CollectionDX Network

DX Samurai Kyojin Mogyudai-Oh

Comments

13 comments posted
Its a hot mess.

I always question the "cluster fuck" feature of the current super sentai series. Not only does it look ugly but removes the joy out of playing and fiddling. Its just one piece of technicolored brick. I do own (and love) a DX Shinken-oh but I won't go to get the other components.

To quote Christian Siriano of Project Runway: "Its a hot mess. It's a tranny mess."

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 11 April, 2013 - 23:15
This series was fantastic

This series was fantastic (the japanese version), one of my favourites. Unfortunately the robots ended up a cluster fuck. I only collect the candy toy versions of the sentai robots (better on pocket and shelf space) and its the same.
I keep the main guys separate. Having 3 cool looking robots is better than a brick.

eitlobsaboo's picture
Posted by eitlobsaboo on 12 April, 2013 - 04:31
The candy toys are awesome

Not only do the candy toys have tons of articulation (usually--I don't know why the Kyoryuger candy toys don't have elbows when they could work an extending joint), but common peg sizes mean that you can create your own cool combos. I was able to make a "Mogyu Daikai-Oh", for instance, leaving out Shinken-Oh entirely.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 12 April, 2013 - 16:07
Awesome mess

Got the whole set all at once a few months ago and I love it despite the drawbacks. The fact that it's so ridiculously over the top is why that mess is so awesome.

megatroptimus's picture
Posted by megatroptimus on 12 April, 2013 - 11:04
I do wish that Bandai would

I do wish that Bandai would create DX versions of the candy toys.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 12 April, 2013 - 20:24
I'm surprised...

I'm surprised that EVA didn't completely rip-out the toy (I was expecting him to say that we should avoid it like the plague).

I'm glad I've ditched Deluxe Super Sentai robots for Soul of Chogokin robots. PLEX designs lately tend to be ridiculous and over-reliance of gimmicks that blows. SOC prices does hurt the wallet but without the regrets once you've played with them.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 19 April, 2013 - 02:56
I spent two years ripping

I spent two years ripping them. Isn't that enough??? O_o

What I said was, avoid getting the DX Mogyudai-Oh UNLESS you want to make the Samurai Ha-Oh combination. It is overpriced, lacking in fun, has crap gimmicks, and is way too big for what it offers up. Beyond that cluster-**** combo, it IS a piece of crap!

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 April, 2013 - 11:34
Yeh I agree with that. By

Yeh I agree with that. By itself its just really boring. simple transformation that takes seconds and the motorised features are a joke. I only got it because it was 2000yen. It becomes fun when you put together the Samurai Haoh (no matter what one may think of the final combination, I still think its fun to put together) but that requires owning like every otther toy from this DX line. I was already wanting to complete Daikai Shinkenou anyway so I didnt mind forking out a little more to get the big clusterfuck. But on its own Mogyudaioh is really boring.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 30 April, 2013 - 14:56
it's a brick, and i like it

it's a brick, and i like it ;) ha-oh is one of the most intimidating pieces of plastic i have ever seen. but this mech also looks good standing next to his origamie brothers

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 21 April, 2013 - 13:36
I really do not like that the

I really do not like that the leg is just one big piece that can't be separated. although the US Samurai version is separated, it looks weird. looks like after this samurai ha-oh, you won't be reviewing the other giant mecha from go-onger (which is G12).

lpoi's picture
Posted by lpoi on 26 May, 2013 - 04:13
No, I am not reviewing

No, I am not reviewing Kyouretsu-Oh.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 May, 2013 - 13:25
contact button on your

contact button on your profile doesn't work, so i'm doing it this way. I remember reading somewhere that you also have a DX Revolver Mammoth from the hurricanger line. If so, do you have any plans to review it for CDX? I'm interested in getting one someday and would like to hear your opinion on it first.

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 16 August, 2013 - 23:54
Yeah, this is not the best it could have been

The lack of a thigh gap and so much as a G1 Jazz-style slide-separation for the legs is unacceptable. Especially the lack of a thigh gap. Even freakin' Pyramidas had a halfway-decent attempt at a thigh gap, and it formed the ultimate combo by having the Zords loaded into its back! As are the tabs in the fists. And the lack of wrist swivels, though then again that's sadly par for the course as far as DX Sentai Mecha go.

That black bar between the arms? It's kinda there to give the effect of a yoke, but mainly it's simply to help the arms stay together and thus stay on better.

As for the clusterfuck base, what it is is an ornate, winged mobile throne, with a cannon in the headrest, and Kame and Saru acting as the back feet. They also act as sort of detachable subunits that can disconnect to harry the monster and give the rest of the machine a better shot, which is a neat idea. I think that's the best way to look at it, personally.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 18 June, 2013 - 00:52
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net