CollectionDX Network

Golgo 13

Comments

12 comments posted
cool

nice review...as always impressive photography skills...you should give us fellow reviewers some lessons and share the Knowledge:)

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 13 July, 2011 - 00:07
Thanks, I had fun shooting

Thanks, I had fun shooting this review. Fortunately, it does not require a huge budget, however it does require a lot of trial and error. 90% of my reviews have been with a small Sony Cybershot, and fooling around with camera settings and lamp placement/diffusion/etc. My recent reviews have been with a Canon DSLR but it is NOT required for shooting shots like the ones above. I've just been taking up photography as a hobby and have been readinf lots of stuff.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 13 July, 2011 - 10:05
Very nice polished review,

Very nice polished review, more like this please.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 13 July, 2011 - 01:27
Excellent shots!

Love that "through the scope" shot!

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 13 July, 2011 - 06:04
Nice images!!!

This is a great review. Your reviews are usually great but this one is top tier.

A lot of folks who don't live near a brick & mortar import shop won't ever get to even see this figure in person. I have seen this guy in person, and your photos give a great vibe to this piece. It's awesome. Most US folks will only recognize Golgo 13 from anime guide books, or the super-difficult NES game released in the 80s... What a shame they skip this old show in favor of the latest super dumbed-down nonsense. Sexism done right ;) ...I loved the anime, highly recommended.

Usually, I'm not a big fan of effects or Photoshop in reviews (you don't really get a sense of what's actually in the box or what it really looks like) but this is seriously sweet. You managed to use effects AND give an accurate, non-misleading representation of what you really get. The effects give the toy the vibe of the manga/show and really add to the review. No small feat!!

You get a real sense of what you get when you buy one. This is a perfect example of what i consider to be an ideal CDX review... great pictures, lots of information for those not familiar with the manga/show, no lame jokes or LOL laziness... Great job!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 13 July, 2011 - 11:19
Wow, thanks! I was going for

Wow, thanks! I was going for the short and sweet approach without knowing how it would be received. I didn't feel it necessary to go into complete detail since after a while reviews get repetitive seeing as its really just a basic 1:6 scale body underneath, so I tried to incorporate some background info to make it interesting. The darkness was used to really capture what Golgo 13 is all about.I figured make it dark while still revealing just enough of the figure to keep it's mystery and capture what you see on screen. Glad you enjoyed it.

By the way, that NES game was super-difficult!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 13 July, 2011 - 13:27
no problem

Hey man you do good work here and deserve the kudos!

I know it gets repetitive now to put in all that info, but not 2+ years from now when you're searching through reviews, and find it. It's a little frustrating sometimes to look up a specific valk or TF review and see "you know about this already, it's just like the last one." Yeah, maybe if I can remember exactly what was on the front page that week in 2008! I find there are a lot of lazy review sites out there and CDX is a place i've read for years and years, and I really like the thought, care, and tone put into the reviews. It ebbs and flows depending on who's writing it, but the good far outweighs the bad. So again thanks for adding those details in when you can!

Something like a Hot Toys figure, where the body is not changed, and 1,000 other sites review it in detail, is not that big of a deal. But TF or gokin reviews where no size is mentioned, lame smarmy jokes are forced in, no price, no show details, and the only text is "It's cool LOL" or "it's great" are just not even worth the time to click through. They just feel like a free toy cash grab. That's so not what this place is about, I hold this website to a much higher standard.

There's tons of sites like GUNJAP.NET to look at just the pretty pictures of the toys, or other places to watch YouTube video reviews. I come here for the intelligent, honest, unbiased text, and great photos. It's like a great magazine, except it's every day. Honestly, if CDX was to take its content and make a glossy coffee table book out of it, I would buy it in a second! I speak for myself (and others i'm sure will agree) that a little bit of extra effort put into one aspect (be it the article, the photos, or the video) is always noticed and appreciated. It just makes this place special.

The less said about NES Golgo 13, the better... that was the first time I ever threw a controller in frustration!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 14 July, 2011 - 14:03
You just made me shed a tear

You just made me shed a tear of happiness. No lie. We try our best and it's great to see it appreciated. Charles is a fantastic reviewer and a fantastic guy! He makes the rest of us look bad sometimes!

Thanks again for reading, and I am glad you hold us in such high regard. We'll try not to let you down!

Josh

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 14 July, 2011 - 14:54
We shed a tear

We shed a tear simultaneously, I really do love the fact that something I put love into can bring joy to whomever comes across it. It's near impossible to make something good without loving what you do. I love being a part of CDX and I hope that it shows through in the effort I put into it and the effort all other reviewers put into their own reviews.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 14 July, 2011 - 15:50
still

still think you need to do a professional development seminar at the CDX meeting...:)

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 15 July, 2011 - 00:22
Awesome!

I am not a Golgo 13 fan, I have only minimum knowledge of the series or the character...and yet I was compelled to read the review and imerse myself in lovely and moody photos. You really give yourself to these reviews and I can feel they are full of love and labor. I am impressed with your skills and style. My respect to you.

boz_manga's picture
Posted by boz_manga on 14 July, 2011 - 13:54
Great Pix!

I'm sold! I'm gonna have to add this one to my collection! Hot Toys should make a line of Ninja Scroll 1/6 figures... Jubei and the 8 demons!!! I wouldn't mind buying another Kaneda & Motoko from HOT TOYS if they made there own version with extra detail and accessories!!! "Hot Toys is the S***"

Kaneda-Kibagami's picture
Posted by Kaneda-Kibagami on 27 August, 2011 - 03:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net