CollectionDX Network

Legioss and Tread (Zeta)

Comments

12 comments posted
I have bought this one

I have bought this one also. I just want to add something. I found out the landing gear for Legioss is just a metal rod glued to the plastic feet of Legioss. This I was found after it was broke of from the feet. I just put it in the box and leave it there until I need it. It's really dissapointing to see they just glued in the feet and it's very hard to retract the gear back into the feet. And that's where my landing gear is come off from the feet. I think I'm not going to buy another CM's toys anymore as I read more of inconsistency of their quality in toys and not to mention their ridiculous overprice.

sollblade's picture
Posted by sollblade on 3 November, 2011 - 19:37
Treading carfeully...

I bought this set for the Legioss it turns out the Tread is by far the better half of the set! My understanding at the time was that the "Blue" version was the "normal" release and that the other colours would be web exclusives, so imagine my surprise when I opened the box to find a red set (turns out theres a little sticker on the box that indicates which colour it is - if you can read Japanese...!)

One thing that drove me nuts was the little plugs to cover up the screw holes. I'm pretty sure I lost at least one and inserted another couple the wrong way. My advice would be to leave the blasted holes alone...!

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 4 November, 2011 - 09:30
With the advent of 3D

With the advent of 3D Modeling programs such as Solid Works, there just shouldn't be anymore excuses on not taking the time and getting the proportions right. Yamato and Hasegawa seemed to have finally dialed in the ultimate valkyrie and I wish other companies would do the same.

I'm building Waves VF-1j 1/100 kit and although the legs, arms and head look spot on, I'm just shocked at how out of proportion the body is. C'mon it's 2011 there is just no excuse for these out of proportioned toys anymore. It's just being Lazy.

Like when Waves released their small DYRL Macross figure, when this came out I found the price and the product insulting, I'm glad I waited as Yamato seems to be getting it right with both the Tlead and the Macross.

Awesome review, your hitting on all six cylinders Andrew!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 4 November, 2011 - 10:09
anime proportions?

"I'm building Waves VF-1j 1/100 kit and although the legs, arms and head look spot on, I'm just shocked at how out of proportion the body is."

I always thought the Wave kits were designed to look more like the animation models. I certainly think the proportions of the torso have that "heroic swell" to them, part of the way many anime (particularly in the early period of semi-realistic robots that Macross came out of) exaggerate the robot's proportions to make them resemble a heroic human figure (in like with the standards of heroic humans in anime, of course).

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 4 November, 2011 - 13:26
Yeah the proportions on the

Yeah the proportions on the Wave kits are more of a conscious effort to meld the anime stylings with model like detail. It's a bit of a nostalgia grab as they are trying to basically modernize the old IMAI and ARII kits. I do appreciate them giving people the option to combine the fighter and Battroid kits into a Gerwalk. Most companies seem to just make the two modes and expect the fans to kitbash something.

Remember the TECT resin upgrade kits for the Bandai Macross 7 line? Yeah like that.

Some people complained about the Wave Tomahawk kit because it wasn't as accurate as the Yamato toy, which was heavily based on the schematic views of the Tomahawk as originally drawn by Miyatake.

Actually I take more issue with how Hasegawa approached their VF-1 kits. While a pure fighter mode kit can look kinda weird when converted to a Battroid, I think it would be more appropriate for a scale model to use one set of proportions adapted to different modes rather than completely different shapes and proportions for individual modes.

I did see a rather interesting take on the VF-1J fighter mode that used the old IMAI Super Valkyrie kit as its base. Since that kit was adapted from their Gerwalk kit, the limbs were in much better proportion than any of the smaller fighter kits. I'd have to search again to find it, but the modeler did a great job. It really looked like it could transform despite not being able to. It also had a very VF-0-esque trick to allow the arms to mesh with the backpack so that it would be more properly sized than the Yamato toys tend to render it. It did mess with the whole "you have to see the arms from the rear" image though. I always felt the Gerwalk line art tended to have the best proportions between all three forms so it made for easier kitbashing for the adventurous.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 November, 2011 - 14:07
Don't get me wrong, when I'm

Don't get me wrong, when I'm finished with the Waves VF-1J kit I will be giving it great reviews, its mostly a great kit and I do love the sculpting overall, its just I prefer the current Yamato and Hasegawa Battroid sculpt torso offerings than the Waves kit. In my minds eye those are the versions that I feel best represent the valkyrie.

Also I've seen better Battroids from the Hasegawa kit, if you look at my Hasegawa VF-1S review there is a link to somebody who did a transforming kit from the fighter kit and it looks good. Keep in mind this was Hasegawa's first attempt at doing a Sci-fi/Anime kit, something they had never done in their entire 50+ year history.

I also agree with your observations on the Waves Gerwalk modes, I'm looking forward to getting the fighter VF-1J to make the Gerwalk.

Also thanks for letting me know about the Waves kit I was unaware that there were doing an anime correct Valkyrie Battroid. I leave the rest of my comments for the kit review itself.

Anyway this Legioss looks neither Anime accurate or Real World style accurate, and in light of the comments manufactures should pick one or the other and not fail at both!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 4 November, 2011 - 15:42
Accuracy

"Anyway this Legioss looks neither Anime accurate or Real World style accurate, and in light of the comments manufactures should pick one or the other and not fail at both!"

You're correct on the account of it's context Modcineaste, it's just that something about this awkward thing tells me they did try to make it Anime-esque but from a different text. Can't put my finger on it yet. Could've been inspired by the popular Revoltech toys.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 17 July, 2012 - 15:47
I like the green one best.

I like the green one best.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 4 November, 2011 - 11:31
In my opinion, you have

In my opinion, you have nailed down how reviews should be done. This was a fantastic and entertaining read, and I didn't realize until after I was done how lengthy it actually was. Anecdotal stories make everything better.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 November, 2011 - 13:46
I think I'm gonna go back to

I think I'm gonna go back to reviewing Beast Wars toys.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 November, 2011 - 15:12
You should review for G2

You should review for G2 stuff. If you don't, I will.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 4 November, 2011 - 16:16
I have a G2 review planned

I have a G2 review planned hopefully for next week.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 November, 2011 - 16:25
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net