CollectionDX Network

Deluxe Jungle Master Megazord

Comments

10 comments posted
Jungle Master Megazord

I really like the look of this thing, and as I've told you I've come close to buying it a few times. But the limited poseability bothers me...

Say, is it just my browser screwing with me, or is the video not there? It's on YouTube, but I can't see it within the actual review.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 19 December, 2008 - 16:01
Re: Jungle Master Megazord

No, it's actually me screwing with you. ;D (I forgot to attach the vid.)

It looks cool, but yeah, the lack of posing kinda hurts it.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 December, 2008 - 19:48
A few more things about JMM

Finally got around to watching the video in full.

The transformation looks fun. The electronic feature makes the arms spin a bit slower than I'd expected, but is still neat, especially when used just with the gorilla. Oh, and the penguin-shooting gimmick is hilarious.

I think if I ever see it on sale, I'll go for it.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 19 December, 2008 - 20:42
If the poseability is

If the poseability is bothering you, you could try getting the Sentai candy toy model kits. They require a bit of painting to look good, but there super poseable.

Which I find funny, I mean if Bandai can throw articulation into these little guys, why can't they just do it with the DX versions of these guys?

Decade010's picture
Posted by Decade010 on 20 December, 2008 - 11:19
I do think that price is

I do think that price is the issue rather than having the capability to do so. Certainly adding neck and elbow joints would be very nice at the least (often the most neglected of them all), but perhaps it would bounce the price up $10+ just to do so.
Personally, I don't worry too much about price for Super Sentai DX mecha if it doesn't go above $60 MSRP unless I have a real issue with the look, functions, and interactiveness (such as the DX Kyuoretsu-Oh from "Go-Onger", which I will not be getting).

I have liked to get the Candy Toys several times, but I am more satisfied with DX versions since they are complete out-of-the-box. (I don't want models since I can't afford the cost of supplies and wouldn't build them that often; I'm still a noob in that regard.)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 December, 2008 - 15:17
You're not getting Kyuoretsu-Oh?!

Well, damn it...then I demand you find me someone who is, so I can read THEIR review of it!!

:P

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 21 December, 2008 - 15:24
Gareth. I have a

Gareth. I have a Kyouretsu-Oh, I couldn't possibly do a review that comes close to matching the quality and sheer ammount of detail Eva provides but I can provide you with a few observations.

1 - Kishamoth seriously dwarfs the two carriages, the train mode looks insane as a result (also the connections in train mode don't seem to do the job).
2 - They've mixed things up a little by having the Engine Soul buttons activated by moving parts (as well as just having them available to press). If you tilt the trunk forward like on the show it will press both buttons at the same time. There's no catchphrases this time, just Mammoth and train noises, as a result everything seems samey with Engine Soul 10.
3 - The transformation is easily the most detailed of all the Go-Onger three part gattai, you're required to take Kishamoth apart and then rebuild it in a different form. Kyouretsu-Oh is also strangely proportioned with lots of bulk both on the chest and the back.
4 - If you so wanted you could swap the arms for any of the limb swaping components from previous Sentai (but of course not Go-Onger because of the below the shoulder joint used for the last three gattai).
5 - The head design is VERY similar to Daizyujin's.
6 - Engine-Oh G12 is very imposing. Unfortunately all it adds over G9 is bulk with no component feeling like it really adds anything else. Moving Gunpherd and Birca makes the feet seem less silly and the new arms are sort of cool but most of the parts are just stuck on randomly just so they can be used somewhere. Also the moustache given to Bus-On serves no purpose as there's no logical reason for that part to even detatch.
7 - All poseability went out the window with Engine-Oh G9 so the G12 has nothing to lose there.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 21 December, 2008 - 16:54
Re: Gareth, I have a

1 - agreed. The same happened with the DX Siren Builder, which I regretted getting a bit later.
2 - I'm sure the K[era]-line and T[yranno]-line's Engine Souls would act the same as Kishamoth's with this set, but you have to get the separately-sold hand-held KankanBar weapon for those other two (which I'm also not getting).
3 - There's too much taking-apart in the transformation for my tastes. I also don't like how bulky that upper torso is- that is one of my big hang-ups with the set.
4 - Oh? The limb-swap joints are the same size as previous lines'?
5 - A lot of people have pointed that out; I agree mostly. (BTW, Daizyujin is the original Megazord from "MMRP"-1 in case you didn't know that yet.)
6 - The part on Buson's face uses the same clips used for Engine Shishi-no-Shin's face in the DX Engine DaiShougun (which I am covering, BTW); that's the only reason they're there.
7 - While having Gunpherd and Birca in the feet does look weird, I agree that the complete and utter lack of posing makes it a fail in my book.

So, James O here just laid out most of the reasons I don't like it. I'll not have a repeat of the Siren Builder...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 21 December, 2008 - 17:48
Yes. The joints are the same

Yes. The joints are the same size.
I imagine that's because it's cheaper to use the same old joints they've had since Gaoranger than design a new one just for this toy. Of course the arms themselves couldn't reach beyond the large belly.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 22 December, 2008 - 19:01
I will wait for this and the

I will wait for this and the Deluxe Jungle Pride Meggy to test my DX Auxiliary Mechas. Prays that they do fit so I can just pick the DX Rhino Steel together and make Sai Dai geki Rin Tohja from a mixture of US and Jap toys. :)

redracer2004's picture
Posted by redracer2004 on 27 June, 2009 - 07:25
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net