CollectionDX Network

Grumman F4F-3 Wildcat ENS Gayle Hermann "Pearl Harbor Dec 7th 1941"

Comments

9 comments posted
If anyone cares for my

If anyone cares for my opinion, I'm OK with such a review once in a while. It shows a fine, really nice looking model. And as Josh mentioned, it's a japanese model kit. CDX accepts model kits, as Gundams and SRW show. Hell, we even accept Lego and Mega Bloks, which also produce a variety of "real-themed" items. Just because you don't see them that much around doesn't mean they would be banned, because, let's face it, they are still toys, and as far as I can tell, CDX IS about toys :)

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 20 December, 2009 - 09:51
While model classic planes

While model classic planes aren't my cup of tea, I think they're very much in the "spirit" of Collection DX. I however admit that the review should probably just focus on the model itself and a little less on the history of the aircraft and those who flew it.

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 20 December, 2009 - 11:50
[enthusiast pantomimes

[enthusiast pantomimes shooting himself in the head] Good review, Leo. I like learning new things, and the model's a beaut.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 20 December, 2009 - 12:10
You should see my uncle,

You should see my uncle, he's making such things (and cars, tanks, etc) from PAPER. And you can't even tell without touching it :D I need to convince him to give me some for gallery purpose :)

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 20 December, 2009 - 12:26
paper Models

My friend at work loves paper models, and every week he's always showing me some great Gundam, Miyazaki or Sci-Fi paper models. I agree... amazing stuff!!!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 December, 2009 - 17:03
Guns, guns, guns...

Just a touch of pedantry, the guns aren't "50mm" or "30mm" but ".30 calibre" or ".50 calibre". .30 calibre is a World war II rifle bullet, 50mm would be about an early war tank gun! (later in the war, some aircraft did use guns of that size, mostly in the anti-tank or anti-bomber role).

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 20 December, 2009 - 12:59
Yikes! Wrong Round

Yikes! I know better than that! Thanks for pointing that out, metric must be on my mind! LOL

LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 December, 2009 - 15:53
Definitely an interesting

Definitely an interesting review Mod! I can really tell you have a passion for this stuff and it's fascinating to read. I've always wanted to get into military model kits but I just don't have the patience or the still to pretty them up very well. I'll just have to stick with model kits it seems...

And I for one am all for reviews that are out of the flow of what's reviewed on this site. It's still a toy, and it's clear that there's the same amount of passion in the subject that let's say I have for anything that's from Super Robot Wars.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 20 December, 2009 - 14:51
wow

is this a comment record,
I got like 2 last thing i did...even bad comments are better than nothing...guess I have to do a model...maybe the Japanese Yamato model by aoshima...also Like Nekro dave's idea. when we write something, we tell Josh it is ready and he posts at set intervals. Would not bother me to have an article wait to be posted and would be cool to not see it on page 2 a day later...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 20 December, 2009 - 20:52
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net