CollectionDX Network

Gurren Lagann

Comments

22 comments posted
Leg panels

The leg panels supposedly compress inwards (as opposed to pulling them out) when you bend his knees, much like the sliding panels on the back of the GI Gurren Lagan or similarly designed hinges on the legs of Kaiyodos old Virtual On figures. I don't know how well it works, necessarily, not having the figure, but according to pre-release previews of the figure, that's what it was supposed to be for.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 21 May, 2008 - 06:40
Oh man, you're killing me

Oh man, you're killing me with the Sam Black Church! hahaha And the black line is barely noticeable once you get going.

Anyway, pretty nice, but I'm not a big Revoltech fan personally. I think if I were to buy a toy of this character, I'd get the 35cm vinyl. It's big and cheap.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 21 May, 2008 - 10:05
This was the one revoltech I

This was the one revoltech I was looking forward to, but there's something I'm not feeling from it. Hm...

Nekrodave, you have any links to that 35cm vinyl you mentioned?

Jetjagaa's picture
Posted by Jetjagaa on 21 May, 2008 - 11:25
Not sure if any online

Not sure if any online retailers are selling it, but I saw it on Yahoo!HK the other night. I'm sure it'll be on Yahoo!JP too. Just search for グレンラガン. It's made by Konami, like the diecast.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 21 May, 2008 - 19:05
Great review and pictures.

Great review and pictures. I've actually seen some people remove pieces and turn it into Gurren. The leg panels compress inwards when the knees bend. At least that's what Kaiyodo is saying. And I didn't say anything last time, I am grateful for the review, but your pronunciation is a little off. Probably just a nerd annoyance, so nothing major. But again, thanks for the review, can't wait for mine.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 21 May, 2008 - 11:30
Whats the proper

Whats the proper pronounciation?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 21 May, 2008 - 11:52
It's just the Lagann part.

It's just the Lagann part. Although this trailer is a bit, well silly, it has it.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=HAAOQHhoyzA

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 21 May, 2008 - 11:55
I forgot to add that you

I forgot to add that you should probably yell it every time you say it too.
Haha.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 21 May, 2008 - 12:00
That trailer has become a

That trailer has become a joke because they are NOT pronouncing it correctly.

It's not pronounced like "Kenny Loggins" for God's sake.

It's pronounced LAG-en. This video has it just after the 4-minute mark.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=IVfDQQoT5f0

GogDog's picture
Posted by GogDog on 21 May, 2008 - 19:36
I know the trailer was a

I know the trailer was a joke, I just thought it had a good example of the pronunciation.
In any case, yeah, LAG-en.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 21 May, 2008 - 21:15
It will interesting to see

It will interesting to see how the dub goes. Interestingly enough, Bandai is apparently going to release a bare-bones subtitles only version first, so fans can get it before the dub is complete. I think it's way cool of them to do that, and will probably stick with that version, although if the dub turns out good.....

GogDog's picture
Posted by GogDog on 21 May, 2008 - 21:24
You might be interested that

You might be interested that Sci-Fi will be having a Gurren Lagann block starting in July, which is also when the sub DVD goes on sale.
Interesting.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 21 May, 2008 - 22:22
Between the two of us, the

Between the two of us, the word 'interesting' has been propelled to new heights. :)

GogDog's picture
Posted by GogDog on 21 May, 2008 - 23:08
hmmm....

I find your use of the word interesting intriguing.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 22 May, 2008 - 10:59
Not Interested

That's not interesting news dude. Who needs Sci-Fi presenting the show when you got the internet. From where I'm standing, that's lame news.

-Rodimus

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 22 May, 2008 - 11:32
this guy = Mine and I like

this guy = Mine and I like the core drill part shame theirs no string so I could hand it around my neck

_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 21 May, 2008 - 14:31
Well in the show they didn't

Well in the show they didn't exactly use an uber special string. Maybe you can take another necklace's string and attach it?

Viokni's picture
Posted by Viokni on 22 May, 2008 - 02:43
yeah thats the plan just

yeah thats the plan just wish they saved me the trip to the hobbie store
_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 25 May, 2008 - 11:49
What does ¥1,900 exchange

What does ¥1,900 exchange for in american dollars these days?

and what was the price of Konami's version that made it "prohibitive"?.

Definitely an impressive figure

-Ren

http://www.nercm.com

Ren's picture
Posted by Ren on 15 August, 2008 - 17:03
Bookmark this site, it's a

Bookmark this site, it's a real gem:

Universal Currency Converter

It keeps accurate every minute will the listed world currencies therein.

As of this message... JPY 1,900 = USD $17.1883
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 August, 2008 - 18:40
Great Pictures

Great review and pictures. I've actually seen some people remove pieces and turn it into Gurren. The leg panels compress inwards when the knees bend. At least that's what Kaiyodo is saying. And I didn't say anything last time, I am grateful for the review, but your pronunciation is a little off. Probably just a nerd annoyance, so nothing major. But again, thanks for the review, can't wait for mine.

bugmenot's picture
Posted by bugmenot on 12 August, 2010 - 04:04
hmm this might be my back up

hmm this might be my back up choice if I cant find a reasonably priced konami one, thanks for the review!

Gazbot's picture
Posted by Gazbot on 6 November, 2013 - 02:19
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net