CollectionDX Network

THE BIG O

Comments

12 comments posted
this is a great toy. I

this is a great toy. I usually think the SOC's come with too much kibble, but Big O feels a little anemic to me. Bandai obviously split up the intended accessories, maybe to make the base figure more palatable, which is fine. But they couldn't include Roger's car? I'd pay an extra nickel for the car. However, Big O is one of my favorite robots of all time, and I'm just happy to have a sweet gokin of him. Terrific review!

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 19 December, 2009 - 14:38
I have to agree, This set

I have to agree, This set should have atleast included Rogers car... Maybe they will release a with everything included in the future. Knowing Bandai, they probably will.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 19 December, 2009 - 14:41
I really would love to Big

I really would love to see Big O's nemesis, Big Duo done in the SOC treatment, However I doubt that will ever happen.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 19 December, 2009 - 14:44
I haven't handled this in

I haven't handled this in person, but after reading this review a few thoughts come to mind:

1. The pistons in the arms BEG to be metal, yet they are not.
2. The expanding chest gimmick could have totally been built in, the parts swapping seems like a cop-out
3. I really, REALLY hate that you need to get the chains and weapon effects separately, as an exclusive. That will add over $100 to the price of this figure, which in my mind is totally unacceptable.

Otherwise, though it looks really nice.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 19 December, 2009 - 15:31
agree big time

like the chains and car add on but have seen for almost equal to what I paid for the figure...which for some chains and couple of translucent fist and a little black car is totally unacceptable...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 19 December, 2009 - 22:29
Right now I hate all the

Right now I hate all the collectors who can afford this toy. Big O is one of my favourite robot series in anime and a great example of retro-futuristic mechas in prime shape. So it's only logical that I want one, just like I want a Yamato's VF-1S... Eh, good to have dreams, right? :P

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 19 December, 2009 - 18:24
I too own this figure (and

I too own this figure (and will own the Expansion Parts set as well as soon as it ships out to me from Japan!) and love it to death. Far and away the best Big-O ever made.

That said, I would've liked to see the "articulated" hands feature fully articulated fingers instead of only bending at the knuckles. I also found that the figure requires a surprising amount of force to swap the hands.

Releasing the whole damn thing together would've been nice too, but being the poor, pathetic little man that I am, I reluctantly caved and splurged on the Expansion Parts set when the preorder came around, fearing that its value would only go up once the orders were closed.

The Big-O is one of my favorite mecha ever, and one of my favorite mecha shows, so you can bet that I'm very excited to finally be "completing" this excellent Soul of Chogokin release. While I think the shenanigans with breaking up the parts will keep most casual mecha and gokin fans away, I really do hope the big (har har) fans of the show like me will have soldiered ahead and given this guy a place in their collection.

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 19 December, 2009 - 23:08
Hi delta7890. I agree with

Hi delta7890. I agree with you on the hand swap. Most likely due to the piston gimmick that allows the peg to recede into the forearm. I have also noticed that on my figure, the waist is very hard to turn from side to side. I actually thought it might break when I first tried to move it.

elliotbaltazar's picture
Posted by elliotbaltazar on 22 December, 2009 - 19:43
Excuse Me Everyone, What About..... THE MAN?

Err... excuse me everyone. Haven't you guys forgotten somebody significant that makes this piece worth the 169$ sale?

I'm talking about The Big's pilot...

Roger Smith... THE MAN.

Just think about this for a moment; what good is this SOC steam-mech worth without a cool dude like Roger Smith to pilot it? More than that, what about a R. Dorothy or a Butler Norman to add to this Gokin?

This Big-O is impressive and beautiful, but it's INCOMPLETE.

The SOC Bandai team ought to know better to leave those characters OUT of this piece.

NOT just the extra weapons
NOT just the die-cast pistons to Big-0's 'Popeye' arms
NOT just Roger's sweet badass car

it's THE CHARACTER itself that makes this piece worth the money.

A gimmicky neck opens the cockpit without a small pilot figure to put inside Big-O ? It's...

IT'S DOWN-RIGHT STUPID!!!
IT'S INEXCUSABLE!!!!
IT'S OUTRAGEOUS!!!}:{

It makes the Yamato's Chogokin Giant Robo look like a saint because it comes with Daisaku & Ginrei in 2 exclusive variants.

I mean c'mon here guys. 8 years of waiting and they pulled this stunt by leaving Roger out of it?!

$160 dollars for the big guy, Really? Seriously?

Not big enough for the man who carry it's weigh.

For the man is NONE.

I'm very grateful for the review Dan. I love Big O, we all love Big O, but you've got to admit--this black beauty is lifeless without it's pilot, it's tomato, it's spark, it's charm. A charm called Roger... THE MAN.

Roger, THE badass MAN.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 20 December, 2009 - 02:31
I don't think the scale of

I don't think the scale of this figure warrants a Roger Smith to go with it. Do you own the Chogokin? That cockpit section is very, very small, about the size of the fingernail on my pinky. A little Roger Smith would be smaller than a grain of rice! And in cases where pilot figures are provided that are grossly out of scale with the intended machine (such as the old Anime Collectors' Big-O toy) I just find it kinda cheap and tacky.

I won't dispute Roger Smith's badassery, but there's just no way they would've been able to include him in this set without making him far larger than he should be.

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 20 December, 2009 - 11:57
The car really should have

The car really should have been included...

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 22 December, 2009 - 19:16
Wish i could get one. but

Wish i could get one. but the only thing holding me back is the fact that to complete the set you have to buy an expansion pack. That and there are no villans from the series that could be used for a battle.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 23 December, 2009 - 21:27
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net