CollectionDX Network

VF-1S Super/Strike Valkyrie (Do You Remember Love?)


24 comments posted
Hey- I just so happen to

Hey- I just so happen to own one of the Takatoku 'Chunky Monkey' (never heard it called that before!) VF-1S Super, and was really the beginning of my collection over 17 years ago. To me, that is the best toy representation of a VF-1 series Valkyrie. The 1/48s were awesome, but too big, expensive, and I heard complaints about a bunch of little things breaking or not being completely faithful in proportions & function.

But, if what you say is true, Atom, and it really is that good and solid, then I think there is a reason for me to start looking for the pinnacle "collector's toy" of the famed transforming mecha once more. This thing looks awesome!

Now, if Yamato could just release Hikaru's red VF-1S from "DYRL"...

My jaw hurts. So I think that means the saliva has begun to flow.
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 September, 2008 - 22:12
"...Fear not I will be

"...Fear not I will be reviewing it."

:( I know, I know... (*sigh*)

Well, I suppose I should get up off my ass and review my Chunky Monkey while I still have the chance before some other "Macross" fan beats me to the punch. I mean, someone covered the giant SDF-1, and the Chunky Monkey is the only thing from the series that I have left to review, and I wanna get my licks in "Macross" in here too!
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 September, 2008 - 15:37
Chunky monkey...

...You mean this, Eva? Granted, it's not really a review per se...more of a memoir, starring the toy.

Anyway, great review, Atom. Just one request: since you're going to be reviewing the other Valks in this line, most likely with video, could you please show the attaching of the FAST Pack armor? Your detailed transformation was great, and really just perfect, for a review of the initial offering from the line...but showing the transformation again probably won't be necessary for every piece since the sequence won't change.

Maybe in each video, you can highlight a different common feature! Like, in the next video, highlight the armor. In the one after that, highlight the hands and missiles.

Oh, and speaking of hands, I think that's really an important point. In the past, I've typically loathed the articulated (transforming) hands on Yamato Valks. They're there just to make the transformation supposedly "perfect" (i.e., no parts-swapping). Of course, these transforming hands end up woefully inadequate at holding the gunpod and pretty much have to be swapped out for "anime-accurate" hands to get a firm grip on the gun. So much for "perfect".

Well, Andrew of DAPDX showed me his 1/60 Valk at the Summit, and he and Atom explained that the transforming hands were perfectly sufficient to hold the gunpod! They look good (certainly less skeletal than the 1/48's hands), and there's a tiny slot in the palm that a low-profile peg on the gunpod's handle fits into for a very secure fit. Definitely a plus!

I'm definitely getting one of these at some point. Hopefully and Elintseeker...


Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 5 September, 2008 - 17:29
"...You mean this, Eva?

"...You mean this, Eva? Granted, it's not really a review per se...more of a memoir, starring the toy..."


Yes. But mine's yellow, not red. And it's still got the Super Pack.
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 September, 2008 - 17:59
Max & Milla TV VF-1J w super parts

please release them soon

slee915's picture
Posted by slee915 on 4 September, 2008 - 23:33

It seems that you got yurself a nice toy there, Atom :)

I must say, that for many years I've longed to get myself one of Yamato's Valkyries... but I suddenly stopped when my friend collector showed my 1/48 VF-1S and 1/6- YF-19 in real life, they seemed empty inside and very fragile, definitely not worth the money. But maybe this one would change my mind. But first I need to see it with my own eyes :)

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 5 September, 2008 - 03:28
Excellent review

Excellent review Atom. I am deffinently tempted to get one of these. I own a 1/48, it is good but there is a couple of really annoying parts durring transformation, like the landing wheels. Also some very fragile bits. I will have to get one of these. I cannot wait forthe brown cannon fodder VF-1A. I started my Macross collecting in summer 2003 with a Takatoku VF-1S Super Valkyrie, I never new they made Robotech toys (at the time I did not know of Macross) I discovered it by accident. For me it is always going to be the 1/55 I prefer but maybe this will be the best.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 5 September, 2008 - 03:47
Ooh, I've been looking

Ooh, I've been looking forward to this one!

Great review, and the figure looks spectacular. I've never really liked the yellow very much but, by the time I can actually afford one I bet I'll have other versions to choose from.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 5 September, 2008 - 13:11
Do you believe in original

Do you believe in original Valkyrie sin? lol. I suppose you could say the same thing of any RX-78 toy.


Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 7 September, 2008 - 08:26

This review was all I needed, I want this. But I'm struggling to find it on the Angolz website! Could I please get a direct link? I'm definitely trying to get this.

stubbietubbie's picture
Posted by stubbietubbie on 7 September, 2008 - 02:45

This doesnt really have anything to do with this but I purchased an Aoshima 1/48 Legioss to display with theis when I get it. One bit of advice avoid them, they are a waste of money, the quality is worse than Toynami....
This toy deffinently looks a masterpiece.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 7 September, 2008 - 05:19
GREAT Review!

Great review Atom! And man, I gotta say, that was a supreme job you did on the video review!!! Top notch stuff man.

Regarding the Valk now... :-P

Although I am a huge Macross fan, I haven't ventured very far into the Yamato Macross scene (only have the 1:48 Stealth w/ Super Parts, and because of limited space, it's still in the box). I've wanted to start on a mission to get the main characters in the 1:48 scale, but because they're so numerous, and expensive, I haven't got farther than the Stealth one.

My question is, do you think the new 1:60 versions are superior in every way to the 1:48? Should I just scrap the notion of collecting the 1:48's and just pick up here at 1:60v2? Or are there redeeming qualities of the 1:48's still worth considering?

Thanks again for the awesome review.

REX-203's picture
Posted by REX-203 on 8 September, 2008 - 07:17
Great Review!

I'm really looking forward to seeing the VF-1A it looked sweet.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 8 September, 2008 - 10:55
Awesome review

Your review has made me decide to buy the VF-1S. Can't wait till I get it!

FilbertBFS's picture
Posted by FilbertBFS on 8 September, 2008 - 21:22
The VF-1A

The VF-1A is serious business. My ingrained fear of 1st release Yamato products kept me from the 1S, but I have to say the 1A really is all that and a bucket of wings. Even though I already own it, I'm looking forward to the review. I'm strange like that.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 9 September, 2008 - 22:41
I hope this it for the Yamato Macross line, settle on this

version, do the VF-1As, 1Js, 1Ss and move on with the other mechs from the Macross series DYRL or TV show. I hope there won't be a Valkyrie 3.0.

Germanicus's picture
Posted by Germanicus on 20 January, 2009 - 23:21
Late comment

Really enjoyed this review, good work.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 28 September, 2009 - 23:20
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy