CollectionDX Network

Motoslave + Priss

Comments

9 comments posted
A quick note, Yamato is

A quick note, Yamato is making a run of "DX" Motoslaves with metallic paint and more paint in the detail areas. If it's the paint (or lack thereof actually) that bothers you, you may want to wait for that release.

As for this one, I've been waiting for this since 1989 when I first saw a crummy bootleg tape of raw BGC episodes. Having one now I can say it's about as good as you can expect it to be without being a delicate model kit. It reminds me of the CM's Mospeada toys, intricate, yet still very much a toy.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 7 October, 2008 - 12:40
I can't believe they were

I can't believe they were actually able to make this into a transformable toy that looks good in both modes! Some of the stuff they're coming out with now is amazingly engineered compared to what passed for show accuracy even a couple of years ago.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 7 October, 2008 - 14:55
Wow

It's hard to believe that anyone would make a fully transformable motoslave and have it be sturdy.

I only hope Yamato manages to keep up this level of quality.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 7 October, 2008 - 19:25
There's the metalic version?

Wow! It's must be great! Maybe Yamato could make a better Mospeada bikes???

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 7 October, 2008 - 20:03
Looks quite good

Save for the bubblegum dispenser toy-feel of the material, the Motoslave toy looks good. I just can't imagine how one can fight in those damned stiletto-type heels...

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 7 October, 2008 - 22:04
I've seen pics of the

I've seen pics of the upcoming metallic version of this somewhere (probably TBDX). Unimpressive.

If I were going to pick this up, I'd just go for whichever version is cheaper and just buy some red gloss enamel paint and give the red bits a once-over. That'd do wonders for the looks of this toy.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 8 October, 2008 - 08:32
Bubblegum Crisis

Many years ago, a friend of my older brother brought Bubblegum Crisis over to our house on VHS. We thought it was pretty neat, but I remember very little about it.

Excellent review Josh, the figure looks pretty cool but a bit pricey for my tastes. Who knows, maybe someday I will give in to the opportunity for nostalgia :)

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 8 October, 2008 - 20:38
F*ckin plastic / F*ckin market...

Used to watch CDX reviews, I'm a bit disapointed by this model. When I first saw it, I was a bit mhhh... you know... like just watching approximative plastic molded models from a "we like money" company made for happy enthousiasts. So, I waited and this was wise to end on CDX review : pictures are still plastic pieces assembled with no heart nor soul at the end.
I remember of a Priss model made in the early '90s (maybe more 'round '88) which was gorgeous, robotic and posing in a marvelous way (no idea of the manufacturer) for an unreasonable price, but cute anyway. These actual pieces of plastic are making me cold compared to them. The idea of crossing the bike with the character is good ; the final product... not of my guests.

Just an advice...

MisterK's picture
Posted by MisterK on 9 October, 2008 - 15:19
How about putting an

How about putting an interchangeable head with that "metallic" version?
That will totally push me into buying all four Knight Sabers. I wonder why YAMATO thought that it was not a big deal to include the "anime" heads. Maybe they're planning to do that in the future just to milk the line- just like what they are doing now with the Macross figures...hmmmm....

Germanicus's picture
Posted by Germanicus on 9 November, 2008 - 19:02
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net