CollectionDX Network

Evangelion Unit-01

Comments

9 comments posted
EVA 01

Wow, nice Eva! Good review too, it's a pity about the neck though. I wonder if they're going to release the other ones in this style . . .

Qwuff's picture
Posted by Qwuff on 23 May, 2007 - 22:30
Re: EVA 01

Hey--! Someone responded to one of my reviews! That's rare...! Thus, sorry for the delayed reply.


Well, "Evangelion" holds a special place in my heart, so this is a topic I can really sink my teeth into since I know it well... despite the fact that I never actually finished it! (Alas, I am four dubbed episodes shy of the end; though I know a few general spoilers here and there.) ^_^;
.
As for the extended neck, that problem is solved in the battle-damage upgrade version of the XS-01 set, which provides one specifically for when Unit-01 encounters the 14th Angel, and I specifically mention at the end there. Of course, I found out about the upgrade version after I got this version! Which pissed me off to absolutely no end because I'm not gonna spend another $70 for a near-identical figure! 'Repaints' like Units -00 (yellow only), -03 and -04 (no ****!) I will jump at. And if I like what I see with the four upcoming movies for "Rebuild of Evangelion", I may go for those as well. (Though I like the yellow -00 design, I don't much like this new repaint with white [SOCSpec #XS-04, BTW] they've come up with...)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 May, 2007 - 03:46
Eva Unit 1

I was lucky enough to win this as a raffle prize (courtesy of the good folks at hlj.com) at the Summit this weekend. I totally agree with your review. This pretty easily beats the regular SOC version, imo, even with the problem with the head. In fact, on mine I noticed that if you turn the armored head too far, it would actually pop off the jaw. No worries though. I think I'm gonna display mine with most of the armor on, but the head and hands exposed. :)

A base for the many parts WOULD have been nice. Perhaps they should have released a display base that included the damaged parts instead of just another version of the toy. I'd be more inclined to buy that than a whole extra figure. Boy, I really hope this doesn't start me buying SOC Spec toys now!

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 3 July, 2007 - 17:44
Re: Eva Unit 1

(Heh- almost put my username in the header of this message...! ;) )
.
O.o? HLJ had/has a raffle...!?
.
A display base didn't even occur to me. Though, now that I think about it, it would have been pretty awesome if it were a storage bay shaped like a Cage! (For those of you who don't know, the EVAs' massive underground hangar bay is called "[the] Cage" by characters in the show. Don't ask me why this is though. I suspect that since the EVAs are 'restrained' within by being clamped down on by the moving walls, that's where the reference may come from.)
.
I debated whether or not to mention the loose jaw fitting, but I figured that since it doesn't open that far anyways, it wasn't really worth mentioning. And to be honest, the jaw isn't really that loose! Just when you try to struggle to get the head into a good position.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 July, 2007 - 20:06
Re: Eva Unit 1

Well, HLJ (and several other companies) sent some stuff to the Summit to raffle off to those in attendance. I'm sure Josh will have a writeup of the whole event before too long.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 3 July, 2007 - 21:51
Re: Eva Unit 1

Ohh--! You mean this Summit...?
.
Right, now I get it.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 July, 2007 - 23:04
Bandai announces upgraded XS-01R release

HobbyLink Japan, in their most recent convention report, showed a picture of an updated version of the SOCSpec EVA-01 here, series #XS-01R. They say some refinements have been made to the head (I agree it needed to be altered), chest (agreed), abdomen, waist, upper arms (agreed), weapon bay on shoulders, thigh armor (why?), and ankle joints (agreed). I don't know what or how things have been changed or whether they are for the better; I only know about it through the link above, so your guess is as good as mine.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 June, 2008 - 19:34
Hip break issues

I've heard the XS01 has issues with hip breakage, have you had any problems EVA_Unit_4A? or anyone else for that matter.
I recently bought one and while it seems fine I'd like to know if theres any way to avoid it or possibly fix if any thing does break.

Thanks in advance for any help, it's appreciated.

I'd love to see a video review for this toy (or any other SPEC EVA's) by the way.

Tesla's picture
Posted by Tesla on 21 June, 2009 - 19:19
Re: Hip break issues

No, I have had no problem with the hips... mostly because it stands on the shelf a lot these days.

At the time I had video-capability, but it was limited to non-audio and 15-seconds only.
But now, if I were to review it, I would like to do it by showing the transition between armored and unarmored on-camera. However, because it still takes a really long time to do that, and the fragility of the joints & parts mentioned above, I wouldn't do that.

I may shoot a video some day (I used it very briefly in the credits here), but I have other things to do first.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 21 June, 2009 - 23:52
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net