CollectionDX Network

DX Samurai Gattai Shinken-Oh

Comments

33 comments posted
China or Thailand?

Nice, indepth review. Was it not so long that many of the 'Zords' featured die-cast? I have noticed, at least for the Power Rangers line, that some (Zords) are made in Thailand and some China. The China-born Power rangers/Sentai toys have a much lower quality standard. It would seem they're on thier way to Suckville if the quality keeps getting worse.

Kenny G's picture
Posted by Kenny G on 23 October, 2009 - 21:20
Thank you! Die-cast

Thank you!

Die-cast content has been lacking for some years now- more-or-less since 2002 for "Ninpuu Sentai Hurricanger"; and 2003's "Power Rangers Ninja Storm" didn't have any at all in the zords since it was all replaced with plastic. In place of this, they've been using more shiny plastic (the reflective stuff is called...?) and paint.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 October, 2009 - 22:41
If any thing screams "I am a

If any thing screams "I am a Japanese TOY!", this is certainly it. Hehehe.
I didn't even know these existed, don't know how I missed it at TRU, or wherever.
Everybody's grumping they don't make gimmick filled toys, but here is a really neat gimmick. Nice alt mode in the symbol block "Emblem" mode.

Great photos, and review as usual EVA, and more succinct than previous entries. Nice job.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 23 October, 2009 - 23:33
Thank you! Yeah, other

Thank you!

Yeah, other than lack of posing for the individual Origami and the usual in combo form, the biggest hindrance to this set is its price- $86! That, I think, is way too expensive, even for a triple-changer.

And it indeed has its own style unique to Super Sentai, like the MagiKing did, which- admittedly- I liked a lot more than this one. It retains the thickly-armored appearance of its peers, but does it in its own way with sharp angles and corners.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 October, 2009 - 00:42
this is one of the first

this is one of the first Sentai figures I've considered picking up in a long time. The design is unique and serious attention was paid to the gattai proportions. I'll probably buy the J. version, but I'll wait to see the level of bastardization BA inflicts.

Thorough review, and good pics.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 24 October, 2009 - 10:30
No Power Rangers for you!

I forgot to mention it above, but since someone finally brought it up...

There will not be a bastardization of this guy. Or any other "Shinkenger" toy, for that matter.

In 2010, Disney and Bandai America are planning to revisit MMPR season 1 with brand new toy lines, and a full rebroadcast of the classic debuting series!

It is very clear now that with all of the Japanese cultural references- the extensive use of kanji for summoning weapons & Origami, the design of the suits, the appearance of the Gedoushuu & Ayakashi [monsters], etc., that it would be very difficult to incorporate "Shinkenger" generically into an Americanized series.

. . .

What is coming for the Super Sentai Series, however, seems to be a return to the status quo. The recently-titled "Tensou Sentai Goseiger" is rumored to have a playing card-based theme, though other rumors suggest a return to a space theme like the earlier "Denji Sentai MegaRanger" (1997).
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 October, 2009 - 13:02
I remember "Gosei Sentai

I remember "Gosei Sentai DaiRanger" (1993) meant "Five-star Taskforce Chi-Rangers". The limited artwork I've seen of the new team makes me thing they're translated as "(???) Taskforce Star-Rangers".

Supposedly, they can mode-change regularly in the series from the start, but what that means isn't clear to me yet.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 October, 2009 - 15:04
I'm pretty sure that

I'm pretty sure that Dairanger meant "Great Ranger". Ki (気) was the source of their powers, but the kanji doesn't ever read as dai.

Tensou (天装) roughly translates as "Heavenly Clothing". As for Goseija that's anybody's guess. It could be a Japanese word (in which case you can't definitely say the meaning without the kanji), a pun on an English word (or words) that isn't immediately obvious, or even both of those at the same time.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 25 October, 2009 - 14:31
Even though I've only seen

Even though I've only seen the first subbed episode of "DaiRanger" I knew ki was the source of their powers. Not very often in the Super Sentai Series does the source of the rangers' powers get mentioned in the title of the show.

"Heavenly clothing", huh? Well, I guess that nails-down the mode-shifting concept AND the space-theme. Only reason I suggested "Star Ranger" was because of the title of "Gosei Sentai DaiRanger", which I understood to mean "Five-star".
Other than "-ger", I don't see any English pun in the name.

(Whew- one of the concepts for my own original Super Sentai Series was going to be called "Galaxy-armored Taskforce StarRanger". Good thing I changed the concept, or I woulda been pissed about the name of this new series! Currently, I'm brainstorming for a story called "Gaia Sentai RyuRanger".)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 October, 2009 - 15:07
Can't say I can see an

Can't say I can see an credible English pun in there either.
However after a year of learning Japanese I do know that katakana (the Japanese script used to write foreign words) can be very tricky. Sometimes you can't tell what a word's supposed to be until you say it out loud, other times it's not even obvious then.

