bah, nothing worse in toy collecting than getting a figure that looks fantastic, but falls apart if you so much as touch it. That was my problem with the original MSiA GM figure. I loved it, but it fell apart at the drop of a hat. Worst MSiA I have.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 16 November, 2010 - 15:18
4:32

I almost wish there was an unrated version before you had calmed down. The bit at 4:32 about needing "a screwdriver to stuff all that..." had me almost in tears laughing. Multiple times....I could play it now for the 7seventh time and still laugh. The disgust comes through and rightly so. I've seen nearly all of your reviews and this one is my favorite.

How To Avoid Art's picture
Posted by How To Avoid Art on 16 November, 2010 - 19:33
I appreciate reviews that

I appreciate reviews that help me avoid dodgy toys.... but in this case, me being a Patlabor fan means I'm still interested. Still, I really do hate crappy toys, but since this one looks so cool & I generally only pose & then display my toys in my display cabinets, for the right price he may be worth picking up... especially with the strong aussie dollar at the moment, he, he.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 16 November, 2010 - 20:56
Theory

I got a theory for you Josh, do you think that you've bought a prototype toy that CMs decided not to beta-test it and mass produce it anyway? It's not a far stretch from a possibility.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 17 November, 2010 - 02:50
honestly

Its not a prototype ALL mas are that crappy

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 17 November, 2010 - 04:20
Yes

Yes....of course they are....i guess that's because they're based on a shaky template that probably hasn't been beta-tested. They would've been less crappy in the open market if they're casted out from a second or third template that feels quality confident.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 17 November, 2010 - 23:11
LOL

I have not laughed harder on your video review in a while. Most of the CM's non-metal toys are like that I think. I bought the balking and it was the same way. The toy actually fell apart before I took it out of the box. It was ridiculous and it was $75! I ended up burning it during a camping trip. I stick with the known good brands, Figma, Revoltech, Robot Soul.. haven't had problems with these toys. (My recent purchases of figma has been spotty though, a few of the joints were too tight and the peg ends up breaking when I tried to turn it.) Good luck with the Broken Brocken.. LOL

PowerJuiceIam's picture
Posted by PowerJuiceIam on 17 November, 2010 - 12:20
I got this toy in blue some

I got this toy in blue some years back courtesy of an HLJ sale. Out of the box, trying to move one leg, the joint came loose, causing it to flop and dangle like an eel with a broken spine. Hearing reports of how the parts would disconnect themselves, I thought to myself "I can deal with this" and tried to get it back together, but nothing worked. I ended up shredding the cloth surround on the hips only to discover, no, the parts hadn't simply disconnected - the soft plastic workings of the joints had simply sheared themselves in half when I had attempted to turn the leg.

Broken labor indeed. Even though I managed to get a replacement for the defective piece, I've returned all the parts and the dismembered shambles of the toy to its box where it will someday be given away to an aspiring customizer who doesn't know better, or used as a shim to prop up a piece of furniture. Everything in this review reflects the rage and disappointment this toy inspired in me.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 17 November, 2010 - 14:36
HAH. I hadn't actually had a

HAH. I hadn't actually had a chance to watch the video review for this toy before posting prior; I find myself even more in agreement. The TV version is, in fact, as much a piece of shit as this one is. This toys is probably one of the most loathed figures I own, sadly, considering that the Ingrams (I have three!) are some of the most revered toys in my collection. I really wish this could be a better toy because I love the Brocken, as I love all the mecha designs from Patlabor, but this one really took the cake for its sheer ... incompetence. Procuring this toy after getting one of the CM's ingrams is like ordering dessert after the most succulent filet mignon you've ever tasted and getting a plate of artificial sweetener packets that the chef has taken the time to take a crap on before sending it out to you.

Totally baffling, and utterly demoralizing.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 17 November, 2010 - 22:39
That bad, huh?

that you have to say the S word...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 17 November, 2010 - 20:19
That was too funny

I laughed as hard if not HARDER at a time when of one your staff did the video review for Bandai's similar product of the 1/100 VF from Macross frontier.

NugundamII's picture
Posted by NugundamII on 18 November, 2010 - 14:29
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net