CollectionDX Network

Gattai Yamato

Comments

20 comments posted
That is...

My friend... so freaking cool... Zero that attach to the ship... you can't top that...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 12 October, 2009 - 19:01
I fully agree.

I fully agree.

godsofmetal's picture
Posted by godsofmetal on 13 October, 2009 - 17:18
What an awesome kids toy!

What an awesome kids toy!

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 12 October, 2009 - 21:34
This toy looks fantastic

What's with the photographs? Each one is either shaded pink or teal.

That complaint aside, the toy looks truly funkadelic. I love all the little holes on the side of the ship you can use to assemble the parts in unusual ways.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 12 October, 2009 - 22:18
I apologize for the photos,

I apologize for the photos, my white balance was way off, I've since resolved the problem.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 12 October, 2009 - 22:34
A Model Kit?

A Model kit? I'm in heaven! So much funk, I love it. How much do these sell for?

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 12 October, 2009 - 23:59
Price

It's 3,840 yen at the moment. They also have different kit for the same price that looks just as bizarre.

Model kits really aren't my thing, but I am tempted...

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 13 October, 2009 - 12:32
Looks good and fun

This is one of those kits I would build right out of the box, too many cool gimmicks!

Sometimes that is the problem with building some of these old kits, should one build them with all the gimmicks or should a modeler upgrade and make it what it should have been. I mostly have these problems with the kits that came out of the 60's and 70's but this kit screams build me out of the box.

Super cool review! Thanks for turning me on to this kit, I will keep my eyes open for this one.

Cheer!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 13 October, 2009 - 13:07
If there is a kit I would

If there is a kit I would suggest to build straight-from the-box and not to bother about painting, then this is the one! Never take a toy like this 'monstrosity' seriously. And another thing, don't even bother to 'upgrage' this toy. Upgrade to what?! To a non-scale bright orange Space Battleship Yamato?! This toy looks more like a carnival float or a parody of Yamato but all in all it looks like a very cool toy kit to kill time during cold winter evenings.

godsofmetal's picture
Posted by godsofmetal on 13 October, 2009 - 17:28
Hey Leonardo, If you

Hey Leonardo,
If you liked this kit you will definitely dig my next review of Aoshima's Gattai Tiger Shark. It's another way to funky to build realistic kit.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 13 October, 2009 - 17:37
Wild

I was checking out the other kits in the series but I missed the Tiger Shark! Wow, I dig on that one even more! That entire series is wild, very cool!

Many of the kits from the 60's and 70's, in both the US and Japan, were toy model kits. The kids can build them but have some play value with the kit after they are through. While these are obvious in their toy form when one is through, its those 60's & 70's Thunderbirds, Mazinger, Ultraman and Kaiju kits with their wind up engines, shooting missiles, cardboard cutouts and bonus figures. They are close to being straight model kit of the subject if it wasn't some huge wind up engine or some funky gimmick. I'm building a 70's Bandai Brain Condor where the shape is great but it has a huge plastic block underneath it for where the wind up engine was suppose to be put. I opted to chop the block off and reshape it but I'm keeping the shooting missiles.

Cheers,
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 13 October, 2009 - 18:01
This isn't strictly speaking

This isn't strictly speaking a 'model' kit. It's more of a toy kit.

godsofmetal's picture
Posted by godsofmetal on 13 October, 2009 - 17:20
Yikes!

It's cool and freaky looking all at the same time.

Lorddremen's picture
Posted by Lorddremen on 13 October, 2009 - 14:00
Ooh- updated with new photos!

Ooh- updated with new photos!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 13 October, 2009 - 14:09
Redhawk

I freaking love this. Here's WAY more info on this series: http://www.starblazers.com/html.php?page_id=209

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 13 October, 2009 - 15:51
Atlanger

I never heard about Atlanger... Anybody have any info about it?

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 13 October, 2009 - 19:00
Atlanger (Atoranger)

Never seen the show, but the robot is a very popular knockoff choice among junior machinders. Looks like it's got some serious FUNK to offer though! This thing is fantastic! Great review, Dan!

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 October, 2009 - 21:54
Atoranger doesn't have a

Atoranger doesn't have a show. It's basically an Aoshima created Mazinger knockoff. Atoranger does show up in the Playstation game "70's Robot Anime Geppy-X" which a shoot 'em up where the playable characters are based on Super Robots. The titular Geppy-X is the Getter Robo type.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 13 October, 2009 - 22:23
This thing is pretty

This thing is pretty awesome. I love how it seperates into several different.....um....pieces of a ship?

I miss when toys were toys. I mean,can you imagine if you got say,the Batmobile from Dark Knight and it was bright orange? Or if you got the new Enterprise and the ass end seperated and became a formula F-1 car and the front became half a robot? It would never happen,due to the market catering more to collectors than kids.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 October, 2009 - 19:40
True...

The times where toys are mend to be fun, not depend on it's hyper articulation, metal parts and ultra detail...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 14 October, 2009 - 18:58
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net