CollectionDX Network

Kotetsushin Jeeg

Comments

18 comments posted
I'm quite a fan of the Jeeg

I'm quite a fan of the Jeeg design, so it's a shame to see this so floppy. Given the relatively low price though, I may still buy it, even if all he can do is stand there and look good. What I'd actually like to see though is the ACTUAL Kotetsushin Jeeg. In the show, this new Jeeg is just considered Kotetsu Jeeg, like the original, but his final form is what gives the name to the show.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 10 October, 2008 - 18:09
I kind of had high hopes for

I kind of had high hopes for this figure, it looked pretty cool. But now I'm entirely sure I'll be staying away...thanks for helping me make the decision, Josh! I love your great, honest reviews.

By the way, lovin' the HD videos, awesome quality.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 10 October, 2008 - 18:46
HELL SLAP!!

Hehehe HELL SLAP!!

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 11 October, 2008 - 07:06
S.O.C.

Great review as always Josh. Since the S.O.C. line has included a lot of the main Japanese robots and are now including soem lesser known characters and some from the Godaikin line....does anyone know what the chances are of Bandai, Yamato, CM corp, Most Wated etc making a new Dai-X robot from X Bomber/ Star Fleet?

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 11 October, 2008 - 08:23
cool

Yet another cool review Josh. I was kinda interested in this guy as well but it's kinda hard to ignore the floppiness of it. I'm sure though that some crazy customizers in Japan have already tried to swap out the magnets Bandai used for some super strong Rare Earth Neodymium magnets.

Jerilock's picture
Posted by Jerilock on 11 October, 2008 - 10:10
the comment about Italy and hatemail

ROFL

so true
:D

Aeonstream's picture
Posted by Aeonstream on 11 October, 2008 - 12:22
Remember the Micronauts reissues?

Remember the Micronauts reissues? If you opened Karza up and adjusted the metal plates on the magnets slightly suddenly it held together great and the toy worked beautifully. Could this perhaps be another case of a misaligned magnet inside?

-Jeremy

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 11 October, 2008 - 14:03
Old Jeeg I'm not to much of

Old Jeeg I'm not to much of a fan of, but I did like the design of the new Jeeg so I was sort of excited when I got it.

The magnet joints are really a double edged sword on this thing: Yeah it's a cool gimmick, but it makes the joints real floppy.

Decade010's picture
Posted by Decade010 on 11 October, 2008 - 18:44
Sad. I loved watching

Sad. I loved watching Kotetsushin Jeeg and I hate seeing how badly this guy came out. If this guy came out right I would have bought him within a few months of release.

Viokni's picture
Posted by Viokni on 12 October, 2008 - 04:59
Bad rap?

One of the things I've heard collectors say is that a good figure isn't always a good toy. That sometimes super detailed or complex parts might look great on a shelf, but make it too delicate for the rough play a collector might have given it as a kid. However, I think this is the first time I've seen a collector go the other way.

Jeeg may not be a good display piece, but I'd argue that it is a great toy. While it does collapse very easily, it also comes back together just as easily. Imagine dropping this toy onto a hard wood floor. It would certainly fall to pieces... and could be reassembled without anything more that a paint scratch. How do you think a SOC Reideen (which is similarly priced) would handle that fall?

Jeeg is far from a perfect gokin, but I think it'd be safe after after an hour of play with an eight-year-old. You can't say that about many other SOCs.

I watched the video review. I heard you make a *whoosh* with the mach drill equipped. Jeeg might not stand well on a shelf, but I bet it'd do fine sitting on your desk.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 13 October, 2008 - 04:23
You make a good point. There

You make a good point. There are some really fun aspects of Jeeg. The magnetic assembly is a great idea. But if we are talking playability though, well, I think it still falls short. Take for example the arms. It is incredibly frustrating to pose those things, and to swap out hands. You cant move them without the magnets coming off the shoulders, and the forearms are either popping off at the elbows or surrendering the metal wrists to the hands.

The modular idea is nice, but you are limited to swapping the arms? Where's the panzeroid? Why don't the drills shoot? That would make it a great toy. Right now, its just Meh, in my opinion.

But the great thing here is we can all agree to disagree. I'm glad you like the toy. It shows that as collectors, we all look for different things in these overpriced toys.

Josh

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 13 October, 2008 - 08:46
waiting for the repaint

I loved the micronauts as a kid.

However, I have to pass on jeeg the WatermelonMan.

You can even open the chest to see all the seeds!

happosai8's picture
Posted by happosai8 on 13 October, 2008 - 11:43
Horned Melon Kiwi-Bot...Nuff Said

Crap...You've just beat me to the punchline dude, but I'm gonna say it anyway. As much as I admire Go Nagai personally for the Superhero Robot era he has conceived, this Steel Jeeg robot is an eyesore for me in his body of work.

I mean for peace's sake...the weird thing looks like a 'Horned Melon Kiwi-Bot'. That about sums it all up right there.

Just thinking about Jeeg's name makes me think about 'Juice'. Steel Jeeg? Hmmm...more like.......'Steel Juice'.

Sorry, but there's no love for Jeeg on my shelf.

I just don't dig the 'Horned Melon Kiwi-Bot'. Nuff said.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 14 October, 2008 - 04:20
I have an original

I have an original Micronauts Force Commander and I would not describe the magnetic limbs as floppy at all. It is an extremely solid toy that is quite pose-able. It's a little hard to stand him up, but not because of floppy legs. You just have to get them level to the surface you are trying to stand him on. I'll post some pics in my collection soon.

Televex's picture
Posted by Televex on 14 October, 2008 - 09:11
Hate mail from Italy

*!#"?@!^-&#$@+ç"§%^#%;*<"~§!°>&?...

Here, in Italy, we all love Jeeg. Jeeg that's Amore! To be true, the second Amore, after Goldrake (Grendizer).

Anyway you're right, unfortunately! This SOC is not what I was waiting for and is really really floppy :'-(

But if you have the Takara Jeeg you can play and combine them to make it more robust and have fun ;-)

Bye

PS: More photos in my collectionDX...


ju29robot's picture
Posted by ju29robot on 14 October, 2008 - 14:29
KOUTETSUSHIN JEEG

I bought the toy months ago and have no regrets for the simple reason that I never treat the toys badly - playing rough with them, that is.

However, the new Jeeg anime is a disappointment to me as no modern version will replace the original Jeeg of 1975.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 14 October, 2008 - 16:26
If you guys like this toy, check out the microman combiner!

I have the microman combiner Magne Power Microman Micronauts Robotman Endeavor. Its awesome! It can also combine with his bro, Dean.

It suffers from the same problems as Jeeg, but its a combiner!

The magnetic joints are a bit less effective because of the massive weight of each appendage.

happosai8's picture
Posted by happosai8 on 22 October, 2008 - 11:49
Force Commander

http://www.collectiondx.com/gallery/Collections/televex/forcecommander/fc5.jpg.html?g2_imageViewsIndex=1

Televex's picture
Posted by Televex on 7 November, 2008 - 01:04
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net