CollectionDX Network

MMS Type Fighter Asuka

Comments

12 comments posted
yay new busou shinki review

thanks for continuing shinki figure review.
I recently started collecting this series.
and I am loving it.

gunplaman's picture
Posted by gunplaman on 18 June, 2008 - 12:56
Moe meets WWII, Japan will

Moe meets WWII, Japan will do anything to try and rewrite history.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 18 June, 2008 - 15:07
looks awesome but... I get

looks awesome but... I get the felling its onto to be displayed since those joints look very fragile to me

_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 18 June, 2008 - 18:05
It looks good

I saw shinki figures in my local hobby store. I sold at 30$ a piece. But knowing it's original price, I interested in having one myself.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 18 June, 2008 - 19:32
Does this count as a girly figure?

From a pure design standpoint, I'm really loving this figure. The entire bio-mechanical aspect reminds me of the film 'Tetsuo: The Iron Man.' And the propeller coming out of the back is incredible. It's been a while since I've been attracted to an action figure for pure display possibilities...I kind of want to get it...but the concept of owning a Moe figure is rather...confounding...

Anyhow, great review, Josh - Thanks for destroying the fragile balance of my collector's conscience.

Jetjagaa's picture
Posted by Jetjagaa on 19 June, 2008 - 11:13
Projecting "Moe"

Interesting, I didn't see anywhere that this is supposed to be an underage character. Why are you presuming it is?

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 June, 2008 - 19:26
As I've come to understand

As I've come to understand it only recently, isn't moe a consistent and unwaivering fascination with a young character beyond the context shown in their respective media?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 June, 2008 - 20:09
Moe isn't necessarily about

Moe isn't necessarily about being underage, not as I understand it anyway.

And about Japan rewriting history, yeah, they need to do a better job of lying about things as they happen. ;)

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 19 June, 2008 - 19:58
accessories

hmmmm tons of accessories.......

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 19 June, 2008 - 20:15
I was under the impression

I was under the impression that moe is just for cutesy, frail, females, no?

Jetjagaa's picture
Posted by Jetjagaa on 20 June, 2008 - 16:24
that's always been my

that's always been my understanding

_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 21 June, 2008 - 07:31
"Cutesy, frail females"...

I agree...sorta. It's my understanding that age isn't necessarily implied in "moe", but c'mon...if not for the barest hint of boobs, this character (and pretty much all loli/moe/whatever characters) could be prepubescent boys. What does that have to say about the genre?

But, hey, if you like these action figures just as cool and interesting toys (like in this review), then that's fine. It's this whole subculture of otaku who are fascinated with these sorts of characters that skeeves me out...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 23 June, 2008 - 09:10
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net