CollectionDX Network

VF-25S Messiah Valkyrie Ozma Custom

Comments

15 comments posted
Nice photos!

Nice review Josh. Where can I buy those Display Hangar that you use?

Orbitron's picture
Posted by Orbitron on 8 February, 2009 - 23:27
Thanks! Those are Kotobukiya

Thanks! Those are Kotobukiya Mechanical Chain Bases. You can get them off of ebay.

Josh

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 9 February, 2009 - 10:37
Thanks for the review! Glad

Thanks for the review! Glad to read an opinion outside of the MacrossWorld bawwing over every little niggle on the toy. I'm still waiting for my Alto from BBTS.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 8 February, 2009 - 23:42
Valkyried away

Nice Review, I've always been hesitant towards the VF-25s. Don't get me wrong, they're sleak and awesome in the animation, but something about them doesn't transition into the real world very well. I've been looking at the 1/72 models from time to time (debating on building one), but find myself walking away every time.

-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 9 February, 2009 - 10:18
I like the fighter mode

I like the fighter mode (though I can't imagine those wings support the machine in atmosphere. I think the toy is nice, but far from perfect. Lack of accesories (why won't they give them underwing missiles anymore?), the gerwalk mode and rubber head lasers. Also, something about the back of the Battroid mode feels awkward, just the hull with wings, doesn't look that good like VF-1/11 or VF-19.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 9 February, 2009 - 12:02
I'm considering if I should

I'm considering if I should get one of these DX Valkyries. I really like the color for Luca's custom (light green). They don't seem like they're worth the asking price so it'll have to only be if I can find a good deal for one. I don't care that much for perfect proportions. Certainly did a good job at least.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 9 February, 2009 - 12:46
VF-25S

Nice review Josh, impartial as always. We as collectors need that, because the fad of the arrival of this long anticipated valks can cloud some fans vision.
I recently bought an VF-25F ALTO CUSTOM, and think they are beautiful works of design by Shoji Kawamori, somehow he continues to improve his already groundbreaking VF-1 design decade after decade, In the 80's it was the VF-1, in the 90's the awesome YF-19 and YF-21, and now the VF-25, and as for Bandai translation of the design, like you said, it's not without it's flaws... The gerwalk mode it's a pain in the butt to get him to pose right, the hands are not only a drag to be swapping'em over and over, but are not tight enough to hold the gun aligned, the almost absurd price, and the last fact that you have to wait and paid another hundred bucks for the Fast Packs... Bandai is only feasting on the franchise and the fad of us fans...
But that aside, and crazy as it sounds, I don't regret paid almost 180 dollars for it. Because the thing is absolutely gorgeous... Is a nice, slick and fresh design, is like a natural evolution of the VF-19 they both look alike a little bit, and the design of the transformation is very clever and well thought. I'm right now saving money in order to bay the Ozma design and the Fast Packs....
Even the trading figures and gashapones of Macross Frontier by Bandai are excellent and well done, I know that you guys don't do a lot of Trading Figures reviews, but I propose you do a review of this figures anyway...
Keep it up, and greetings from Venezuela.

leonydas's picture
Posted by leonydas on 9 February, 2009 - 12:58
Macross Frontier

One of the coolest Mecha designs I've seen this year and one of the best Valkyries in all of Macross. Sticker price is steep... More metal would be nice.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 9 February, 2009 - 16:49
Waist Joint

Believe it or not, the DX DOES have a waist joint. Of course, it's easy to miss unless you happen to be able to read Japanese since it's barely covered in the instructions, heh (shame on you, Bandai!). The entire waist assembly can disconnect from the cockpit, leaving it on a free moving ball joint which gives the waist about 10-15 degrees of twist and swivel in all directions. It's something that should only be unlocked if you're actually going to use it, though, because if you don't actually torque the joint it's extremely loose and your DX will probably have difficulty standing.

Also, it's entirely possible to transform the figure without using the "knife hands". Both the fist and gun hands will tuck in under the shield without removing any need for swapping. Of course, the tradeoff is that you have fingers poking out from below the mech, but you pretty much wont notice unless you look for them.

Great review all around.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 10 February, 2009 - 08:34
I talked to Josh about the

I talked to Josh about the waist-joint and he believes that since it's so loose, it is probably there to allow space for the Super Pack and Armor Pack in fighter mode. I also have to agree with Josh that the DX is a good toy, but it doesn't feel like Bandai's A game. I hope the full armor set is coming out soon.

-Andrew

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 10 February, 2009 - 10:20
Possible...

While I suppose it's possible that it's exclusively meant for the super packs, I don't think it would be as the design of the packs would only need extra clearance in the back of the jet, not the front where the hips disconnect.

Plus, the instructions do point out (in one or two unclear photos) that you can pop it out to pose the figure, and it's only loose if you don't use it, oddly enough. Bend it one way or the other and it's fine.

Count me double on hoping for full armor packs. I'll be picking up all of the DX's other than Ozma until I can get an armor pack for him to wear.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 10 February, 2009 - 12:17
About Superpacks

Yeah I talked with Josh about this as well. I however disagree that's its intended purpose. I thinkit's just meant to be a waste joint.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 10 February, 2009 - 13:52
Great Review Josh, As a

Great Review Josh, As a collector I feel the Dx is quite impressive in person. I have already purchased three. A good balance of sexiness;),durability and playability. The bendable antennas are very thin and using any other materials would most likely break and require super glue. You are right about it being a different animal. If Bandai releases the full armor it will be a beast. In my eyes the Dx has already become a collectible. I am interested to see what other macross toys Bandai make.

valketeer's picture
Posted by valketeer on 17 February, 2009 - 02:31
I want to buy a

I want to buy a ozma custom, micheal blanc custom, or the luke custom messiah. Which should I get? Do they include stands?

Spike Roxas's picture
Posted by Spike Roxas on 1 May, 2009 - 18:05
Late to the party

I picked up the vf-25s and the vf-25f and I really can't say enough great things about them. As far as Bandai goes, these are light-years ahead of their previous offerings. They're not perfect designs, but they feel solid, and look damn sexy.

I'm not really sure what other accessories everyone expects to see with these Valkyries since the ones in the show were pretty leanly equipped without the super or armor packs. Aside from some design issues that I think could have been refined; these ring true to the anime.

As far as improvements that should have been implemented, the first thing would have to be articulated hands. I hate having to shuffle through a bag of loose parts for the right type of hands. I’d pay good money for an aftermarket articulated set that I could just pop on and be done with.

I would also like to have seen the rear landing gear giving some detail rather than looking like an after thought that was just slapped on. Also, in the same area, the rear fins on the undercarriage should be designed to tilt out.
The other area that should have been worked on is the survival knife. The one included in the box more closely resembles a butter knife. If you’re going to have a knife, make it look freaking sharp. I would have also liked to have seen a way for the knife to be stowed away in the shield like it was in the anime. This would have also made one less part to track down.

Overall, I love the look of these Valkyries and I’m glad I bought them.

Sabastian's picture
Posted by Sabastian on 26 October, 2010 - 20:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net