CollectionDX Network

Gotengo (aka Atragon)

Comments

12 comments posted
Safely Docked

Those "mechanical chain bases" really add a certain something to these photos.

The boat looks good too.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 30 December, 2008 - 18:20
The last time I saw this

The last time I saw this ship in action, it was in the Sazer-X movie :)

RykerZX's picture
Posted by RykerZX on 31 December, 2008 - 08:50
HA!! Thanks for the info;

HA!! Thanks for the info; I'm gonna add that to the trivia above. Wikipedia mentions this:

"Commander Jinguji
Appears in the movie, the crossover of Justirisers and Gransazers. Jinguji is an inventor and builder of Hontengo, a submarine-like aircraft armed with a massive giant drill."

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 31 December, 2008 - 09:55
Video

I have a question about the video. What are you encoding the video in? It's REALLY clear! Do tell!

nate555's picture
Posted by nate555 on 31 December, 2008 - 13:48
Good question! For that, I

Good question!

For that, I shall defer to Josh, because he handled the techy stuff with the video. I just pointed the camera at the toy and babbled for half an hour! ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 31 December, 2008 - 14:01
Hi Nate, I shoot in HD and

Hi Nate,

I shoot in HD and render at 720p at 24 frames a second. Video dimensions are 1290 x 720 (16x9 HD) and I save to .wmv file with h.264 codec.

Hope that helps!

Josh

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 31 December, 2008 - 15:02
Indulgent!

Sanjeev,

Your glow kaiju and light up Atragon photo was completely indulgent! Ha ha

I have only learned of this vehicle about a month ago when I've been seeing the commemorative reissue model kit hitting the shelves and websites lately. It looked like my kind of ship with its 60's styling and crazy gimmicks. Thanks for sharing this piece, it's always great to shine a light on these more obscure vehicles, I think I'll pick up the model kit now.

Cheers!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 31 December, 2008 - 14:40
Ha! Well, I'm obviously a

Ha! Well, I'm obviously a huge old-school Toho kaiju fan, so getting this was a no-brainer. The light-up effects was just icing on the cake...especially when I have such a special glow Manda waiting to do battle!

Glad this review prompted you to pick up the model kit. Can't wait to see how it turns out, Leo!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 1 January, 2009 - 16:40
Wow! I'm sold. Will be

Wow! I'm sold. Will be buying one in a few weeks. You know, I loved the old Toho movies as a kid as well, but when I was in my late teens/early twenties I grew out of them. Now, ten years later, I have fallen in love again. There is a store here in Chicago called Monster Island Toys and they carry the Japanese versions of every single Kaiju film ever made. I love that place. We also have G-Fest here every 4th of July weekend. You guys should check it out sometime as it is quite awesome. I met Haruo Nakajima last year. He was such a cool guy.
Hey Sanjeev, have you ever seen the film War of the Dragons/The Magic Serpent? Very cool movie. The battle at the end is awesome!

Jeromy's picture
Posted by Jeromy on 5 January, 2009 - 11:53
Man, you're in Chicago??

Man, you're in Chicago?? Lucky! That city's, like, kaiju heaven...in the States, anyway!

I've never had the pleasure of making it out to a G-Fest. I'd love to...if not this year, maybe next, hopefully. If you get a chance, stop by my buddy, John Groff's booth at the next one. He provided the lovely Manda above!

Anyway, that store sounds cool! There are still a few holes in my kaiju video collection that I'd love to fill. Do they have more recent flicks, like Reigo or the new Guilala movie? HKFlix has a preorder for Reigo, but it's got Chinese subs only. And I can't find the new Guilala flick anywhere. :(

I haven't heard of War of the Dragons/The Magic Serpent until now...well, I know there was the recent "Dragon War" in the States, but The Magic Serpent is genuine showa-era tokusatsu... It's a Toei picture, not Toho...interesting. Sounds good to me!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 7 January, 2009 - 12:17
I checked the website,

I checked the website, monsterislandtoys.com, and did not see either of the films you mentioned. However, that does not mean he doesn't or will not have them. I will keep checking for you.
Hope you do make it to G-Fest soon, you will love it.

Jeromy's picture
Posted by Jeromy on 9 January, 2009 - 17:26
AWESOME! Fantastic review

AWESOME! Fantastic review also.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 14 October, 2009 - 02:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net