CollectionDX Network

Gakeen

Comments

8 comments posted
meh

Magnet based gokins never turn out well without mods but I never really cared too much for gakeen anyway his proportions are strange to say the least but then again most 70's mecha have strange looks about them

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 23 March, 2010 - 01:50
yup yup..

couldn't agree more with your statement but since its a mecha from early 70's, i think cm did a great job on this one.. paint apps and accessories gave justice to the overall appeal of this mecha...

nice review chief \m/

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 23 March, 2010 - 03:46
Hit the nail on the head

I read this review while sitting here 7:16am drinking 64 ounces of laxative and I have to agree with everything you said about Gakeen. Waiting for price drop was definitely a good idea. I thought the proportions for this robot were horrid until I watched Magnos on Netflix and started digging him, so I found him cheap on ebay. Seems most of the budget went towards weapons cause there is tons. Overall I very much enjoyed the figure despite its flaws. It grew on me. The two smaller figures redeemed themselves by at least standing on their own in my display case.

Only actual defect I found was that the plastic surrounding the hinge pin on the smaller red robot on the handle on his back was cracked. Probably due to a knurled pin? Does yours have that same problem Dan? Anyways, laxative is taking effect. Gotta go

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 23 March, 2010 - 06:28
The two biggest issues--the

The two biggest issues--the light weight and the weak joints--are a problem with nearly all toys with magnetic joints. Compare this with the SoC Jeeg, for example.
http://www.collectiondx.com/review/2008/kotetsushin_jeeg

I actually had the impression that you were pleased with the toy up until I read, "as you can tell from some of the sarcasm."

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 23 March, 2010 - 13:08
I didn't really pick up on

I didn't really pick up on the sarcasm either. Stuff's hard to do on the internet. Nothing really struck me as off until the picture of the legs taped together.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 23 March, 2010 - 14:17
I can't speak to the quality

I can't speak to the quality of the toy, but I absolutely love this thing's funky look. It's got something really interesting and artistic going on. Too bad the joints aren't stronger.

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 24 March, 2010 - 17:32
A simple matter of opinion

I will never tell anyone what to like or what not to. I catch enough flack for loving japanese robots as it is that I wouldn't want to do it to anyone else.

With that in mind: That might just be the ugliest excuse for a giant robot I have encountered in my life-long love affair with the genre. I don't care WHAT it's on sale for, even if it had the first perfectly working set of magnetic joint in Gokin history, that thing is staying away from my humble little shelves.

Someone out there must love that thing, or at least think it's really interesting... the best news I can offer is that you can offically assume that I will not be racing you to snatch the last one up on Ebay.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 26 March, 2010 - 12:56
CM's - Brave Gokin 17: GAKEEN

Personally, I liked the robot as it is anime accurate and chock full of weapons and accessories.

The only defect I found in Gakeen was that the upper part of the left leg was a little scratched.

My other grumble is the lack of stability of Mighty and Puraiza.

I bought the Limited Edition (Anime Color) version from HobbyLink Japan and would like to have this metallic version, too.

One last comment, the sword seen in the reveiw is not Gakeen's. It belonged to General Brain, the enemy commander who fights to the last with Gakeen in episode 35.

Thanks for the review, shogundan.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 3 September, 2010 - 04:42
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net