For instance, and I seriously doubt it is, "Goseiger" could be "Five Sage Rangers"

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 25 October, 2009 - 15:41
Oh, no- I wasn't implying it

Oh, no- I wasn't implying it was "Five-Star Ranger"! I just know that the romanji "sei" usually appears when the word "star" is in the vicinity.
Ex: "Gosei Sentai DaiRanger" (Five-star Taskforce Great-Rangers), "Seijuu Sentai Gingaman" (Star-beast Taskforce Galaxy-Men). ;)

And I don't know Japanese.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 October, 2009 - 15:46
No you are right there.

No you are right there. Sorry I'm probably coming across a lot worse than I sound inside my own head.
In theory I'm trying to be helpful and provide some background into the language so people can possibly sort of understand how these things work, in practice I'm probably sounding like just another idiot on the internet who knows a little Japanese and therefore thinks he's waaaaaay better than everybody else.

Trust me that's the last thing I'd ever want to be.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 25 October, 2009 - 16:01
No offense taken. We're

No offense taken. We're sorting this out, is all, and making sure we're being clear to each other.

You know Japanese. So by default you are waaaaaay better than me.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 October, 2009 - 16:24
I'm not really up to date on

I'm not really up to date on my sentai news, could you point me to where I could see whatever's known about the upcoming series?

This review pretty much exemplifies the small issues this thing has and what it shines at, cool stuff.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 26 October, 2009 - 23:13
Well, here's the thing: Toei

Well, here's the thing: Toei (who produces the Super Sentai Series) and Bandai (who makes and markets the toy lines) are in the process of filling for the trademarks and copyrights to the newest series. (It's usually around this time of year that they do this anyways, September to October.) From second-hand news, the claims say the paperwork marks the new series as "Tensou Sentai Goseiger". (I found out the title through Wikipedia's entry on the Super Sentai Series.)

Now, as to the themes that will be used, I got my info from simply browsing Google and Yahoo with searches like "2010 Super Sentai", etc., and I get various fan boards [in English] on the matter.
Sometimes, I get heads-up from my browsing through the Thai-speaking Thai-Toku.com and picking-up on English words in the headers in their forums. (I can't get any auto-translation service to work reliably in there, so skimming in my only way.)

The real money on the newest series and images of the toys will not come until around November, when Bandai is obligated to post their wares to various Japanese toy magazines and corporate heads, and Toei's patents have been approved.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 October, 2009 - 01:47
errors

I noticed you don't watch Shinkenger well; I caught 2 mistakes:

1) I thought the 1st Shinkengers were 18 generations ago, not 13
2) "Kami" means "god", not "turtle"; "Kame" means "turtle"

ProjectW's picture
Posted by ProjectW on 24 October, 2009 - 13:13
1) Oh, maybe it was 18.

1) Oh, maybe it was 18. And, yes- I do watch the series.
2) Ah-ha, so that's the difference! I saw it written either way in stores and resource sites, so I just picked one and ran with it. Okay, I have corrected that for the text above.

Thank you much!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 October, 2009 - 13:21
The pedant in me also wants

The pedant in me also wants to note that it's technically hiden shield, and by extension discs, rather than "hidden". The Japanese word hiden basically means secret, I guess it's often a pun that it could also mean hidden. They use it in the Pokemon games too, where hiden machines in the Japanese versions get translated into hidden machines in the English.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 25 October, 2009 - 14:39
Yeah, I kinda figured it

Yeah, I kinda figured it went back-and-forth like that, but I wondered if someone had made a typo somewhere.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 October, 2009 - 15:00
Nice review, EVA. I really

Nice review, EVA. I really like the look of this toy. I just hate how his sword is worn "upside-down" when not in use! ;)

One nitpick: are you sure it's the river, "Sanuz"? In Japanese Buddhism, the river, Sanzu, is the river of the dead...akin to the Styx in Greek mythology.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 29 October, 2009 - 21:03
The DaiShinken won't fit any

The DaiShinken won't fit any other way on the left hip; the raised surfaces along the hollow left side won't permit it.

Aww- I musta typed it in wrong. Yes, it's meant to be "Sanzu"... but I was going off of the TV Nihon sub [as so many seem to think Wikipedia is full of crap].
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 October, 2009 - 22:09
God Folding Spirit?!

Sorry for waiting so long before replying; didn't know anyone saw. The Kami Origami thing, I was wanting to let you know that when you said "Kami Origami" for a turtle, you were calling it the, literally, "God Folding Spirit".

ProjectW's picture
Posted by ProjectW on 25 May, 2011 - 12:08
My apologies, but I cannot

My apologies, but I cannot pronounce Japanese well at all; I can only attempt mimicry of what I hear in the show and take guesses with Engrish. There was an apparent subtlety in pronunciation between "kame" and "kami" that I missed, so... ^^;

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 May, 2011 - 19:00
Very nice review, I liked

Very nice review, I liked shinkenOh a lot, and will probably get it.
at some poing in the video review you were woried about this becoming the second coming of the ClusterF*ck.
Not exactly but quite close, It reminds me more of the zords in hurricanger

I think all these have been introduced in the show by now and there even a bigger mode with the monkey and turtle origami attached by the side of the legs

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/8971/1242650612285.jpg

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 24 October, 2009 - 13:50
The picture you have there

The picture you have there is of the 9-part Daikai Shinken-Oh.

