CollectionDX Network

DX Soukou Sharin Go-Roader GT

Comments

9 comments posted
The GT part stands for Gran

The GT part stands for Gran Turismo. It's Italian for Grand Touring and it first became linked with the automobile industry when Italian manufacturers started producing GT models of their cars.

Also it's actually Tokon Soul rather than Token Soul. Not sure about the first part but the kon comes from a reading of the kanji 魂 meaning soul or spirit.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 24 December, 2008 - 15:34
Re: The GT part stands for Gran

I saw that right after I posted (Wikipedia helps me in many ways!); I'm kicking myself for not researching it further...

Yeah- I'd seen it spelled both ways- "Token" and "Tokon"- but pronounced the same, so it was 50/50 that I'd be right. However, the TV-Nihon subs say "Token", so I went with that.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 December, 2008 - 17:21
I only knew about the GT

I only knew about the GT thing because of the Gran Turismo games. I put two and two together and then consulted wikipedia for good measure.

I thought TV Nihon were correct too at first. Looking at the Hobby Link Japan listing though it's spelled トーコンソウル with "ko" コ rather than "ke" ケ. Then again katakana can be a tricky thing to work out so it was just as possible that it was meant to represent the Japanese pronounciation of token. In fact the Sentai producers seem to go in for double meanings so it may even be possible that they wanted both.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 24 December, 2008 - 18:49
I know nothing of the

I know nothing of the stories/shows that the
toy is based on and I've never seen the toy or
heard of the toy before, but the video review
was so good that I sat through all 13 minutes
totally glued. Excellent video review, EVA_Unit_4A.

The text additions were informative and humorous
and the live video never slowed down. It went at
a perfect pace that was easy to follow. And the
few times when only the voice was the output it
was really good information that it didn't matter
that nothing was going on with the visual aspect.
I'm referring to the part where EVA_Unit_4A
was sharing his praise for such a flexible
DX toy, but it still falling short at the
non-flexible waist. The other time was at
the very beginning when we were being told
the meaning behind the words for the toy's
name while we were getting to see the toy
for the first time. Good stuff!

By the way the intro music seemed to be made
for a horror movie scene instead of a great
toy review.

The section where the transformation takes
place was the best part. Not only do we
see a great design in its glory we get to
see a true toy fan explain the one thing
that would make the great design into a
stellar design. I hope Bandai is watching.

That's all I have to say, except
" ! ! ! MERRY CHRISTMAS COLLECTIONDX ! ! ! "

krakit's picture
Posted by krakit on 24 December, 2008 - 21:25
Wow- now that is the kind of

Wow- now that is the kind of feedback I've been looking for for the last 4-and-half years...! 8D

And thank you very much for the compliments!

I like to give a little context and history to what I am reviewing, which makes it more than a simple toy- it connects it to the original material(s).

. . .

The intro music is "Marking Time, Waiting for Death", originally composed by Shiro Sagisu for the anime series "Neon Genesis Evangelion" (which I draw my username from). The music is over two minutes long; it starts as a piano quietly hitting quarter notes and builds slightly with a harp, and then explodes into the relentless intense-action melodies you hear in my intro. (The full version can be heard here.)
When I was writing a very early fanfic based on the series (which I never completed, and is painfully hard to read nowadays), I chose this music for Unit-04's intro in my story, so it seemed equally appropriate to place it in my customized intro.

So you know, all of the videos which I am personally editing will include that intro, and several on YouTube/CDX already have it.

. . .

32 minutes to midnight... Merry Christmas!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 December, 2008 - 02:37
Thanks for explaining the

Thanks for explaining the music intro,
I see where you're coming from now.

krakit's picture
Posted by krakit on 31 December, 2008 - 00:14
I'm not usually a big fan of

I'm not usually a big fan of Super Sentai/Power Rangers toys. I'm liking this one though. I really like how poseable it seems to be. I'm not sure it is over $60 cool. I think I'm going to wait for the cheaper American release.

Slayer1583's picture
Posted by Slayer1583 on 25 December, 2008 - 04:14
I'd say that it's a good bet

I'd say that it's a good bet that you won't be seeing this specific toy in the US... With the heavy redesign for the Dlx. High Octane Megazord, the redesign may affect how this guy is produced- either a new remold, or not released at all.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 December, 2008 - 05:28
Oh man that is kind of a

Oh man that is kind of a bummer. Maybe I will get this after all. I think I might put any money I get for my birthday toward the Go-Roader GT instead of some of the DC Direct action figures I was looking at.

Slayer1583's picture
Posted by Slayer1583 on 26 December, 2008 - 00:52
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net