CollectionDX Network

1/60 VF-1A (Max DYRL Type)

Comments

12 comments posted
I agree

I have the VF-1A in Hikaru's DYRL colors. Even with four other Yamato 1/60 Valkyries to compete with, I feel it is the single finest high-end toy I own, hitting that perfect sweet-spot between feeling like an advanced item for the adult collector and being sturdy enough for casual handling and light play when we want to pretend our Decepticons are Zentradi scum.

A fantastic mold and if anyone reading this does NOT have some version of the 1/60 VF-1 version 2.0 from Yamato, I think DKun here will back me up in saying you should pick a color scheme and nab one.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 30 August, 2011 - 12:49
I have this one too. I got it

I have this one too. I got it so it can wear the GBP-1S armor while the other Valkyries wear their own armor.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 30 August, 2011 - 12:56
This Valkyrie was my first

This Valkyrie was my first Yamato 1/60, too. It's such a wonderful toy. Thanks to it I got into the toy collecting hobby, so it's one of my favorites heheh

One thing I suggest is for you to take the Super & Strike Parts, they add so much value (and weight) to this figure, that it's worth saving money fo when it will be available again.

LuizSSB's picture
Posted by LuizSSB on 30 August, 2011 - 13:23
Oh yeah, I am definitely

Oh yeah, I am definitely going to get the FAST Packs in the near future. I don't know about the GBP-1S since it's kind of huge though.

This is definitely my new favorite toy though, hands down.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 30 August, 2011 - 14:52
Yeah, I held off a while

Yeah, I held off a while because I owned the first 1/60 Valkyrie and I wasnt into it. Boy what a difference the newer ones are, now I've got 2 1/60 scale and 2 1/48 scale although the 1/60 look & feel better. Thanks for reviewing this

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 30 August, 2011 - 15:08
Indeed a very good toy, I own

Indeed a very good toy, I own 1:60 Strike VF-1S and TV Super VF-1J and are amazing pieces. And I agree, fast packs are a must, so you can pose these things like I do http://wartator.deviantart.com/art/Ultimate-Strike-VF-1S-254986044

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 30 August, 2011 - 16:14
Yamato = KINGS of the VF-1

They've given us every variant...and THEN some.

pinoy78's picture
Posted by pinoy78 on 31 August, 2011 - 04:01
I still would like to see

I still would like to see Stealth Super VF-1J.

And would be nice if the got license for VF-2SS.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 31 August, 2011 - 04:49
Most of the non-show variants

Most of the non-show variants in the 1/48 line were done in order to cover the inability of that line to do the two-seat VF-1 variants. Since the new 1/60s could do those they could fill out the line with them instead of made up color schemes. I mean we did get that one odd low-vis VF-1S.

Also we will probably see a Yamato VF-4 before we eve ever see a VF-2SS.

How does that make you feel?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 31 August, 2011 - 06:25
VF-4 seems like a good idea,

VF-4 seems like a good idea, even if on screen we only saw it's fighter mode, though the transformation will be very tricky to achieve in a toy. I know Studio Half Eye tried doing one but there are very few photos of it on the net.

On the same note I wonder if they'll tackle VF-11 MAXL, though I'd rather see things like VF-9, Star Mirage, and other mechs seen in games that I know only from art books.

I pray they'll make a VF-0D as that's probably one of my favourite non-VF-1 variable fighters. But right now I think we'll have a bajillion variants of VF-19 Excalibur from Macross 7 in the near future rather than a new design (not counting that Nightmare they previewed).

Who knows, I don't plan on purposefully dying for the next 20 years, so chances are I wll see a VF-2SS someday. Hopefully I won't grow out of Macross by then.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 31 August, 2011 - 08:31
I can't disagree with a

I can't disagree with a single thing you just said, Wallas. =D

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 31 August, 2011 - 11:34
So very late to this party.

So very late to this party. This will be a long post so bear with me. I'm an old school Robotech fan. I mean old as in I watched when it first came out as a child. It's what led to my love of Transformers. Sadly, there where far more transformer toys than robotech, so that is where my interests lay as a kid. Ironhide May have been my favorite character, but Jetfire was always my favorite toy.

Many, many years later in an issue of Toyfare, I learned of Toynami's Masterpiece Robotech line. At the time, I thought these were the be all end all, for display at least. As much as I loved these figures, I was still disappointed with how loose, how floppy they were. Yet I still bought each one ias they were released. I was vaguely aware that Robotech was based on Macross from Japan, and that Japan had its own lines of transforming airplane toys, but I just didn't pay much attention to it.

This brings us to about a month ago. Through the wonders of YouTube, I had discovered Macross in all it's forms and varieties. While doing a search on the Macross character differences, I stumbled upon this very review. I stumbled upon Yamato Valkyries. It was love at first sight. I promptly began selling my Masterpieces on eBay and ended up getting quite a bit for them.

I've now started my 1/60 scale collection. I have the YF-19, arcadia Skull One, and this very Valkyrie in this review. In fact, Max's VF-1A was my first purchase. I finally feel like I have the robotech (sorry, but it's how I fell for the genre) toy I've wanted for thirty years. It might sound cheesy, and my wife might hate the prices, but as a collector who loves what he collects, I am very happy. Well, as long as I can keep my two toddler boys from getting ahold of them.

So anyway, I want to say thank you to this whole sight. Heck, thanks to this place, I don't need the instructions to my figures, and as I branch out to Bandai DX figures, I know to stick with renewal versions.

Mainly, I want to say thank you to you, Dkun, and your excellent review (and Atom's) for showing me what I had been missing. Honestly, you should get a commission from eBay.

Ironhidensh's picture
Posted by Ironhidensh on 24 May, 2014 - 18:24
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net