CollectionDX Network

Macross Quarter

Comments

62 comments posted
...

"Does make me wonder, where does it put the beam cannon when it needs both hands?"
Vector trap.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 24 March, 2010 - 18:02
GrayFox

Watch the Anime... It's really good stuff.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 24 March, 2010 - 22:29
If cdx ever wanted to become

If cdx ever wanted to become just completely mercenary, every single review would be of an expensive Macross toy the reviewer doesn't like. Nothing generates more conversation.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 24 March, 2010 - 21:29
It's only because we're all

It's only because we're all total jerks.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 24 March, 2010 - 21:38
True! It makes for a good

True!

It makes for a good story to tell the grand kids.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 24 March, 2010 - 22:30
This is one of the reviews

This is one of the reviews where I knew nothing about the anime (I only know the OLD Macross stuff) or the toy, so I was eager to learn about it. And I admit this is the first review that seemed a bit...off? "Total Fail" usually means it falls flat on it's face. But Atom mentions quite a few positive qualities (which others have already quoted). So at worst it's a mixed bag.

Even though I share Atom's take on having a floppy cruiser mode (I would hate that, as I love to "fly" my ships around), using that to kill the entire review shows a lack of objectivity. Sharp bits and a tense transformation notwithstanding (since plenty of other good toys share those shortcomings). Plenty of collectors will never transform this piece. It will sit on the stand in a glass case and look lovely. Or some may transform it once, and leave it in assault mode, again in a glass case. None of those people are "apologists" for liking it, because they are enjoying their purchase. I imagine they would think someone who plays with their $200 collectible is nuts. LOL

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 24 March, 2010 - 23:48
Why buy a toy that you can't play with?

"Plenty of collectors will never transform this piece. It will sit on the stand in a glass case and look lovely. Or some may transform it once, and leave it in assault mode, again in a glass case."

Well...maybe you can claim that this is more of an art piece than a toy, but then you have to ask why there's so much soft-corner thick-wall plastic. If it's just for display and not for play, then why not make everything out of resin and metal?

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 25 March, 2010 - 11:11
I'm with the clay-faced robot

While I like having collectible peices I can display, a certain amount of playability is implied if the blasted thing is a transforming toy: If nothing else, changing between modes (even if one mode is weaker than the other) should be interesting/fun enough to count as an activity beyond the joys of poseing a figure.

With something the size of the Macross Quarter, I'm willing to forgive some lack of poseability: Sheer mass dictates that common toy joints simply couldn't hold that puppy in a super-dynamic Revoltech-style position of arse-whoopery... therefore, we're down to Transformation as play value.

I read the review. I've seen some on Youtube. I am not impressed.

The only reason I MIGHT get this figure is that it looks superbly detailed and gorgeous and that the quarter was awesome in Macross Frontier.

Still, it's clearance sale or bust for this one. I have limited funds and lines/single items I'm more interested and overall pleased with.

Wow, No Quarter AND No VF-25's due to those bad leg designs... Bandai isn't getting much of my money in the Macross Wars.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 25 March, 2010 - 15:34
I'm not saying it was

I'm not saying it was designed solely as an art piece, but you can bet some collectors will treat it that way. It's a $200 spaceship after all. Some guys will look at that price and say, "For that kind of money, it better do it all!" while others will say, "For that kind of money, I don't want to touch the thing!"

Both perspectives are valid. I'm not judging that. But if the latter crowd says it's a nice piece, then they aren't being apologists. Because for them it's a beautiful display piece. The floppiness will never be an issue. :-/

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 25 March, 2010 - 16:23
After read thru so much, I

After read thru so much, I think the biggest problem lies within the very core defintion of a collector.

Do we collect these toys for merely display only or do we actually play with them? (what I meant "play" is actually playing it like a toy when you were a kid. not holding it for 15 to 20 mins and stick it to the box or the cabinet)

If you are like me, who plays with my collection, then this is a piece of item that wouldn't worth the $200 asking price. If you are just displaying this item, then this piece is beauiful. (if that's the case, i would rather buy a poster and paste it in my cabinet.)

Battousai's picture
Posted by Battousai on 29 March, 2010 - 11:04
For $100 and half off EMS

For $100 and half off EMS shipping I'm willing to find out for myself lol

soundwaveca's picture
Posted by soundwaveca on 4 April, 2010 - 13:15
The Last Word on the Macross Quarter

Well I have let this thread run on long enough. While it has been highly entertaining to watch the hardcore Macross nerds react as if I had kicked their puppy it certainly wasn't the reaction I was expecting.

I will get the last word in and lock this thread because it's gone on long enough and there have been some VERY vocal accusations and personal attacks on me that require addressing.

1)This was MY review and MY opinion. That is why I am here doing what I do, to share MY opinion not report a general consensus of what others think. I am happy many feel it was worth the price tag. I did not.

2) The argument that I was biased in some way because it was a review sample is simply stupid. The only thing someone is "guaranteed" when we get a review sample is, is that we will actually review it on the site. I never see anyone jump on Josh's case when he puts up a sponsored review... To quote Josh from a recent blog post...

"It’s no secret that we get a lot of free toys here at CollectionDX. Most of these new High-End items – we don’t pay for. They are often furnished in exchange for a review, but no guarantee is given that it will be a positive review. Sometimes toys are given in lieu of advertising dollars. Regardless of the circumstance of how CDX gets a toy, we pledge to be objective and fair in our reviews."

3) ...which brings me to personal attacks. I am sorry I don't value the same things as you and have a difference of opinion but attacking me on personal levels just discredits anything you will ever say again on this site and is no way to engage someone in conversation.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Social Media Director - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 21 June, 2010 - 21:51
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net