CollectionDX Network

Daimos

Comments

14 comments posted
Daimos

GX-43 turned out to be exactly what I expected. I really like it, lots of die-cast. Just awesome.


Incidentally, Daimos did indeed get aired in the states, albeit in condensed form. In 1982 there was a "movie" version with the meat of the series all crunched together in one flick(about 90 minutes or so if memory serves), much like the Force Five "movies/compilations". The Daimos "movie" was shown in 1982 on Showtime along with all of the Force Five "movies". Showtime was great for showing that cool stuff when they first started out.


Now I am eagerly waiting for Yamato's Danguard Ace to hit the states, he was always my favorite as a kid.

iron maniac's picture
Posted by iron maniac on 29 October, 2008 - 14:18
How in the world did you

How in the world did you manage to open the Tryper?! With a microscope and tweezers? In any case, that's a very cool toy, always love seeing diecast.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 29 October, 2008 - 14:54
DX Chogokin Daimos

Did the DX Chogokin Daimos ever got sold in the USA as part of the Shogun Warriors toyline? If not, did Mattel ever had plans to do so I wonder?

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 29 October, 2008 - 15:02
The DX Daimos was sold as

The DX Daimos was sold as part of Bandai America's Godaikin line in the US.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 29 October, 2008 - 15:07
Great review, yet some

Great review, yet some pictures need a serious tune-up, especially those when you use the lower knee joint, which looks awful. But other than that, everything is nicely done.

... Why is Daimos so friggin small? He looks like he's just a bit taller than a TF Deluxe...

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 29 October, 2008 - 17:46
He's not that small. Just a

He's not that small. Just a tiny bit smaller than a movie leader class figure, if you want to compare to TF toys.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 29 October, 2008 - 22:51
He can stand......

He can stand on one foot!?

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 30 October, 2008 - 06:57
Size issues?

I didn't watch the video, but how does he size up to Combattler and Voltes? I would hope hee's at least close to the same height...?
-----
"Hey, uh...let's volt in."

Gigamach's picture
Posted by Gigamach on 30 October, 2008 - 15:44
I never cared for the Karate

I never cared for the Karate fighting robot Daimos, and this toy does nothing to change that. The joints on the legs look bad, it offers very little gimmicks, and it's just too expensive for what it offers compared to other SoCs in the same price range.

That new Volts is causing a big stir in the collector community. I'm not buying any SoC proper now for fear of a better "Respect" version coming later, and I think quite a few are doing the same.

Bandai (or somebody working for them) should drop a hint to how far they are going to take the Respect idea. Is it a whole new line to sell old molds with new gimmicks, or is it going to be for new releases as well as an alternate version?

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 30 October, 2008 - 17:48
Value

Great review. I have to agree, the leg joints are poor looking and take away from a nice looking robot. I have noticed that a lot of SOC toys have very poor leg articulation compared to Transformers, Gundam etc. As much as I like this and hope they release a Big Dai-X in the line in the near future (if they do I will buy a few), I wonder is the SOC toys really worth their price as even their larger toys are small compared to Transformers and are fragile. I owned GE-10 and GX-01R and in my opinion they were a waste of money. Large robots like Daimos shoud be at least 12" high or bigger and be durable.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 31 October, 2008 - 06:40
Jet in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great review as usual. If you guys are interested on how it fares with the SOC Voltes and Combattler in size see this thread.

I have a little dilemma. I was wondering if I should get the Daimos for the regular price or Zambot 3 for $50 less. Hmmmm...........

http://robotjapan.proboards12.com/index.cgi?board=SOC&action=display&thread=12793&page=12

Germanicus's picture
Posted by Germanicus on 6 November, 2008 - 20:51
advice

Do not go for cheapness. Don't even think of the price, just decide which you prefer and buy it...I found that sometimes when you go for the cheaper option, when presented with 2 options, you resent it as you keep thinking of the other and not appreciating what you have. Both robots are very cool which ever you choose will be good but after reading this review...as much as I like Daimos and have never seen the cartoon of Zambot 3 just the S.O.C....I would go for Zambot 3.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 16 November, 2008 - 07:37
Well, I think the size of

Well, I think the size of GX-43 is just right compared to all other SOCs
I think Bandai did a good job of maintaining the super robot sizes that they have created
in reference to the anime
(Mazinger is smaller than Daimos, Daimos is smaller than Voltes V, etc...)
Well you know what I mean Ü

I have to admit I like GX-43 as it is right but I am trying hard to stop my self
from purchasing now in fear or in the hopes that a GX-43R might suddenly
pop-up in the future... it's such a pain in my heart and pocket to see better versions
showing up after I've purchased something....sigh

birdlog's picture
Posted by birdlog on 28 November, 2008 - 13:02
Blew Me Away

I put this one off for so long and man that was a big mistake. Although I have been relatively happy with each new figure I pick up (some more than others), I have only been this overjoyed a couple of times. Once when I held my 1st SoC Great Mazinger (blew me away) and again when I picked up Ideon (could not believe how big it was.) A modest collection later and starting to have trouble finding figures I like (and can afford)...my focus turned to Daimos.

Daimos is a joy to pose with the ability to pull off tons of unbelievable dynamic stances for such a large heavy diecast robot. He also has a beautiful assortment of very cool weapons to go along with him. You love Kung Fu stuff? Daimos is THE kung fu robot. Sounds silly, but he looks like he can easily totally trash every single robot on my display shelf and be smiling the whole time he did it.

The colors didn't bother me one bit. I had the jumbo when I was a kid and I am fine with the blue face gone (always looked like a paint error to me) and the nice touch of white and green (which you can see in some of the above pics, green has a bit of a different texture to it than the other colors.)

I had a general idea of how big he was going to be, but it is always different when you get that toy in your hand and pop him on the shelf. A really nice size, well worth what I paid for it.

I guess it is all what you like to do with these toys. To me, Iron Gear is a big hunk of metal that doesn't do much of anything besides turn into a ship.
With Daimos, I can spend an endless amount of time playing around with him and all the weapons.
Thank you Daimos for being soooooo cool!

mutilatedlips's picture
Posted by mutilatedlips on 27 August, 2012 - 10:55
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net