CollectionDX Network

Turn X

Comments

13 comments posted
UNIVERSE!

UNIVERSE!

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 2 November, 2011 - 21:01
Thanks for the review! I

Thanks for the review! I bought the Turn-A, but I've never actually seen the show. Thought it would be cool to get the rival as well, and it honestly looks pretty damn cool!

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 2 November, 2011 - 21:31
Thanks, I'm still trying to

Thanks, I'm still trying to improve the quality of my photos but I'm sure I'll get there eventually. The show is fairly interesting, I would say the premise is the best part but it can be incredibly slow even for a Gundam series. The Turn X is hands down my favorite enemy design though; I've had quite enough of the "bad guy Gundams" with unnecessary pointy bits and useless transformations.

The Galaxy Ranger's picture
Posted by The Galaxy Ranger on 3 November, 2011 - 07:23
X marks the spot!

Great review! I didn't like the Turn-X design a lot at first, though I loved Turn-A Gundam in general, but I had to get this to match beam sabres with the Turn-A and I'm glad I did - in the metal (well, plastic!), I found I actually really liked the design. It reminds me in some ways of the "Elite" designs from the Halo series.

One thing to watch for is that the pistol is incredibly small and does tend to fall out of its holster!

Alexx, Turn-A might not be for everyone but I personally feel its probably Tominos masterpiece - more so than even Gundam Zeta or the original series! It has its issues (Tomino does like to jump around and not explain much), but treated as a pulp-feel science fiction saga, I feel it actually stands up well to many classics of the genre - and I don't just mean in the anime medium, either! It certainly makes for a more interesting, less travelled Gundam road than the efficient but slightly soulless super-highways of recent Gundam series...

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 3 November, 2011 - 14:33
Amazing design, decent figure.

It's a pretty good figure, but I think the design is both its' biggest ally and weakness; the legs are often awkward to pose and frankly, Turn X didn't do much but float around and occasionally Shining Finger stuff so he kinda looks awkward with his weapons.

Couple of corrections - the backpack is removable (if an unnerving exercise) but it's show inaccurate to do so, and the Turn X does break down into almost all the pieces for what's apparently called the 'Bloody Siege' attack... which, uh, still looks like a load of plastic chunks flying around etc.

Spectacular show though; as long as you go in knowing that it's more a historical/steampunk-esque drama and not the traditional OHHHHH PRETTY EXPLOSIONS EARTH'S GRAVITY WEIGHS YOUR SOUL DOWN LOL!!!!! fare, then again Zeta's one of the worst anime I've watched so don't trust me.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 3 November, 2011 - 14:41
I'll wait for a Master Grade

Really, because most people I know (as well as myself)consider Zeta as the best gundam series made so far. You do realize the whole "gravity weighs down your soul" thing is just a metaphor?

Anyway, I should be talking about the toy, not a mostly unrelated series. While I love Turn X's design, the lack of the usual robot spirits fare articulation and effect parts for the shining finger makes me want to wait(hopefully not in vain) for an eventual Master Grade kit release.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 6 November, 2011 - 01:46
yaaaaaay arguing about anime

I get it's a metaphor. It's just Tomino is so incredibly artless with it. People like Ikuhara, Masaki Yuaasa and Sho Aikawa can get away with it because they generally don't hammer it in for 50 episodes, and combine such ruminations on life with intriguing visuals; Zeta instead has two points - the totalitarian Titans are truly terrible and OUR SOUS CANNOT ESCAPE THIS SITUATION that it repeats ad infinitum, stated by contemptable characters who provoke cheering upon their deaths.

Decent soundtrack, though.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 6 November, 2011 - 08:42
Galaxy Ranger- Try using

Galaxy Ranger- Try using multiple light sources for your pictures. It helps a ton in improving the picture quality by reducing those pesky shadows.
Great review by the way! Turn A gundam is one of my favorites. The designs were so funky , but they worked.
Btw, it looks like the Kapool from Turn A is going to be in the 4th Gundam Unicorn OVA.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 3 November, 2011 - 19:20
Capule, not Kapool

The one that will appear in Unicorn 4th OVA is Capule, Neo-Zeon MS from from Gundam ZZ, not Kapool from Turn A. It's just like Zaku II and Borjanon relationship though, so they're actually not very different.

GTG's picture
Posted by GTG on 4 November, 2011 - 00:18
Ah, if only we could know

Ah, if only we could know the story behind that bizarre, arbitrary distinction. Capule is kind of a cooler name anyway.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 4 November, 2011 - 13:52
I always figured it was just

I always figured it was just Sunrise doing their randomly pick English spellings out of a hat trick. With the Borjanon, there was an in-show reason for the name, and despite the slight mechanical differences to the original Zakus I and II, I always figured them to be one and the same. That said, what I didn't get was why the Zssa became the Zssan, but let's face it, Turn A is pretty open to interpretation.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 November, 2011 - 17:21
Cool. I learned something

Cool. I learned something new.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 November, 2011 - 16:49
Nice review. Yeah the Turn X

Nice review. Yeah the Turn X is really one of those figures you buy purely for the design rather than the accessories. Did anyone ever try cramming the beam part from the RD Transam Riser into the open claw to simulate the Turn X's beam saber?

ArshadAA's picture
Posted by ArshadAA on 6 November, 2011 - 04:23
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net