CollectionDX Network

Gurren Lagann

Comments

17 comments posted
This turned out way better

This turned out way better than I expected. There was so little info about it prior to release that no one really knew what to think. I guess the Revoltech version coming out later this month will have to keep me satisfied until I can get one.

GogDog's picture
Posted by GogDog on 5 May, 2008 - 02:50
I missed out.

I'm really regretting not pre ordering one of these now. Oh well, maybe I'll catch one off eBay.
It's a shame there's no accessories for Giga Drill Breaker. Unless the Core Drill can detach from the handle and somehow attach to the arm. In any case, I really do hope I can get one.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 5 May, 2008 - 15:05
Hi def arm hair. Word on the

Hi def arm hair.

Word on the street says it is in fact from Max Factory. Konami makes their Microman type stuff like Amdriver and MMS (both great lines mind you) but this is way more than they're capable of in terms of toy production.

I'd like to see how the plastic version holds up. It's about 1/3 the price and looks to be like a large Revoltech. It may end up being the choice for fans on a budget.

I like the piece in terms of quality, but after the Legioss/Tread, God Mars, and DX Raideen, (where's the review dude?) I'm tapped out.

Plus, the design is a little too goofy for my liking. Godannar is better in terms of shelf presence, plus much less to lose.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 5 May, 2008 - 15:10
Raideen is coming soon -

Raideen is coming soon - they are on their way (getting both)

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 5 May, 2008 - 17:51
very awesome but for my

very awesome but for my budget I can settle for a revoltech
_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 5 May, 2008 - 16:22
yeah

my plan exactly.

life needs to be bittersweet;
you work the sweet side, and i'll manage to embitter it.

lurino's picture
Posted by lurino on 7 May, 2008 - 14:27
great review but...:(

Great review, looks cool, loved Godanarr, but with it sold out on every site i could find and ebay selling it for a EX-gokin getter like 300usd (I mean hobbylink is ok price wise and they had for 178). I will have to pass, feel like the kid who talked to the friend after x-mas about a cool toy that they recalled:(

Oh well, I'll live
Keep the great reviews coming just maybe before they sell out...lol

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 5 May, 2008 - 19:54
I can't keep up

I think I can't keep up with these days' toys price. No matter how great they are, I can't afford such price anymore. Nice review, though.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 6 May, 2008 - 03:46
After visiting the Konami

After visiting the Konami site I see they're doing two different plastic versions with different parts. They also are doing the odd Head bot. The build looks great, but it's just too damn odd.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 6 May, 2008 - 11:03
I think those are part of

I think those are part of the regular "Impact Model Series". I think its a different size as well.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 7 May, 2008 - 10:20
AAAAAAAArgh

so, after looking to hlj website, i saw that it's around Rp. 1.65 millions which is not too expensive considering other conditions. but surely, do you think this piece worths that much, Josh??

life needs to be bittersweet;
you work the sweet side, and i'll manage to embitter it.

lurino's picture
Posted by lurino on 7 May, 2008 - 14:23
Same Currency

Ah, we're using the same currency...

eheheh...

So the revoltech one gonna pop up. 20$ VS 180$ is the 160$ really worth it?

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 8 May, 2008 - 03:47
Man, hella-sweet review

Man, hella-sweet review Josh. Seeing the current eBay prices kinda puts a damper on things, but it sure is nice. I'm guessing tons of people are regretting sleeping at the wheel for this one, myself included.

The comparison shot with Godannar is REALLY nice, I must say. I definitely can imagine Max Factory having a hand in this one. If I didn't know any better, I'd guess those two were from the very same toyline. Very intersting!

REX-203's picture
Posted by REX-203 on 7 May, 2008 - 21:27
GIGA DRILL BREAKER!

This was an excellent anime series buy it, or download it from Demonoid if you haven't seen it yet. Gainax never disappoints... killer robot action! This toy is awesome but to expensive for my tastes maybe SOC will release one that's not three hundred smackers. We'll see, great review!

Jonathan

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 8 May, 2008 - 20:47
need to try the series again

I tried reading the manga and I wasn't impressed by the series. I'll have to try the anime. I don't own this gokin, but after watching the vid, is anyone else bugged by how paper-thin the clips on the gold waist skirts are? They're gonna snap at some point, especially if the skirts keep falling off that often with usage. No doubt about it, it looks awesome and has insane articulation, but issues like that make it less attractive at its $200 price point. Thankfully, there are other plastic options, such as the Revoltech and Impact Model versions which I'd be more open to trying out. Anyway, thanks for your reviews, really appreciate them.

Snake-Eater's picture
Posted by Snake-Eater on 9 May, 2008 - 16:00
Has anyone else had trouble

Has anyone else had trouble with the hands being too wide to accommodate the long drills which go on the arms?

Ketsuban's picture
Posted by Ketsuban on 17 August, 2008 - 14:46
crap, late to the party on

crap, late to the party on this one which seems the best version by far....well off to ebay..

Gazbot's picture
Posted by Gazbot on 6 November, 2013 - 02:18
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net