CollectionDX Network

Gaiking: The Legend of Daikumaryu

Comments

20 comments posted
I LOVE that pic of Raiking!

I LOVE that pic of Raiking! He's fallen and he can't get up! (Sorry, I couldn't resist...)


I don't think I realized that each toy in this set was so big though. I'm worried about what I'll think when I see them in person. Might make me want to buy them, especially since you know I couldn't care less about all the combining gimmicks and what-not...


"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 28 February, 2008 - 13:58
Cm Corp

So I have to ask, how do these figure compare to the CM Corp figures (other than size)?

baltmatrix's picture
Posted by baltmatrix on 28 February, 2008 - 14:10
Lol...

How exactly much did you spend on this thing? Less than 300 dollars?

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 28 February, 2008 - 14:41
Comments...

Nekrodave, it's actually a pretty rad set. If you're not entirely sold on the whole recombining thing, then you can pick up just the GDX-01 Gaiking separately. It's the most robust of the three and the fit/finish issues are minimal (though you won't be able to form Sky Gaiking). The only thing I would've liked to have seen would be a slight increase in height. Making them perfectly in-scale with FLOSRs would look insanely cool on a shelf!

Baltmatrix, I unfortunately don't have the CM's set, but one of the guys on TBDX does; in fact, he has both this GDX set and the CM's set. Sounds like he prefers the GDX. Check out the thread here...and be sure to scroll ALL the way down on that second page just to get a glimpse at the instructions for the CM's set. The extensive disassembly is a big turn-off for me...let alone that weird, rocky texture they inexplicably used.

Wallas, I spent a little over $250 for my GDX set. You can get it from ToyEast (also known as "toyzonehk" on eBay). They seem to be popping up more and more on other HK retailers' websites now, though...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 28 February, 2008 - 17:43
Damn You Sanjeev, I think i

Damn You Sanjeev, I think i need this, like now.

Bring it up next time I see you.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 1 March, 2008 - 09:51
Raiking

I willing to forgive the fact that Raiking cannot stand on it's own power because it looks so boss.

Besides, in the show it's always flying.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 1 March, 2008 - 03:00
Maybe if I liked Gaiking,

Maybe if I liked Gaiking, but given the DIY nature of fixing the toy after dropping $250 on it in the first place, my money's going to SoC God Mars.

Nice to see somebody not beholden to mint in box and taking matters (and epoxy) into his own hands though.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 7 March, 2008 - 13:02
http://www.hlj.com/product/CM

http://www.hlj.com/product/CMS65139
http://www.hlj.com/product/CMS65141
http://www.hlj.com/product/CMS65140

DO WANT!

Viokni's picture
Posted by Viokni on 7 March, 2008 - 20:33
great update you got the

great update
you got the position for raiking part 1 wrong, the arms are supposed to be at 45º with the body not in parallel with the it, that's why you can't get it wright
see here in GK the great gattai sequence
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPmRB7njTZE
sorry for my bad english

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 8 March, 2008 - 13:46
Good call!

You're right--now that I watch the animation again, the arms ARE at a 45-degree angle! And the best part is, it actually shows this in the toy's instructions (thought not the joints for the wings, of course)! So much for reading comprehension! ;)

Thanks...and nice catch! Oh, but a warning for others--I considered posting the Youtube video saga_gx linked above in the review, but I decided not to because it just spoils too much! So, again, if you've already seen the show or never plan on seeing the show, by all means, check out the link. IF, however, you're planning on watching this show at some point, I strongly recommend skipping it!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 8 March, 2008 - 15:07
i love indonesia!

while Sanjeev spent like over $250 for the toy. Thanks to Indonesian corrupt beraucracy, i got my hands on this piece with something around $200. Still quite heavy on the financial side, but it's definitely worth it.

Got my peers drooling all over Gaiking The Great that made me officially broke.

life needs to be bittersweet;
you work the sweet side, and i'll manage to embitter it.

lurino's picture
Posted by lurino on 9 April, 2008 - 14:18
In the US, we have a corrupt bureaucracy...

...but I still had to pay $250 for my set! :P

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 9 April, 2008 - 16:08
I regrettably second that

I regrettably second that corrupt bureaucracy quip in this here US of A.

-__-;
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 9 April, 2008 - 16:13
hm....

well... i got it through blackmarket connections.
perhaps every honest toy collectors should've done that.

life needs to be bittersweet;
you work the sweet side, and i'll manage to embitter it.

lurino's picture
Posted by lurino on 10 April, 2008 - 09:59
Check this product!!

$150 Bucks, hope it helps.
http://www.angolz.com/home/productDetails.aspx?PLU=0000105940&catId=457

prjmdl's picture
Posted by prjmdl on 16 December, 2008 - 19:16
I have just ordered mine

I have just ordered mine yesterday. Hope I will get it by end of this week. :D

paulcpl's picture
Posted by paulcpl on 5 October, 2009 - 20:02
Thanks to Vehicle Voltron I just ordered mine

With all the work Most Wanted put into Vehicle Voltron, I decided to check out what else they put out and thanks to Collection DX and this review I went ahead and bought this set of Gaiking and I can't wait for it to arrive!

In preparation for the toy I found the Gaiking anime on Hulu and I have been watching it and now I am hooked!

I don't know how I missed this before. Thanks again for the great review!

SDFcommander's picture
Posted by SDFcommander on 14 April, 2012 - 20:05
Did anyone notice rust?

I just got my GDX Gaiking Complete Box Set and it is AWSEOME!!!

The box it HUGE!

They only downside is that I have found rust on just about all my screws :(

Since this traveled all the way from Hong Kong to the U.S. I decided not to send it back but clean off the rust and paint the screws the same color as their respective body parts. So far the results are pretty good but I was wondering if anyone else had this problem?

SDFcommander's picture
Posted by SDFcommander on 28 April, 2012 - 11:34
I just talked to Hong Kong

I just heard from my seller from Hong Kong and he went through his other boxes and they also had rust. It was because of the moisture and the salt in the air.

Be prepared for this if you buy this toy now. The toy still works but the rust does look ugly. Definitely something to ask about from your seller before you buy and could lead into a discount.

If interested I can let you know how I solved the problem which in the end looks a lot better.

SDFcommander's picture
Posted by SDFcommander on 29 April, 2012 - 11:03
So...this or CM's?

one one hand, Near perfect transformation and GIANT.

on the other, the rough finish is a beauty and the size isn't too big for most.

blitzkriegomega's picture
Posted by blitzkriegomega on 25 November, 2013 - 23:04
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net