CollectionDX Network

VF-1A with SUPER and STRIKE parts (Hikaru Ichijo)

Comments

20 comments posted
Now THIS one I will be

Now THIS one I will be buying. Thanks for another great review Atom!

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 17 September, 2008 - 11:51
I think your transformation

I think your transformation video needed a British accent for that authentic experience.

-Andrew

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 17 September, 2008 - 13:30
Never liked HIkarus DYRL

Never liked HIkarus DYRL Valk. Would rather have any Max or Roy variant, or Hikarus TV J.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 17 September, 2008 - 13:40
I know exactly what you mean

I know exactly what you mean about people being burned by Yamato for buying the early 1/60 VF-1's. I have two plus one 1/48.

I want to know, does this use the same rubber inside the socket of the hip? I really hated that on the 1/48.

The Hikaru DYRL color scheme is my favorite.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 17 September, 2008 - 14:02
No Rubber

No rubber in that spot. Looks to be a proper ball socket in a plastic housing.

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 17 September, 2008 - 14:09
This is really strange but I

This is really strange but I was just about to watch Do You Remember Love? for the first time,and I thought,hey,I'll check CDX before I watch the movie.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 17 September, 2008 - 18:48
Enjoy DYRL

I hope you enjoy the film, I always do. :)

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 17 September, 2008 - 19:07
Indeed- DYRL has spot-on

Indeed- DYRL has spot-on animation, and is dramatic. No cuteness about this one. Indeed, the battle scenes don't have the same feeling of they've got a thousand Valkyries-per-dime or something; there are really bad-ass machines! (Hikaru's final alpha strike with his fully loaded red VF-1S Strike Valkyrie on Dolza was absolutely kick-ass!)

Of course, the only way I can see, and understand what the hell they're saying, it is through a God-awful Korean-dub bootleg... (They didn't even bother dubbing Minmei's singing- ya just hear the original lyrics w/o subtitles!) -_-;
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 September, 2008 - 20:35
Loved the movie-it may take

Loved the movie-it may take the place of Blade Runner as my all time favorite,but I'll have to see it a couple more times before I say for certain!

I know it seems wierd that I've never seen it until now,I've seen the show (well the Robotech version at least) and read the novels,but DYRL was just something I always put off for later. I'm glad I finally got around to it.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 17 September, 2008 - 22:28
Badass review, Atom! Cool

Badass review, Atom! Cool vid, too...I'm sure a LOT of owners of this toy will be thanking you for that one (I know *I* will once I get around to snagging one of these).

By the way, I'm pretty sure they're not "antennae" on the head, but actually lasers.

;)

I'm not sure how I feel about the cheating in your transformation vid. Bummer that the head extends too far back for the swing arm to get free. That's kind of annoying. I know, I know...it's just one little extra step of removing the head. But there's this whole "perfect transformation" thing a lot of folks (including myself) are stuck on. There's just so much history with this mecha design and so much love for it on both sides of the globe. Anything pertaining to a toy rendition of Kawamori's VF-1 series Valk is bound to be a hot button topic...including "perfect transformation".

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 19 September, 2008 - 11:29
Uh Sanjeev, the whole head

Uh Sanjeev, the whole head is on that extra joint. I showed you at the summit that you can pull the head down in fighter and Gerwalk mode with that joint so that it clears the bar. And you can do that head turret effect from the show. Atom just took the head off for convenience but the joint should allow you to pull the head away from the bar. I'm trying this with my -1S and I don't see how it can be different with the -1A since in the recessed position, both heads cover the swing bar.

-Andrew

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 22 September, 2008 - 21:17
The Summit was such a

The Summit was such a whirlwind! I'd forgotten about that! Very cool...thanks for the confirmation, Andrew!

(not that I needed it in order to want one of these!)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 23 September, 2008 - 08:30
For Sanjeev. Head in and out

For Sanjeev. Head in and out

Photobucket

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 23 September, 2008 - 20:43
Thanks Sanjeev

Like Andrew said you can flip the head out of the way during transformation, I just chose not too for simplicity sake. So it's still "perfect transformation".

Yes, I know they are lasers.... :P

Your right no matter what (much like the Star Wars or Matrix franchise) Macross and the Variable fighter is sure to create division amongst fans no matter how well done it is. I still stand by the idea that this is the be-all-end-all modern toy of the famous mecha.

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 23 September, 2008 - 09:00
Very nice, love these new 1/60ths

Very nice, love these new guys. For Hikaru I prefer the VF-1J of the original SDF to the VF-1A DYRL. Not that it isn’t nice; but I think Max when I look at a VF-1A. Will there be any reviews of the Origin of Valkyrie Bandai line?

"The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this to be true." - James Branch Cabell 1926.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 22 September, 2008 - 09:04
break on right shoulder hinges

leon,
hi,i saw the macross world regarding the breakages on the vf-1s right shoulder hinges...so do u notice any crack or stress line over there?is quite worrying as now i'm just too afraid to transform him again...pls advice what shall i do???thanks...

l_q_long's picture
Posted by l_q_long on 1 October, 2008 - 06:16
Re: break on the right shoulder hinge

No, no stress marks or breakage. To be fair though I have been very mindful of the shoulder mechanism when transforming. Don't force the part and you should be fine. :)

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 8 October, 2008 - 10:32
re-broken arm

leon,hi Atom,thanks for replying,but what happen here is that it only appear that vf-1s with S/S have that problem,it seem like its a defect.someone mention that they never use any force and very careful with it also,but the arm just break,when i look at my Roy,the right arm hinge that metal pin is too thick,there is really a different when u compare to the left one...this is so pissed off,i hope my coming 1A won't have this issues.do u still transform Roy every now and then?

l_q_long's picture
Posted by l_q_long on 12 October, 2008 - 13:00
Just bought this

Hi, I'm new to this board, but am very happy to have one of these on the way from Hong Kong. I also picked up a Destroid Tomahawk in olive with weathering today. I have a feeling I'm going to become hooked on these once they arrive!

furystorm's picture
Posted by furystorm on 14 May, 2010 - 23:49
I picked one up recently

Got this one in a bit ago. Based my purchase on this review and others from this series of 1/60's by Yamato on here. I have to say, I'm extremely impressed with this figure. Could not be happier with it. Also went through Angolz for the purchase. Was a first time buyer from them and will be happy to go through them again in the future.

Thanks!

RoadKill98's picture
Posted by RoadKill98 on 22 November, 2010 - 19:31
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net