CollectionDX Network

Perfect Grade 00-Raiser

Comments

13 comments posted
BLOG!

I'll mention this here so there's no interfering with the review. I've posted the details of the main building process and show some of the 00-Raiser's unseen details in my blog. Check it out!
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 27 January, 2010 - 12:02
This Gundam

Love it!

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 27 January, 2010 - 13:33
Awesome review. Not my

Awesome review.

Not my top-fav title mobile suit, but a close one. (I find most upgrade backpacks over the years a bit too gimmicky, but usually like the Gundam itself more.)

Not reading your blog(!) in detail, have you done any painting, filling, etc., or is what we see here straight out of the box?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 January, 2010 - 13:58
Painted, Sanded, and Detailed

Its obvious that I did the surface panel lining, but I also did some extra surface painting to much of the indented areas, the clear parts that were not molded in color, and on the inside of some parts that are visibile from outside.

The quality control error I encountered, I had to grind down with a file.

You should check my blog though to see the work I did for the pilot figurines.

-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 27 January, 2010 - 14:26
I'll be blunt

This is nothing more than a 1/60 MG, Bandai have let down the PG brand. I won't recommend this kit to anybody at it's full list price. If you're a fan I'd say get it on sale. I was lucky enough to pick it up as part of the HLJ's Black Friday sale and got it for the equivalent of half what it should have cost me net, that's taking into account discount 25% + free shipping and making it through customs unnoticed! I'd originally cancelled by pre-order on this once the preview kits started showing up in the online news.

The GN drives are awesome, but the gears, which are require, just get in the way of posing. You even have to paint some clear parts to make them accurate to the show. Honestly, I don't think this kit was a good fit for a PG, guess I just love mechanical details in my mechs. Other then the GN drives there's nothing special about this kit.

"The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this to be true." - James Branch Cabell 1926.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 27 January, 2010 - 15:08
Nice review! What a great

Nice review! What a great looking Gundam.

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 27 January, 2010 - 22:13
Can't bring myself to like it.

It's definitely more than just a scaled up MG, but it's not much more than that. Maybe I'm just not as positive about it, but I was pretty disappointed with mine. It simply isn't PG quality. I shudder to think that they'll release a Trans-Am version. Between that and the Quan(T) we might get the first Gunpla you need to take out a second mortgage to buy.
Maybe it's just me, but this model would've been acceptable if it was 18000-20000 yen, not 25000. Not when I can get HGUC Unicorn for 1800 or MG GN-X for 3800. I'd rather spend that money and multiple Gunpla or a high-quality toy or figure.

Val Varo's picture
Posted by Val Varo on 28 January, 2010 - 06:25
This was a gift, but I see your point

A lot of the "MG" comments are points that even I touched on, and felt disappointed with the model on too. However this was a gift, hence the note at the bottom of the review, so there's a level of appreciation to it for me that I don't see anyone else having right now. Especially when it comes to its price and procuring it.
Despite its shortcomings, I'm still impressed that Bandai created it, and even more so pleased with the job I did in building it.
The simple construction scheme that seperates it from the rest of the PG line up was a good pace breaker, since the last time I attempted a PG was the Gundam Mk2 and took a break from it for over a year before I forced myself to complete it.
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 28 January, 2010 - 10:05
Yeah, though it isn't that

Yeah, though it isn't that great, it's much better than the previous 1/100, and it's the best you can get, unless they do a surprise Master Grade. I probably shouldn't be saying much anyways, MGs and HGs are more my bag.
Of course, I don't even know why I get so defensive about the PG line, seeing as how I don't even like it in the first place. XD

Val Varo's picture
Posted by Val Varo on 28 January, 2010 - 17:22
Nah....

While MGs are nce most of them if not all owe their lineage from the PG.The PG's are a great deal for me though as I personally built a Zata PG which took me 3-5 months of building. anyways the MG 00 is bound to happen not a surprise at all come to think of it. What will be a surprise to me is a MG Gundam X/ Double X or a GP01FB ver. 2

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 28 January, 2010 - 18:07
I demand a Jegan and the Powered GM

I'm hoping Unicorn mania continues with the MG Jegan. Its bound to happen.

The PG line is something of an annual project but with the improvements in Master Grade scale's level of inner mechanical design makes the line obsolete and over scaled now.
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 28 January, 2010 - 19:26
Rather than more models, I'd

Rather than more models, I'd like them to re-start the Deluxe-sized figures that they had in the US in the early millennium.

For those who don't know, these were actual pre-assembled 12" toys of Gundams which had fair articulation and unique features each. The weapons, shields, etc. had to be cut from trees and assembled by you, which I loved. I've got the Gundam Full-Burner Zephyranthes(sp?), Gundam Physalis, and Shining Gundam, and I wish I had enough money at the time to get the Sazabi. (The Dragon Gundam- which I owned for all of three days- was crap, and I returned it immediately.)
They were like Perfect Grade-scaled toys, that also had removable armor. Awesome.

I also wouldn't mind some more of the US-exclusive Arch Enemy line. (I only had time to get the Wing Gundam-ZERO Custom, but also wanted the Tallgeese-III.)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 January, 2010 - 19:45
nice but...

doesn't feel the same if you're not building the gundam, that's the appeal of the graded kits and i agree that they should really focus on the kits rather than the figures for gundams

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 28 January, 2010 - 22:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net