CollectionDX Network

Ex-Gear (Alto Saotome)

Comments

13 comments posted
What would really make this

What would really make this figure perfect would be realistic hair and a sound box featuring clips from the series.

MICHEEEEL!!! LUKAAAAAA! RANKAAAAA!

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 16 December, 2009 - 17:07
An emergency escape pod that

An emergency escape pod that does not transform into a space fighter? Don't think I've ever heard of that before, but it certainly sound refreshing.
So the Messiahs are slave-labor robots that mimic the movements of the pilot like the VF-2SS is, rather than the typical sit-in-a-seat-and-move-levers-and-foot-petals design they used for the VF-1 through -19 Valkyries?

Q: is the figure proportioned to the armor, or properly the way around?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 December, 2009 - 17:29
Nope.

No, Valkyrie control is still joysticks and buttons. The Ex-Gear just transforms into a cockpit with joysticks and crap.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 16 December, 2009 - 17:58
Sweet!

Can't wait for the 1:8 scale VF-25 to put him in!

:D

Tardbot5000's picture
Posted by Tardbot5000 on 16 December, 2009 - 19:38
Eva,if you haven't seen this

Eva,if you haven't seen this show,you should definately check it out. This is probably the best mecha show this decade,maybe excepting Diebuster. I know I'm going to get flamed for this by someone,but I honestly feel that while Gurren Lagann is a good show,it's a little overrated,and Macross F should be more recognised. Just my opinion,but at any rate it's worth watching.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 December, 2009 - 22:19
...What?

Macross F: Best Mecha Show of the Decade? Are we all of a second ignoring Turn A Gundam, RahXephon, Kotetsushin Jeeg, Mazinkaiser and Overman King Gainer? Admittedly, two of those are very subjective (Jeeg and Gainer) but seriously? I try not to RAAAAAAAGE often, but there's way better stuff. Firstly, EVA has to watch Timeranger!

Watch Timeranger. Watch Timeranger. Watch Timeranger. Watch Timeranger.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 17 December, 2009 - 05:54
Wow! This is a cool looking

Wow! This is a cool looking figure!

I still have not seen Macross Frontier, but that suit looks really awesome.

Also, this line seems ideal for doing really good (and readily available) Bubblegum Crisis figures.

REX-203's picture
Posted by REX-203 on 17 December, 2009 - 00:33
nice review and pictures! I

nice review and pictures! I have this too and I like it even though I have not seen the show. unfortunately I have huge hands so when I tried fiddling with separating the two chest piece halves to take the armor off, I snapped one of the tabs off. I fixed it by drilling out the tab spot then filling it with epoxy and the placing the remaining tab piece in. Worked like a charm. Just be careful when securing and removing the armor. Make sure figure is seated correctly. Mine also had a floppy wing :(

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 17 December, 2009 - 11:28
I have to

take issue with the best mecha show of the decade bit, too. IMHO it's not even the best show of the past couple years. Gundam 00 would take that honor.

fujikuro's picture
Posted by fujikuro on 17 December, 2009 - 15:28
.. and I take issue...

.. with all of you saying Macross Frontier isn't the best Mecha Show in recent years. :) Taste is subjective.

Gundam? Not good enough to stick to the bottom of my shoe. Just an FYI. :P

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 17 December, 2009 - 15:31
It's not a Gundam!

If you haven't watched Turn A Gundam yet, I highly suggest you do. The best thing about it is that it isn't a Gundam series, more like a random Tomino show Sunrise slapped the brand on to. I suggest you don't watch it if you aren't confident in your sexuality, though.

Damn you, Laura!

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 17 December, 2009 - 16:08
If you pop the shoulder pads

If you pop the shoulder pads off the Alto figure, you can get a bit more shoulder articulation for the arms.

VF19's picture
Posted by VF19 on 17 December, 2009 - 20:43
Nice review, too good...

Review is better than the toy.
Ill start by saying I've never watched the shows (I'm sure I've seen a few but never followed).
I saw this figure and liked the idea of a figure with armor suit that can fly. What's not to like right?!

I started putting this guys armor on and it was a mess. Some parts are too tight others too loose. To be honest I didn't even finish before I said fk it and put the few pices I removed back in the package. I will try again, but my point is I was disappointed. I'm also amazed that Atom got the pics look so good, I hope I can manage to get mine together to put him in my display case.

I just opened him last night so I am still a little heated while i write. Ill be sure to update this if/when I get back to him. If I dont sell him. (If anyone's interested let me know)

Demonseed's picture
Posted by Demonseed on 11 January, 2013 - 18:01
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net