The new DX Mougyudai-Oh (sp?) is an oxen with a cart behind it. That means there's a final combo- the Samurai Ha-Oh, which is a 10-component mecha (the one with the Kame and Saru Origami on the legs). That will be the immovable Cluster-fk Megazord we're waiting for, and basically looks like a mecha standing on an ornamental throne.

It's a good bet right now I'm not gonna get the DX DaiKai-Oh, Mougyudai-Oh, or accessory Daigoyou. Like the Kyouretsu-Oh from last year, none of their modes or the final combo(s) are worth me investing another $200+ into them, so someone else will have to do them.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 October, 2009 - 15:01
Samurai Ha-Oh is 11 Piece Gattai not 10

I refer to the above reply about the 10 piece gattai of Samurai Ha-Oh. If you count it right, you actually have 11 pieces for Samurai Ha-Oh. 5 from Shinken-Oh, 3 for DaiTenkuu, 2 for Ika DaiKaiOh and 1 for Mogyu Dai-Oh. That means, Shinkenger didn't break Go-Onger's record YET. However, I do feel a little annoyed on DaiGoYou being so separate. It isn't like Go-Roader from Go-Onger where it poses together. I don't think Samurai Ha-Oh will need DaiGoYou for any finisher (I hope they do in the future). For me, I already have all the pieces except Kyoryu and DaiGoYou so, the Mogyu is something just awaiting my purchase.

I would say that Shinken-Oh does have its bad points and the DaiTenkuu sets are released to counter that main bad point, the soft backbone of Shishi origami in gattai mode. Shinken-Oh is not your average little kid's toy where you can swing around and bash it. The backbone might fall and fold down and hurt your finger if you don't play with it carefully. I won't elaborate further on what the DaiTenkuu sets gave to improve that flaw but all I know is, even the Ika origami has it.

Hopefully I am getting the Mogyu to make Ha-Oh just in case Bandai HK doesn't import them over here to Malaysia.

redracer2004's picture
Posted by redracer2004 on 24 October, 2009 - 21:35
Good review. I agree there

Good review. I agree there should be a little more flexibility in the zords. I noticed with MogyuDai Oh they could have put a little more work in the joints, the arms don't bend at all except the sholder. I have been disappointed with the entire Shinkenger line. In my view, they have decided to go away from making toys to plastic statues. My nieces and nephews disliked the entire line because they could not "morph" them easily. This line was actually worse than RPM.

Lio_Convoy's picture
Posted by Lio_Convoy on 7 November, 2009 - 14:15
I'm inclined to think of it

I'm inclined to think of it this way: the poseability has been consistently dull over Super Sentai's entire 33-year history, with a few notable exceptions. However, even though the designs get more intricate and gimmicky over time, the poseability is really the only thing that hasn't caught up with the rest. Many opportunities presented themselves for poseable legs, and it didn't happen; even more-so with the neck & elbows.

I wonder if PLEX isn't somehow trying to keep an 'old-school' feel by intentionally limiting the articulation... but then that would be contrary to all the evolution that everything else has gone through. One of the biggest hindrances, IMO, is the accessory-upgrade mecha- so much money is put into them that the basics are being pushed aside now, and a lot of people seem to be sharing that opinion now.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 7 November, 2009 - 15:27
If you're looking for

If you're looking for articulation then the miniplas are great. only problem is that you either sticker them up or paint them. I have the Shinkenoh minipla and its got great articulation.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 18 November, 2009 - 18:02
I've known about the

I've known about the Miniplas and Candy Toys for some time now. I just wish Bandai would transfer that great articulation over to the DX-sized stuff!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 November, 2009 - 18:11
Agreed. But would they be

Agreed. But would they be able to pose with all that weight? They're quite heavy especially when they fully combine.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 19 November, 2009 - 07:13
This is guy is my sentai

This is guy is my sentai grail. I'm currently saviing up for Daikai and daigouyo(which i found for 1500 yen each n_n)this guy is still alittle to pricey but one day...

Great review by the way. are you still looking for the other origami? there easy to get through middleman(men?) services.

BigTransFan's picture
Posted by BigTransFan on 1 May, 2010 - 20:44
Deluxe ShinkenOh is 10 Times

Deluxe ShinkenOh is 10 Times cooler than the Power Rangers Samurai version of Samurai Megazord because the Power Rangers version has size differences, colour changes and the only Folding Zord that transforms into an Origami Emblem form is the Turtle and the Blue Dragon Folding Zord has a Katana sword as its tail which I find real UN-COOL.

What do you recon?

Optimus Convoy 1984's picture
Posted by Optimus Convoy 1984 on 17 November, 2012 - 12:12
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net