CollectionDX Network

1/10 Mospeada Armor Cycle VR-052T (Ley Type)

Comments

20 comments posted
Wow..

I must've been in a grumpy mood that day or didn't want to watch the video or something on your Stick review because I don't remember it at all and yet, this toy looks awesome.

Really, really awesome.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 17 July, 2009 - 10:23
Looks great! I do like the

Looks great! I do like the baggier look of the suit on Ley... I still haven't bought eiter Beagle/MPC Ride armor tho. After the MegaHouse releases, I'm just kinda burnt out on modern Ride Armors, especially when they cannot effectively stand on their own. The Gakken is a beast and is not top heavy in armor mode unless you have it totally posed wrong. The MH figures just about have to be posed bending over to stand without support, and this new one can still only do a stiff neutral pose without the stand it seems. I don't have the room or desire to display toys on bases.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 17 July, 2009 - 14:04
Wowsers

That's beautiful, but, I seriously have to ask...

Am I the only person who didn't get an adolescent chuckle at the phrase "the big screw hole in the neck"?

Oh, I am. Damn.

jaydeflix's picture
Posted by jaydeflix on 17 July, 2009 - 15:17
Acronym.

Military Operation Soldier Protect Emergency Aviation Auto = MOSPEAA?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 17 July, 2009 - 15:41
Proof!

Sorry, I am a big dork. I love proofreading.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 17 July, 2009 - 18:58
it is too bad that this one

it is too bad that this one lacks alot of the printed detail that the stig version has. I cant believe they didnt fix the neck hole with this release.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 17 July, 2009 - 17:24
"Stig version" Oh my god,

"Stig version"
Oh my god, new neural pathways are firing, and it's beautiful.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 18 July, 2009 - 00:35
Some say he fought off the

Some say he fought off the invid singlehandedly. All we know is he's called the Stig.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 18 July, 2009 - 06:25
Sooo tempting! :-( Too bad

Sooo tempting! :-(
Too bad about the price though, I always cry when I realize how much money these things are... plus I'd have to get a mini-stig helmet and replace the head now... :-P
Maybe a good idea would be to hunt for a gently used one, since that's the way you can usually get this kinda stuff for cheaper :-)

Bleen's picture
Posted by Bleen on 19 July, 2009 - 02:49
Ley the civilian

"It looks like they left a bit more room in the cloth on the Ley release than they did on the Stick, giving the suit a slightly less fitted look (almost baggy), which I think may be intentional – Ley wasn't military so the suit wouldn't have been fitted for him."

"My only complaint is, again, the big screw hole in the neck."

I fully agree.

"next two releases": Wow, so my dream will become a reality - Yellow's Blowsperior and Fuke's Bartley are in the pipeline. Yuppeeee!

Will they produce a black Bartley too for Shinobu?

As usual brilliant article, Josh. Thank you.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 21 July, 2009 - 05:18
Actually, it was Atom who

Actually, it was Atom who published the article, so thanks go to him. And, I suppose, thanks also go to me for badgering him into taking those shots of fully-armored Stig without the peg leg up his butt! ;)

Honestly, that's been the only thing keeping me from getting this toy. The box shows shots of the armored figure free-standing...but the vast majority of reviews show it mounted on the stand (or just using the arm). To me, that's no good. I want a toy that can stand firmly enough on it's own as I play with it. Sure, I don't mind having a base to keep it from shelf-diving when I'm not messing with it, but stability is crucial to me.

So, with those pics, I'm sold!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 21 July, 2009 - 10:58
I'm right there with ya',

I'm right there with ya', but I'm not convinced. The only free standing pose we see is the same ram-rod straight stance as the Gakken. For two C-notes and already being pretty content with the Gakken, I want free-standing POSES. I think I just need to handle one and see how they really balance. Or I'll just continue to ignore this and the 1/60 YF21 I never bought as too much money in one non-vintage item. Because I am a picky hypocrite. :)

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 22 July, 2009 - 21:43
Free-standing pose

Right, but while the price is certainly daunting for a new toy, these things are just SO gorgeous, I simply can't take my eyes away. I mean, this has ALL the functionality I could possibly dream of for a "perfect" Cyclone/Mospeada/whatever. Foot pegs and whatnot to ensure that the the rider sits perfectly on the bike? Check. Armatures that connect the forearm armor to the main body (thus making it "true" power armor)? Check.

Poseability and perfect looks? Check Check. I mean, these look AMAZING to me.

But you're right: I'm gonna wait til I get to handle one in person before throwing down. I think I'm *far* more sensitive to toy-disappointment when dealing with "modern collectibles" (read: over-priced new toys for adults, not kids) than with vintage toys. Truth be told, I've never even handled the Gakken! Thing's so damn clunky-looking, though...I'm just not sure how satisfied I could be with it, even if it were as solidly-built as the 1/55 Takatoku Valk.

Anyway, I'm sure we'll get to mess around with a new Cyclone at the Summit. We can test the free-standing stability in different poses and decide then! Bring your camera... ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 23 July, 2009 - 09:05
Shhhhhh...! He may be

Shhhhhh...! He may be listening!

;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 21 July, 2009 - 14:07
"Vacation", my ass...this is

"Vacation", my ass...this is a test! ...To see if we don't break the site while he's gone! :P

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 21 July, 2009 - 16:10
Rofl Ya know, I did get a

Rofl

Ya know, I did get a text from him a day ago about something I was writing... =)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 22 July, 2009 - 02:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net