CollectionDX Network

Deluxe-class Autobot Jazz

Comments

19 comments posted
Jazz's arms

The only thing that bothers me in the least about this is the lower arms. Even a tiny bit more paint or molded detail would be nice. But that's a tiny gripe. Otherwise, it looks awesome, I'm definitely going after one.

The first review I saw of Jazz was Sean Long's video review ("transformersmatrix" on YouTube). But this is more comprehensive, and Sean can be annoying as hell, so I'm giving you the credit for selling me on this figure.

:D

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 2 September, 2008 - 21:20
Oh, God-

Oh, God- TransformersMatrix's reviews are soooooooooo boring! And yeah- his accent doesn't help any.
But, what surprises me is how many early-releases he gets his hands on- that's why everyone goes to his channel on YouTube.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 September, 2008 - 21:45
accent

He should do what I do; I have about 10+ different fake voices I switch around throughout the day. I don't even know why, I just do. Thankfully none of them have a Sean-esque sound.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 2 September, 2008 - 21:59
I know this is kinda neither

I know this is kinda neither here nor there, but my favorite YouTube TF reviews are from peaugh. They're short, sweet, and to the point. He doesn't go on about the cartoon or other fluff I don't care about. He just transforms the toy, illustrates the toy's features/gimmicks, warns you about stuff to look out for, and gives his opinion of it. Bam. Done.

And no accent. ;P

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 3 September, 2008 - 09:45
im not 100% sure but i could

im not 100% sure but i could have sworn that in the cartoon his nunchucks come out of his shins or just below his knees.. or maybe they didnt anyways, iv found that some of the most entertaining TF reviews come from- ilovemess, and- megaprime26 both have totally different styles and neither really reviews the latest and greatest TF's but they are highly recomended.

I've never seen anything this beautiful in the entire galaxy - okay, give me the bomb

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 3 September, 2008 - 14:00
That was my exact thought

That was my exact thought too when I saw the toy's placement of the nunchaku.

So, I went back and carefully watched Jazz's debut in "Elite Guard". And, to my surprise, they did indeed come from his elbows! Reason I say this is the ejection mechanism(s) in the series are squarish gray blocks- just like the ones on the toy- rather than being rounded white covers from his knees. Now it may seem confusing because it makes more sense to deploy them from his knees, but they truly do come from his elbows. The other thing you need to realize is that a little bit of TV magic was used to hide those weapons in there, so that's also why it was easy to miss, and why it looks so odd on the toy.

Thanks for bringing that up, because I'm sure others are/were confused about it, and I never thought to mention it since I thought that I was the only one who had made that mistake.

. . .

Oh, and BTW, godmagnus1, that signature line of yours is absolutely fantastic! What's that from?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 September, 2008 - 14:15
ahh your right they do

ahh your right they do indeed come from his elbows. no doubt i was far to caught up in the moment while watching that episode.
haha thanks my signature is a line that ultra magnus uses in a transformers episode called "fight or flee" i think....

I've never seen anything this beautiful in the entire galaxy - okay, give me the bomb

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 3 September, 2008 - 14:39
Ironically, I just got Jazz

Ironically, I just got Jazz as well. I like him, but the only thing i wish were done differently was maybe some kind of locking mechanism to keep the chest down in robot mode.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 2 September, 2008 - 21:32
I, too, noticed the lack

I, too, noticed the lack of a definable "click" when the chest was flipped over, but I thought it was just me or a minor & random manufacturing flaw.

But, as I say above, getting his heels past the front windshield is really trying, and my biggest gripe.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 September, 2008 - 21:48
Oh, that reminds me...

Oh, that reminds me...

I didn't want to mention it in the review-proper, but for some strange reason, Jazz's torso and how it transforms reminds me vaguely of how movie Deluxe-class Concept Camaro Bumblebee's torso moves around and looks in the end. I don't know why- maybe it's how the shoulder joints inside tilt diagonally rather than being just straight; but the long panel behind his head, and the windshield on his back are undeniable...!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 September, 2008 - 22:18
Have you tried giving him

Have you tried giving him "EXHAUST LASER NUNCHUCK WOLVERINE CLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWS(TM)"?

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 3 September, 2008 - 06:37
Cl-what??? Y- huh? Wha-?

Cl-what??? Y- huh? Wha-? N- Claws? He ain't got no c--

(thinks for a moment)

...ohhhhh. Those claws... Huh- never thought of it that way. Hey- cool idea!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 September, 2008 - 12:03
If you're even remotely a

If you're even remotely a Transformers fan,you have to see that "Fight or Flee" episode. Ultra Magnus' delivery of that line makes it one of the funniest things I've ever seen in a cartoon.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 4 September, 2008 - 23:34
I'm remotely a

I'm remotely a Transformers fan. I just haven't seen G1/G2 before.

Anyways, I looked up the Ep. on YouTube. You're right- that is a hilarious line!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 September, 2008 - 00:50
Jazz, Take 2!

Finally got one. I was just being paranoid about the arms, they look fine. But I agree the chest really should lock down.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 15 September, 2008 - 20:55
Ironically, I just got Jazz

Ironically, I just got Jazz as well. I like him, but the only thing i wish were done differently was maybe some kind of locking mechanism to keep the chest down in robot mode.

YahooMail's picture
Posted by YahooMail on 11 November, 2008 - 05:21
YahooMail, please contact me

YahooMail, please contact me; it's important that I speak with you privately.

Be sure to set your CDX profile to allow other members to e-mail you as well.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 11 November, 2008 - 05:50
Regarding those missing stripe accents...

One of my favorite Transformers sites online (reprolabels) is on top of Jazz's lack of cartoon accuracy.

In Animated Upgrade Pack #10, well... they fixed it.
http://reprolabels.com/Animated/upgradea10.asp

AS you can see, this pack also has stickers for neck details on Jazz, as well as a good few other stickers included for Ultra Magnus and Sentinel Prime.

http://reprolabels.com/Animated/Upgrades/Mapa10_1.jpg
http://reprolabels.com/Animated/Upgrades/Mapa10_2.jpg

The way Hasbro botches up and or omits paint apps, it's good knowing there's fans consistently picking up the slack.
I guess it doesn't need to be said the Animated line alone has many a show-only app that needs fixing.
http://reprolabels.com/Animated/

I used to be more of a purist... but these days, not so much. It blows you need to shell out AFTER buying the initial figure, but... well, how else are you going to get a faithful representation of a character without waiting 25 years for a "masterpiece" or "collector" version to be produced?
: /

(And even then...)

JINZONINGEN 73's picture
Posted by JINZONINGEN 73 on 28 March, 2009 - 02:37
Thanks for the info. I'll

Thanks for the info. I'll keep that in mind someday.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 March, 2009 - 03:16
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net