CollectionDX Network

The Fourth Doctor

Comments

8 comments posted
Welcome to the fold,

Welcome to the fold, F-ZeroOne! Nice choice for your first review. I grew up in Boston, Massachusetts, and in the early/mid 80's, my dad and I used to watch Doctor Who religiously on PBS (Channel 2 here). The Tom Baker Doctor was far and away our favorite!

Hehe...and to prove just how big a Who-nerd ("Whovian"...sorta like "Trekkie") I am, I actually have the Doctor Who opening theme music from when he started and ended as the Doctor as ringtones on my phone! :P

Anyway, I've been wondering how these toys were. Money's a bit tight these days...space even tighter...so I've been holding off on getting this set. I really want the Robot, but eight figures kinda hurts, y'know? Plus, I'm not really into collecting this sort of toy (the only plastic action figures I have are a few random superheroes here and there).

Still, this is an action figure of TOM BAKER...I'd be kinda crazy not to get this! I know I'll eventually pick it up at some point (is it me, or are Doctor Who toys from Character Options/Underground Toys everywhere you look these days???).

Now, what I'd really like to see is a review of either the 12" or the 18" radio-controlled Dalek, or even the new 12" R/C Davros! I know the other resident Whovians (JoshB and Atom) have these. That 18" is soooo tempting...

Wanna get one just to freak out my girlfriend! :P

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 25 September, 2008 - 17:21
Yep, no better way than that

Yep, no better way than that to bond with your soulmate, Sanjeev :P

Welcome to the pack, F-ZeroOne, I'm glad to notice you obviously are not only Doctor Who fan (yep... me to, only I'm just getting started via 2005 series), but also an F-Zero fan (wow, what great perception you got there, Wallas), as I simply adore the GX version :D

Nice pictures, your photo corner is not ideal, but you'll upgrade it with ease to make it far better :)

And by the way, why is the Doctor hitting on Millia? Max will be home soon, and as far as I'm concerned, he won't be happy. And believe me, I don't suppose even Tardis could withstand Max in his VF-1J with Strike parts :P

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 25 September, 2008 - 18:41
Thanks!

Many thanks for the kind words,Sanjeev and Wallas! I don't know if I will be doing many reviews for CollectionDX in future; buying the odd toy is sort of a sideline from my anime viewing and they have to compete for space with my games and books too... :-)

Sanjeev, I'm a little too young to really remember the Tom Baker years (Peter Davison was *my* Doctor), but the Fourth Doctor is probably the one most people of my generation think of as "the" Doctor - although hes going to have some serious competition now that even my *mother* enjoys Doctor Who with that nice Mr. Tennant...! :-)

I don't know about in the U.S. but yes, the Doctor is pretty much everywhere in the U.K. these days; it really has been an amazing turnaround with the revamped series and it warms my heart to hear children who can't even have been born when the show went on hiatus excitedly proclaiming "Look! The Doctor!" in shops and the like. I do see from various websites that the show does appear to have quite a fanbase your side of the pond though!

Wallas - yes, my "photo studio" is really just a window ledge with some A4 paper propped up in the window...! :-)As I share the house with a couple of other relatives finding a permanent solution might be tricky...

I might be unintentionally misleading you with my chosen moniker, I'm afraid - I've never actually played the F-Zero games and I sourced it from somewhere else. Sorry for the confusion, maybe you'll be able to work out where I'm coming from from my image... :-) At least we both like the Doctor!

TARDIS vs Valkyrie...? Hmm, thats sounds like an internet war in the making... :-) Hes only offering her a jelly baby in any case...!

(more practically, she was the only figure I had thats remotely humanoid in proportion and scale...!)

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 26 September, 2008 - 09:59
Hehe...yeah, Peter

Hehe...yeah, Peter Davidson's fifth Doctor would be the second "major" Doctor I grew up with...though I did also see a lot of John Pertwee's third Doctor (and a little of Colin Baker's sixth) as a kid.

I gotta say, though, while I never thought Tom Baker would ever be topped, I think David Tennant comes pretty damn close! Still, the new show benefits from brilliant writing in a modern style of sci-fi, small screen story-telling (with modern special effects and a decent budget to help!). The cheesiness of the classic series and the fact that I was a little kid when it was on will forever cement Tom Baker as my all-time favorite.

But seeing kids today go nuts over this stuff--yes, even on this side of the pond--is absolutely fantastic! Another generation to be terrified (or amused) by the Daleks!

Oh, and I just got your name! DUDE...Starfleet rocks!! We'll see if anyone else picks up on it! ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 26 September, 2008 - 16:46
"Now I'll never know if I was right... "

The first Doctor Who story I have more or less complete memories of is "Earthshock" which is probably why I recall the Fifth Doctor the best. Being scared... er... witless by melted puddles of Android victim certainly left its mark, not helped by the fact that our school visited the caves where some of the filming took place several times...!

The new Who I think has pretty much stunned everyone; its led to a mini-SF revival of sorts among UK TV production companies and made SF a bit more acceptable (along with, of course, excellent imports like Galactica and Heroes). Its hard to disagree with Russell T. Davies when he remarked that he wished "David could go on forever". One can only hope that David gets his wish to star in a Who movie...

Glad to see you figured out my alias...! The only thing I forgot when I originally started using it as an on-line "handle" is that it originally referred to a *female* character... oops!

Star Fleet is due a DVD release in the UK which has unfortunately been put back until early next year; I'm hoping that I might be able to do some related stuff nearer the time...

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 27 September, 2008 - 10:28
I remember Earthshock...good

I remember Earthshock...good episode. But then again, I like any episode with Daleks or Cybermen! Glad to hear that the new Who has been received so well over there. That means we're not going to see its end any time soon!

Regarding your handle, I was totally trying to find a tactful way of asking if you were a chick! Hahhaha! But, hey, it's cool--just having such an obscure reference is off the hook! But shouldn't your icon be of Lamia, not a Termoid ship? ;)

I can't wait for the commercial dvds of Star Fleet...but I already have old boots of the show. [I never watched it as a kid, but I always loved Takatoku's Big Dai X and X-Bomber toys. I only recently saw the show in the last couple years. Rocking opening and closing!]

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 29 September, 2008 - 15:22
No, I doubt its going

No, I doubt its going anywhere for a while - we do get a slight interruption this year with (I think) four specials instead of a regular series; apparently making the show is rather intensive on the crew so it gives them a bit of a break and also eases the transition for Steven Moffat to take over producing duties.

And regards my icon... I'm... er... flattered?! :-) I've loved the Termoid carrier design for years, which is why I use it. I'm lucky enough to have a copy of the Japanese DVD set, but I think the English version is one of the very rare cases where we got a better deal with the music...!

I was kind of the other way round - I got to see the show as a kid and it was years - literally decades - before I found out there was an associated toy line. My eight year old self would have gone nuts if he'd (I'd) known!

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 1 October, 2008 - 14:44
nice first post

Like Sanjeev said, welcome and nice first review. I think I am technically the "oldest" and longest Whovian around here and I seemed to have forgotten they where going to be doing classic figures. I may need a Tom Baker Doctor but I know I am going to have to have a Peter Davidson Doctor figure. :)

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 26 September, 2008 - 12:39
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net