CollectionDX Network

Dygenguar & Aussenseiter

Comments

16 comments posted
I love this set. I was a bit

I love this set. I was a bit apprehensive when the price was first announced, but ended up getting it at full retail anyway. The quality of the finish and feel of the pieces really cannot be overstated - It just feels awesome holding and moving Dygengaur's joints, and even though it's a fairly lithe design it has a good amount of heft and feels very solid.

I really knew that someone had given serious thought to the design of these figures when I realized that DGG had a ratcheting joint on his forearm swivel to help prevent his arm twisting under the weight of his swords. I don't think I've EVER seen a forearm swivel ratchet on a figure before.

It's cool to see this review on CDX even though I already own the figures and don't need further convincing of them ;).

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 15 October, 2009 - 14:27
Whew

Now THAT was a review!! *pant*

Awesome.

Tardbot5000's picture
Posted by Tardbot5000 on 15 October, 2009 - 15:14
epic is right! Love the

epic is right! Love the photos (I need to learn how to do black with a shiny base).

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 15 October, 2009 - 15:42
Sorry to nitpick, but as I

Sorry to nitpick, but as I am an avid Super Robot Wars fan, I have to point out several things:

The Daigenguar's three blades are actually, within fiction, only one: the Zankantou. It's made out of liquid metal (?) and can assume any shape.

Within the games, it has four main attacks:

* Zankantou: Denkousekka (sword pic #4, thin blade)

* Zankantou: Daisharin (sword pic #3, curved blade)

* Zankantou: Raikou-giri (sword pic #2, medium-sized blade)

* Zankantou: Unyou no Tachi (sword pic #1, the BIG-ASS blade, often has Daigenguar's mouth open)

Plus, it had three other attacks it rarely uses:

* Dynamic Knuckle (Rocket Punch type, but I assume this isn't replicatable)

* General Blaster (Beam attack from the shoulders)

* Guardian Sword (Sword kept within Daigenguar's shins, you mistakenly have Aussenseiter holding it, Josh.)

Aussenseiter, meanwhile, has three attacks:

* Schuterplatte (Shoulder plate in German, those round disk things on the robot)

* Lanzekanone (Lance Cannon in German, only one is used)

* Sturm Angriff (Storm Attack in German, uses both Lanzekanone)

Both robots are able to combine, yes, so as to replicate the two's synchro attack, Tatsumaki Zankantou.

Again, sorry for the nitpicking.

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 15 October, 2009 - 17:02
No, please, nitpick away.

No, please, nitpick away. I've never watched the show, so in this case I was in the dark about what a lot of the attacks are and such. In regards to the other attacks, if the toy doesn't do them, I don't usually mention them.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 15 October, 2009 - 23:10
Well, in this case, it's not

Well, in this case, it's not from a show, it's from a video game franchise.

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 16 October, 2009 - 06:44
Droooool

So cool! I wish I could get into SOC.

Kenny G's picture
Posted by Kenny G on 15 October, 2009 - 18:28
I was gonna nitpick...

But Yuushafan pretty much hit every nail dead center. All I have to add is that you sound awful tired Josh, specially in the first part. Is it just me, or have you been pullin' some all nighters?

Mechaninja's picture
Posted by Mechaninja on 15 October, 2009 - 21:19
yeah, a bit tired, but I was

yeah, a bit tired, but I was really just anticipating the work involved with covering this.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 15 October, 2009 - 23:08
BTW

angloz has it on sale for 197 plus 48 dollar shipping

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 15 October, 2009 - 21:22
Daikyojin

I guess I am somewhat of a robot purist (just a little) because this looks way too busy for me. I really only like the heads of the robots. I can barely tell what I am looking at here. Just too much going on with the design to interest me at this pricepoint. I'll stick with my CSG-04 Daikyojin!!!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 16 October, 2009 - 14:30
I got my Gx-46 Dygenguar &

I got my Gx-46 Dygenguar & Aussenseiter set today and so far I am digging it! Aussenseiter turned out to be a tad smaller than I thought he would be. For so reason I was under the illusion because he turned into a horse, he would be much larger then Dygenguar.
-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 16 October, 2009 - 16:06
Great review

Awesome review! So detailed, so objective and factual. Great pictures and footage as well. The engineering on these toys is magnificent. I have still not got so many toys I want. I guess I will add this one to the list. I need to get an SOC Gunbuster. Ever since I saw Josh B's review of that toy I have wanted it. Well this month my toy money is taken by credit card payments, getting a timing belt in my car with 180,000 miles on it and cutting down a huge dead tree that I don't want to hit my house. Will I ever get to buy toys again? Donations accepted in the form of cash money and toys :->

There are few people on the net who's reviews and opinions I pay closer attention to than Josh B's regarding cool toys. You da man!

robomatt's picture
Posted by robomatt on 18 October, 2009 - 22:45
How sharp are those swords?

How sharp are those swords?

Decade010's picture
Posted by Decade010 on 19 October, 2009 - 08:20
Just got me one!!!

The power of an awesome anime (SRWOG: The Inspectors) and the excellent reviews by JoshB and Gold from Robot-Japan just changed the mind of the most stubborn Super Robot fan ever... I just dropped $260 on my own GX-46!!!

Gosh I love that show!!!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 4 February, 2011 - 00:50
This is still a dream of mine

This is still a dream of mine to have however it's too far for my wallet to reach. LOL.

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 17 November, 2012 - 07:56
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net