CollectionDX Network

GoShogun

Comments

11 comments posted
GoShogun with GoShogun

Oh man, seeing the vinyl together with CM's model is really hurting me. They look so good together, but now that fall semester has started I really don't have the cash to spare on this. $65 dollars is nearly a full tank of gas!

Still, I know what I'm writing to Santa for this year.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 8 September, 2008 - 15:56
I blame this review

I blame this review for making me look at the CM's GoShogun review again, which in turn made me look at eBay, which in turn made me see a CM's GoShogun for $86 shipped, which made me buy it. I hope you're happy.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 8 September, 2008 - 20:54
Hey Quinjester.....

Don't feel too bad about buying the CM's Go Shogun, its really killer! Also the review on here is what got me to buy it too. Your gonna dig it.

-Dan

CollectionDX Staff

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 8 September, 2008 - 23:04
This is definitely a

This is definitely a "tweener" toy. Doesn't really go with jumbo or junior machinders. I like the looks of it, but I wish they had just made this thing about 5" or so higher. Unfortunately, as is, I just can't see a place for it in my collection, as nice looking a piece as it is. Maybe if and when they add a few more friends to the series they would qualify for their own little corner.

turk
--
The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.--Bertrand Russell

turk96's picture
Posted by turk96 on 9 September, 2008 - 04:15
I dunno about it being a

I dunno about it being a "tweener". I have about five FLOSRs and I think this might fit right in. For the record, FLOSRs are just about 15", so with the cartoon-accurate look, I think the size is just right. Plus, at only $65, you're getting a deal. If I recall correctly, Marmit was charging around $75-80 retail for a new FLOSR...and their limited runs led to rapid inflation of those prices on the aftermarket.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 9 September, 2008 - 12:07
Well, I'll be. I was always

Well, I'll be. I was always under the impression that FLOSRs were about 18" in height, although I know that some such as Boss Borot and the Garland are smaller. Despite my predilection for large sized robots, that is a line I've always managed to avoid so I didn't have any here to compare side by side. We'll have to get together and do that. Even if it is a bit smaller, I do think this GoShogun is a better value than the FLOSRs.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 9 September, 2008 - 12:19
I guess what I mean by

I guess what I mean by "tweener" is between a jumbo machinder and junior machinder (as ambiguous as the term "junior machinder" can be, of course), which is what I tend to collect. I like the look of this, but it just wouldn't fit well in my collection. I've never gotten into the marmits, but given the dearth of jumbos around for less than a grand (and the dearth of juniors period), I might have to go that route. I'm still considering this, especially if one shows up on E-bay for less than $100 shipped, but I'd be more on board if there were a couple more in the series to put it with.

turk
--
The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.--Bertrand Russell

turk96's picture
Posted by turk96 on 9 September, 2008 - 15:51
I hear ya. To me, FLOSRs and

I hear ya. To me, FLOSRs and this toy really shouldn't be considered even in the same universe as JM's or Junior Machinders. They're a totally different animal marketed towards a totally different kind of fan. The only thing they have in common is large size...but if you were to put a FLOSR near a Jumbo, I think there'd be a matter-antimatter explosion!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 September, 2008 - 10:12
I'm not sure what character

I'm not sure what character will be next, but I've been informed that this line will continue to be more retro, both in terms of the static posing and box art. This is why it's been separated from Most Wanted and their more modern looking Project Super Robot line. Unfortunately, it turns out it'll also cost more than I heard initially, @ $85 each. I've just altered the review to reflect this.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 10 September, 2008 - 14:58
Now this is impressive.

Now this is impressive. Like I've said before, I'm not very much into vinyls and stuff, but this thing looks sweet. And I never would've known about it if it weren't for CDX!

My wallet may not be happy that I accidentally discovered this site, but in the end I think I'm much better off :)

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 11 September, 2008 - 22:10
Okay, folks! Comparison pic

Okay, folks! Comparison pic with a few FLOSRs has been added!






--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 15 September, 2008 - 09:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net